“Your Utterances Mock The Status Of A General” – Military Reacts to Obasanjo

Date: 16-02-2015 4:55 pm (9 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 16-02-2015 04:55 PM (9 years ago)

The Nigerian Defence headquarters has reacted to a statement credited to former President, Olusegun Obasanjo on the postponement of the 2015 elections and the role of the military, assuring that it remains, and will continue on its path of professionalism in the discharge of its duties at all times.
In a statement posted on its blog today, the military authorities in a respectful tone, stated that it is not “inept in the discharge of its duties, nor is it being misused for political ends in the manner the retired General Obasanjo who was also a former President has possibly been made to believe.”
Below is the full statement
The Defence Headquarters has noted the remarks of a former President, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo as reported in the media stating his views on perceived state of the armed forces and the roles being allegedly played by the military in the nation’s political process in recent times.
“The leadership and cross section of the military believes that the former President and retired General has every right to be interested in the actions and fate of the military. Hence, his views like many others will continue to be accorded the well-deserved attention.
“It is however noteworthy that most of his utterances lately indicate an attitude of playing to the gallery or indulging in politicization of serious national security or military affairs.
“For instance, the comments credited to Chief Obasanjo alleging that the postponement of the General Elections was to enable President Jonathan to use the Service Chiefs to plot a tenure extension is to say the least, very surprising.
“It is surprising indeed, considering the fact that the retired General chose to ignore the clarification and emphatic assurances of non-partisanship of the military as declared in a DHQ statement on the position of the Armed Forces in the ongoing political activities.

“His motive as usual remains unknown but it is certainly less than noble or well intentioned. We dare say again that Chief Obasanjo’s assertions are false.
“Much as the military desires to respect the old General and his views, it has become necessary to point out that his conduct and unguarded utterances of late has fallen short of the standard of discipline expected of an individual who has had the privilege of service in the military and risen to the status of a General.
The behavior of retired General (Chief) Obasanjo has been so unbecoming and continues to constitute a serious embarrassment to the military before all who have reasonably and rightly adjudged the essence of military background in terms of the high value and standard it tends to contribute to statesmanship.
“We feel constrained to remind the old General that the world has moved beyond that parochial and self-adulating reasoning and mindset which he seems stuck to.
“Indeed, he needs to be told that by virtue of their better training, exposure, education, assessment and environment, the military personnel of today are already far beyond his level in their appreciation of democracy and it’s indispensability for the stable and prosperous society which Nigerians cherish.
“In this instance, the military wishes to inform the retired General, that the institution which he bequeathed to the nation has .certainly developed beyond how he left it. The Nigerian military is now better placed to strive for the maintenance of the legacies and ethos of service, valour, subordination to constituted authorities, and nonpartisan commitment to duty and fatherland.

“It has to be restated that the military as an institution, is neither as inept in the discharge of its duties, nor is it being misused for political ends in the manner the retired General Obasanjo who was also a former President has possibly been made to believe.
“Indeed, the system now strongly believes in Democracy as well as its structures and institutions to the extent that it will do nothing whatsoever to undermine or truncate the steady growth and development of the nation’s democracy. The military will remain professional as it keeps doing its best along with others to ensure adequate security and defence of the nation’s territorial integrity in this auspicious period in the country.
“The Defence Headquarters will like to encourage Chief Obasanjo to be genuinely interested in the growth and sustenance of Nigeria’s democratic credentials. He is also enjoined to endeavor to improve in his understanding of intricate issues and try to encourage the military rather than continue with this tendency to indulge in imputation of ulterior motives to every effort, all for the purpose of discrediting well thought out policies or decisions related to the military’s roles in the polity.

Posted: at 16-02-2015 04:55 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- prince225 at 16-02-2015 05:24 PM (9 years ago)
Na old age. Dey worry baba
Posted: at 16-02-2015 05:24 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- TABONTE at 16-02-2015 05:29 PM (9 years ago)
I don tire for this OBJ sef! God pls kill OBJ and Buhari so Nigeria will be free again.... Man wey phyuk his son wife
Posted: at 16-02-2015 05:29 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- jamepinto at 16-02-2015 06:08 PM (9 years ago)
Whether you like it or not, OBJ is the best president Nigeria ever had. Baba OBJ, we love you for always speaking the truth. Ride on
Posted: at 16-02-2015 06:08 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- maxzy277 at 16-02-2015 06:39 PM (9 years ago)
Nigerian Military has lost their IMAGES long ago na
Posted: at 16-02-2015 06:39 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- martinsohion at 16-02-2015 06:40 PM (9 years ago)
in as much as i dont like OBJ i dont think he has said anything that as not happened or about to happen with naija gov Cool
Posted: at 16-02-2015 06:40 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- uplogsa at 16-02-2015 06:42 PM (9 years ago)
Obj is an old confused fool seeking attention at old age
Posted: at 16-02-2015 06:42 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- shannon034 at 16-02-2015 07:05 PM (9 years ago)
Obasanjo is a dangerous Chameleon.....
Posted: at 16-02-2015 07:05 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- osarobo62 at 16-02-2015 07:22 PM (9 years ago)
OBJ...the true patriot speaking his mind and not keeping quiet in the face of national calamities.
Posted: at 16-02-2015 07:22 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 16-02-2015 08:12 PM (9 years ago)
Hmmmmm baba u make me laff most times o. U and Buhari are suppose to be like elders statemen who young politicians will cum and seek for advice not participating it politic and embarrassing urselves. Too bad
Posted: at 16-02-2015 08:12 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Abubu86 at 16-02-2015 08:14 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: TABONTE on 16-02-2015 05:29 PM
I don tire for this OBJ sef! God pls kill OBJ and Buhari so Nigeria will be free again.... Man wey phyuk his son wife
Is ur father alive? I pray ur father die uselessly first. Because he didn't train u dat cursing somebody that's enuf 2 be ur father isn't good. Wasted idiot
Posted: at 16-02-2015 08:14 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 16-02-2015 08:20 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: TABONTE on 16-02-2015 05:29 PM
Senseless comment….
How would you feel if someone is wishing god to kill your parents?
Please let there be some civility on the forum.
Posted: at 16-02-2015 08:20 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DRraze at 16-02-2015 08:30 PM (9 years ago)
obj is just trying to gain relevance.
Posted: at 16-02-2015 08:30 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 16-02-2015 08:39 PM (9 years ago)
OBJ IS AN OLD FOOL
A DISGRACE TO ENTIRE YORUBA RACE
TYPICAL YORUBA MAN, UNSTABLE IN EVERY THING
TYPICAL, TYPICAL, TYPICAL YORUBA OLD FOOL
Posted: at 16-02-2015 08:39 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SugarBB at 16-02-2015 08:47 PM (9 years ago)
It's quite funny listening to the crook that calls himself Obj criticise Gej. This Yoloba man sha  Lips Sealed

Posted: at 16-02-2015 08:47 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ayo4great at 16-02-2015 08:58 PM (9 years ago)
I admire the courage to shun political and military affiliation and tell the matter as it is..
until we call a spade a spade,we are going nowhere in this country
we all are blaming him,of all he has said which is untrue???

Ekiti Rigging is swept under the carpet and lot more as such..

We ignore the truth and still pray that God help us.
abeg...
Posted: at 16-02-2015 08:58 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- beneno at 16-02-2015 09:21 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 16-02-2015 09:21 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- malamy at 16-02-2015 09:44 PM (9 years ago)
AH AH!
Posted: at 16-02-2015 09:44 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DrSoba at 16-02-2015 10:00 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 16-02-2015 10:00 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Anthonimania at 16-02-2015 10:04 PM (9 years ago)
To all of you that are insulting an elder state man, someone old enough to be your father, i pray that your fathers will be insulted your present the way you did...Learn to respect an elder so that your days can be long...A word is enough for the wise one among you.
Posted: at 16-02-2015 10:04 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

3. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

4. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

7. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

8. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

9. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu