Girl, 13, Raped by Brother-in-Law

Date: 19-11-2009 1:16 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Teeco Designer
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6
- at 19-11-2009 01:16 PM (14 years ago)

Patience Dike (not real name) was 12 years old when she moved in with her sister and her husband in their one-room apartment at Ebutte-Metta, Lagos State in January 2008. For over one year she lived with them, her sister’s husband, Philip Ugbuaja, routinely abused her segxwally.

Recounting her experience, Miss Dike said her brother-in-law took away her dignity and self-worth. She said she lost count of the number of times she was abused by him. In June 2009, at the age of 13, she became pregnant for him.

“When he started he was always telling me that if I talk he will kill me. He did it so many times that I cannot remember how many times,” Miss Dike, a primary six pupil, said.

“But it was one day when I was vomiting that my sister found out I was pregnant. I then told her it is her husband who was responsible,”

The victim alleged that Jane Ugbuaja, in connivance with her husband, gave her sister, who was already two weeks pregnant, some pills in an attempt to abort the child. The pills led to her bleeding and Mrs Ugbuaja then called a neighbour, Toyin Ayodele, who was a nurse, to come to her aid.

“She (Mrs Ugbuaja) called me to come that her sister is bleeding. She was bleeding so much and had serious stomach pains. Her sister then told me she was pregnant and I discovered that part of the pregnancy had been removed. I had to do an evacuation of the retained product so as to save her life,” said Miss Ayodele, an auxiliary nurse.

After the abortion, Miss Dike’s life changed for the worse. Her sister started maltreating her while her husband continued to segxwally molest her. Unable to bear the violence, she ran away on the 23rd of October 2009, when a Good Samaritan, she named Augustina, saw her in a shed.

She narrated her ordeal to her and out of pity Augustina housed her and subsequently took her to a Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO), Project Alert, which deals with violence against females.

“When she was brought, she narrated all she had been through. One thing we discovered is that she was consistent with her story. We see it as a case against the state so we decided to take the case to the police for onward prosecution. We want justice for the girl because too many cases like hers go unprosecuted,” said Kate Ibeanusi, the Human Right Education project officer for the NGO.

When Mr and Mrs Ugbuaja were asked the reason for their actions, they became hostile. Mr Ugbuaja denied ever defiling his 13-year-old sister-in-law, instead claiming he was being framed by her.

Commenting, the Lagos State Police spokesman, Frank Mba, said evidence show the suspects committed the crime and tried to keep it to themselves. He said the police intend to prosecute to act as a deterrent to others.

“This is an extreme case of abuse. Even after the abortion, he (Mr Ugbuaja) continued to abuse the girl. It shows he is excessively and compulsively addicted to the habit. This is also an advice to wives to monitor that their husbands are not going beyond their briefs,” Mr Mba said.

Meanwhile, Mrs Ibeanusi said in view of creating awareness against the increasing number of violence against women and children, Project Alert will be organising a protest match in December 2009.

“This has become an issue that we need to bring to public awareness. There is an increase of rape cases of children between the ages of 5 and 14. This goes on because nobody is willing to take up the fight. We see this everyday and enough is enough,” Mrs Ibeanusi said.

Posted: at 19-11-2009 01:16 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- blings_is_back at 19-11-2009 01:49 PM (14 years ago)
u see dis thing wey dem call veins(akwara).... it is very stupid.....
Posted: at 19-11-2009 01:49 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Mr-World at 19-11-2009 02:30 PM (14 years ago)
@poster this isn`t rape.

Posted: at 19-11-2009 02:30 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blings_is_back at 19-11-2009 02:34 PM (14 years ago)
no be rape na wetin?....
Posted: at 19-11-2009 02:34 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Mr-World at 19-11-2009 02:39 PM (14 years ago)
nwanne ihe a bu enjoyment, because that girl didn`t raise alarm since she said he did it uncountable times, if it was rape she would have exposed it since.

Posted: at 19-11-2009 02:39 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blings_is_back at 19-11-2009 02:48 PM (14 years ago)
okwa eziokwu in a way..... but the girl enweghi choice dats why she dint talk all those while
Posted: at 19-11-2009 02:48 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Mr-World at 19-11-2009 02:52 PM (14 years ago)
okwa eziokwu mana she like the thing well well, because according to the story they did it more than 3 months

Posted: at 19-11-2009 02:52 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 19-11-2009 03:18 PM (14 years ago)
come on poster...what are u trying to say.....abeg make i hear world.........dat she didnt raise alarm doesnt mean it wasnt rape...........remember he threatened to kill her if she reported him and she is only but a tenager, so dont give me that excuse abeg..........

Posted: at 19-11-2009 03:18 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Mr-World at 19-11-2009 03:25 PM (14 years ago)
THERE`S NOTHING LIKE TEENAGER OR RAPE THERE, THE GIRL WAS ENJOYING HIS D**K AND THAT`S ALL.

Posted: at 19-11-2009 03:25 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 19-11-2009 03:32 PM (14 years ago)
I dont blame you....if dat happens to someone you know you will know how it feels....maybe you self dey do small pikin self........

Posted: at 19-11-2009 03:32 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Mr-World at 19-11-2009 03:33 PM (14 years ago)
NA U I DEY DO NA, ABI U WAN DENY ME?

Posted: at 19-11-2009 03:33 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- teeco at 19-11-2009 03:37 PM (14 years ago)
Recording>>

Posted: at 19-11-2009 03:37 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mr-World at 19-11-2009 03:42 PM (14 years ago)
ABI?

Posted: at 19-11-2009 03:42 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- teeco at 19-11-2009 03:44 PM (14 years ago)
yes keep talking

Posted: at 19-11-2009 03:44 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- divineproject at 19-11-2009 03:52 PM (14 years ago)
poster, you must be out of ur little mind............

Posted: at 19-11-2009 03:52 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- diplomatik at 19-11-2009 03:53 PM (14 years ago)
dp...who's disturbing u...Huh?

how r u dear? Cheesy

Posted: at 19-11-2009 03:53 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mr-World at 19-11-2009 03:58 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: diplomatik on 19-11-2009 03:53 PM
dp...who's disturbing u...Huh?

how r u dear? Cheesy

am cool and u?

Quote from: divineproject on 19-11-2009 03:52 PM
poster, you must be out of ur little mind............

don`t mind him.

Posted: at 19-11-2009 03:58 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diplomatik at 19-11-2009 04:00 PM (14 years ago)
onuorah....wetin i do u now?

Posted: at 19-11-2009 04:00 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- divineproject at 19-11-2009 04:03 PM (14 years ago)
Diplo dear am fine jare......na this woman-eater called poster...........abeg help me call ur husby to come deal with am........how you dey?

Posted: at 19-11-2009 04:03 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- diplomatik at 19-11-2009 04:12 PM (14 years ago)
i'm good dear.....i thought he was ur husband..u guys fighting?......i get new husband now ooo...i done sac the rest...especially this 1 wey dey post here...Tongue Grin

Posted: at 19-11-2009 04:12 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6