Why Fayose’s Death Advert Was Published On Buhari – Sun Newspaper

Date: 08-05-2015 8:58 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 8-05-2015 08:58 PM (8 years ago)

One of the leading Nigeria’s Newspaper, The Sun has explained why it published the death advert on the president-elect, Muhammadu Buhari during the electoral campaign.

According to the conceptual inception, the advert of Governor Ayo Fayose was released because of Orji Uzor Kalu, the newspaper’s owner, who is founding member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Premium times reports.

Femi Adesina, The Sun’s Editor-in-Chief, speaking during this year’s World Press Freedom Day in Lagos, said: ”I cannot speak for The Punch, but I know why The Sun ran it. Money was secondary consideration. It was a decision I took consciously as Managing Director and Editor in Chief”.

”That hate advert, two newspapers published it, The Sun and The Punch,” Mr. Adesina began, speaking on the topic ‘Influence of Media Owners on Fair and Balanced Reporting and Commentaries in 2015 Election.’

“Now you can ask me: why did we publish? That advert came on a Sunday, January 18th, and we published it on January 19th. The advert that was eventually published had been watered down considerably. I came back from church, I opened my system and when I saw it I screamed.

“It had been sent to me from the office to clear for publication. When I saw it I screamed. I then called Bolaji Tunji, our Executive Director, Special Services, ‘Can we publish this and Nigeria will not burn?’ Then we began to discuss and we began to tone it down. We removed so many things from that advert. And what eventually appeared on January 19th was the toned-down version.

“So if we had published the original…. So it was the toned-down version that I approved that they eventually sent to The Punch that appeared the next day.”

The editor said that he is broadly known as an “APC man” while he does not stay in the party, and that denying the advert would have expected trouble from Orji Uzor Kalu.

He said: “If I had rejected that advert, they would have told my publisher that this APC man has denied your paper revenue. He has rejected this advert because he doesn’t like Jonathan.

“So, after we watered it down, we decided to take it. Punch also took it. But we know the uproar that still came after it. But I tell you, if you see the original of that advert, you would still then have to commend the media.

“So ownership will always matter where press freedom is concerned. There is no freedom without boundaries and the owners will always constitute the boundary.”

The governor of Ekiti state published the advertisement Punch and Sun newspapers showing Nigeria’s past leaders comprising Late Gen. Sani Abacha, Murtala Muhammed, former President Musa Yar’Adua and the photograph of Gen. Muhammadu Buhari with a question mark on his image.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 8-05-2015 08:58 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- SOGaiya at 8-05-2015 09:24 PM (8 years ago)
Nigeria aftermath solution
Posted: at 8-05-2015 09:24 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 8-05-2015 10:52 PM (8 years ago)
oooooh
Posted: at 8-05-2015 10:52 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ohale at 8-05-2015 11:36 PM (8 years ago)
Una dey try save una neck ba? No worry, na jst 3 weeks remain. Selfish psycophants. NEXT
Posted: at 8-05-2015 11:36 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- deboalabi262 at 8-05-2015 11:50 PM (8 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 8-05-2015 11:50 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- XTnote at 9-05-2015 05:45 AM (8 years ago)
Typical yoruba man,You are saying this because oga Jona lost the election .for you mind u are talking to kindergarten pupils, start reserving your cell at kirikiri cos u don't mess with GMB mbok
Posted: at 9-05-2015 05:45 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Abubu86 at 9-05-2015 06:16 AM (8 years ago)
Many head must roll
Posted: at 9-05-2015 06:16 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 9-05-2015 08:17 AM (8 years ago)
nawoo oh
Posted: at 9-05-2015 08:17 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- PoliticxGuru at 9-05-2015 10:57 AM (8 years ago)
Na una wahala be that
Posted: at 9-05-2015 10:57 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 9-05-2015 12:46 PM (8 years ago)
Why bring dis now. Are u looking for political position?
Posted: at 9-05-2015 12:46 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- uplogsa at 9-05-2015 01:37 PM (8 years ago)
Don't mind the idiot publisher
Posted: at 9-05-2015 01:37 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- yuwana at 9-05-2015 10:10 PM (8 years ago)
@xtino, Buhari lacks the power to jail even domestic animals in Nigeria. Get that into your head please. Didn't you listen AIT challenging him, before he told us that it was his aides that said it without consulting him. Another trouble coming up was the issue of dress code for female journalist. Very soon no journalist should wear trousers before coming to Aso rock. Change!!!
Posted: at 9-05-2015 10:10 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- elchymo at 19-08-2015 07:50 AM (8 years ago)
See wahala oo
Posted: at 19-08-2015 07:50 AM (8 years ago) | Hero