Nigeria threatens to sever ties with America (Page 5)

Date: 06-01-2010 1:00 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 ... 22
- IFERE1 at 7-01-2010 09:22 AM (14 years ago)
Its so sad that a Nigerian allowed himself to be used as a terrorist. All be it, there is nothing wrong with the step taken by the Nigerian senate towards ensuring that Nigerian is not blacklisted in the commonwealth of nations. Adding a country to a terror list has indefinite consequences not just on the two countries mentioned above. Its time the senate and indeed the Nigerian government realized the negative implication such an inclusion will have on its international trade. Well, the US has the right to try and imprison the person who attempted the attack. But blacklisting the entire country is a step too far. Well, for the Americans, its been a long time the US has partially negated Nigeria. In fact, on the American immigration website, Nigeria is a country which the US has warned its citizens not to travel to for reasons of insecurity. The US has since been looking forward to payback Nigeria with the sacking of Harliburton company from Nigeria. To those who do not see any positivity of the senate efforts, its time we think twice of our inheritance. We do not depend on the US, rather its the US that depend on our oil. If they don't want to buy our oil, China will buy in cash without deferred payments like the US often do. For the Nigerians currently resident in the US, a severe ties with the US doesn't  mean you will be repatriated. Its also very important that we know that the US intelligence agency(CIA and FBI) has a dossier on the said Farouk. If the warning from the father of the boy didn't raise suspicion, the intel (security information) serviced to the CIA from Britain is enough to hold Farouk down before he boarded the plane. Just like Obama has said time and time again, there was a porous security lapse within the CIA and FBI to which Nigerians should not be held accountable.
Yes, Farouk committed an offense, try him in court, and jail him. It should be taken that Nigeria is not a hotspot for terrorists. Yes, we have the Bako-Haram extremist in the North of Nigeria but never have we had an international incident such as this. I'm talking as one who holds the Nigeria passport. I know what i pass through everyday for being a Nigerian abroad. Please the US should not add salt to injury. I shouldn't be treated as a terrorist on an already battered Nigeria's image. Please allow the senate do it job and do it quick.  
Posted: at 7-01-2010 09:22 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- JerrieTk at 7-01-2010 09:27 AM (14 years ago)
Things are just happening in dis country like play like joke....whn rebranding dey go on anoda thng cropped up.. anywy may God guide us right...but Farouq dented the country's bad image to worst Angry
Posted: at 7-01-2010 09:27 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- oyez at 7-01-2010 09:35 AM (14 years ago)
hahaha....

wait o. @Kssurina...Am I the hacker that got into ur business account? I feel ur empathy..but what has ur gmail account got to do with this post?

@25_vivi... I'm not only ignorant, I'm ignorant of what my ignorance is..so educate me.

Ppl worrying their heads over what is immaterial. The same question the book of Psalm asks, "Why do the heathen rage and the ppl imagine a vain thing"
Libya has had no ties with America since the 80's. They are still very much independent and self-sufficient. Even Nigerians go there to hustle.

Just stressing ur bandwidth over issues that have been settled long before y'all were born.

all I know is Nigeria must win this world cup..or else!

Posted: at 7-01-2010 09:35 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mikailyusuf at 7-01-2010 09:46 AM (14 years ago)
I am  a full blooded Nigeria and i know what am talking about , we should accept whatever happen to us, when prof. wole shoyinka won a nobel award the whole world accepted Nigeria and demanded for more great men from Nigeria and now that one of boy try to bomb an American plane we are cry wolf. My suggestion is for the Nigerian Govt to verify the matter thoroughly and punish those behind this show of shame they have brought on us.
Posted: at 7-01-2010 09:46 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Tolutab1 at 7-01-2010 10:26 AM (14 years ago)
They(senate) should do something very fast before it gets out of hands
Posted: at 7-01-2010 10:26 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- dolphinkate at 7-01-2010 10:40 AM (14 years ago)
@ omatu

When u said, that nigeria has the best sweet oil in the world, then it s giving me stomach pains. Did u ever visit the delta area where they drill the oil bfore? Maybe is the best quality oil in the world, but on the prize of other ppl s life and health. And now we r facing the other sad result of it: kidnapping and killing in that area became a normal business.

I noticed, that many nigerians r to proud. Every sinlge critics towards their country they like to take as personal attack against their ego. Most discussions r against the politics and mismanagements in nigeria, not against nigerians in general. While the average ppl "attacking" each other cause of misunderstandings over the politics, the corrupt leaders r filling their pockets with the ppl s money and enjoying themselves.

Posted: at 7-01-2010 10:40 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dommynik at 7-01-2010 11:09 AM (14 years ago)
I don't thing those PO-LOOTICIANS in the Senate have any moral justification to act in this regard afterall it not one of their own that tried to blow up an American airline. Tell me, which average Nigerian who manages to escape this high poverty & unemployment rate, no electricity no fuel scenerio and what have you, finds himself in a plane to US will want to blow up the plane killing himself in the process; impossible it is their children that will try such rubbish. They loot our treasury use it to send their children abroad & when they get frustrated in life they do something stupid. Those thieves are just trying to cover their own ass they don't have the interest of Nigerian at heart. They are acting alone without the support of majority of Nigerian. 
Posted: at 7-01-2010 11:09 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- tambeiort at 7-01-2010 11:22 AM (14 years ago)
if only america can include nigeria on the bad list, their is nothing to worry about.
just that we have wrong people as leaders, they succeeded in turning us away from Britain,
and turn around to call us terrorist. other countries of the world are longing to have diplomatic
 relations with us. to hail with america.

Posted: at 7-01-2010 11:22 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ebonyxxx at 7-01-2010 11:53 AM (14 years ago)
NIGERIANS BE COURAGEOUS AND LETS PRAY FOR OUR LEADERS TO BE BOLD AND STAND BY THEIR WORD.
THE PROBLEM HERE IS THE EGOCENTRIC SELFISH TYPICAL AMERICAN ATTITUDE .
NIGERIA OIL IS THE FOCAL POINT
BUT WE AINT GONNA BE ANOTHER IRAQ - BULLSHIT, LIKE THE AMERICANS WILL PUT IT.

US blacklisted Nigeria over oil - US action capable of undermining bilaterial ties - FG

From Seyi Gesinde, Okey Muogbo, Clement Idoko, with Agency Reports

THE frosty relationship between the United States and Nigeria as a result of Chinese interest in Nigeria’s oil business may be the reason for Tuesday’s blacklisting of Nigeria and placing it on the global terror watch list, Nigerian Tribune investigations have revealed.

China’s interest in Nigeria’s oil became more glaring mid last year when one of China’s three major energy companies, China’s state-owned National Offshore Oil Corporation (CNOOC), began talks with senior Nigerian officials to buy large stakes of oil blocks in Nigeria, most importantly knowing that Nigeria has some of the world’s richest oil blocks.

What the US saw as the vulnerability of Nigeria’s oil business, due to the country’s recent negotiations with China on oil business, may have, however, posed a threat to the United States (US), Nigeria being its fifth largest supplier of petroleum.

The placement of Nigeria on the terror watch list may now appear to be an effort to put pressure on Nigeria to renegotiate its stand with its Western oil partners at this time when relations with the industry are strained.

“For some time relations between the government and the international oil companies (IOCs) have been difficult, first, over funding of joint ventures, over arrears, reviewing the terms of production sharing contracts (PSCs),” said Antony Goldman, head of London-based PM Consulting and a Nigerian expert.

Part of the US problem with the Nigerian government is that the Nigerian government was not ready to renew the expired licenses of some of the Western agents who trade in Nigeria.

Giving credence to this was Goldman, who told Reuters that: “Some of these licences have come up for renewal and the government feels they are worth more than the IOCs are prepared to pay to renew them.”

Rather than cooperating with its Western business partners, Nigeria seems to be pitching its tent with China.

Goldman told Reuters that “So far, the largest investment CNOOC has made in Nigeria was a $2.69 billion stake purchased in 2006 in deepsea oil block OML-130, which operator, Total said in March (last year) had started pumping oil to reach 175,000 barrels per day output during the summer.

In another recent negotiation, it was gathered that in its bid to acquire Nigeria’s oil asset, a Chinese second largest oil firm, Sinopec Group, had also paid $7.24 billion for Swiss oil and gas firm Addax, which operates in Nigeria and other African countries.

Looking through the trend of events as they affect the long-standing oil business between Nigeria and the US, and Nigeria’s recent relationship with the Eastern powers, a US terrorism and political violence expert, J. Peter Pham, had written in his column “Strategic Interests” in the World Defense Review that the vulnerability of Nigeria’s oil infrastructure was a threat to the national interests of the United States.

Posted: at 7-01-2010 11:53 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Gd4real at 7-01-2010 12:21 PM (14 years ago)
Pple 'ld learn how to talk when it comes to vital isues like this,thou is the result of fredom of speech,4getin that Nigeria has been a great nation n ll continue to be,irrespective of our corrupt leaders,Nigeria has all it takes,both humanly n otherwise name it,Umaru Faluke is a disgrace we all know,what about  the British shoe bomber?Huh??? ...well it might be an america way of expression of annoyance over nigerias' corrupt leaders.  Sad
Posted: at 7-01-2010 12:21 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Emmanuel4christ at 7-01-2010 12:51 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: oyez on  6-01-2010 04:08 PM
When Nigeria win this World Cup...America eyes go clear

hehehehehe
Posted: at 7-01-2010 12:51 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Emmanuel4christ at 7-01-2010 12:53 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: oyez on  6-01-2010 04:19 PM
Quote from: DarkCoco on  6-01-2010 04:16 PM
we shall see what happens, buh dis senate or whatever they wanna call themselves better b careful with what they are sayin, it pure rubbish

Remeber that America is not relying on Nigeria, Nigeria is whats relyin on America, thats where money oil money comes from, now Nigeria wants to cut ties, we shall see what other nation will want to buy oil from Nigeria if America doesnt

PURE BULLSHIT
@negus- u took everythin outta ma mouth tho, the govt or whatever they wanna call themselves just wanna show face and say that they have somethin which they dont
WHERE IS NIGERIA'S PRESIDENT SEF....IMAGINE....cut ties with America....THEY ARE JOKIN

leave us...if worst come to worsts, we will drink our own oil by ourselves...we don't want America for nothing.
but come to think of it...there's even scarcity of fuel now...where's the oil we'r gonna drink? Huh?

OMG!!!LMFAOooooooooo
Posted: at 7-01-2010 12:53 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dally007 at 7-01-2010 01:12 PM (14 years ago)
I wish ngr. govt will perform than the way they talk. talk is cheap.
Posted: at 7-01-2010 01:12 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- swagga at 7-01-2010 01:42 PM (14 years ago)
loool bet wnt happen na wa oo naija don enter d blackbook
Posted: at 7-01-2010 01:42 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- uandibcom1 at 7-01-2010 01:51 PM (14 years ago)
you are a bloody coward darkcoco stupid talk. why them no put ENGLAND for terrorist list??
Posted: at 7-01-2010 01:51 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- jonathan2010 at 7-01-2010 02:11 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: DarkCoco on  6-01-2010 04:16 PM
we shall see what happens, buh dis senate or whatever they wanna call themselves better b careful with what they are sayin, it pure rubbish

Remeber that America is not relying on Nigeria, Nigeria is whats relyin on America, thats where money oil money comes from, now Nigeria wants to cut ties, we shall see what other nation will want to buy oil from Nigeria if America doesnt

PURE BULLSHIT
@negus- u took everythin outta ma mouth tho, the govt or whatever they wanna call themselves just wanna show face and say that they have somethin which they dont

WHERE IS NIGERIA'S PRESIDENT SEF....IMAGINE....cut ties with America....THEY ARE JOKIN

waittin you dey talk for mouth self, well if you dey lick  america shoe ,me as a full naija to the bone no go join u for that . cuz im a naija to proud and protect my country image .why u no ask your self why america no add them self to the list or british join the list
Posted: at 7-01-2010 02:11 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- omosa at 7-01-2010 02:18 PM (14 years ago)
we were all happy when we heard that obama won the presidency election cos is from Africa,we never knew is going to turn against us in future,This is not what to fight for,the error of one can not lead to what they are saying,beside there is no country that can not take part in terrorism,it is base on individual mentality,obama needs some advice
Posted: at 7-01-2010 02:18 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ksurrina at 7-01-2010 02:25 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: omatu on  7-01-2010 07:02 AM
Quote from: ksurrina on  7-01-2010 04:04 AM
Quote from: omatu on  7-01-2010 02:04 AM
Quote from: ksurrina on  6-01-2010 11:47 PM
Quote from: 25_vivi on  6-01-2010 08:38 PM
Quote from: ksurrina on  6-01-2010 07:47 PM
Quote from: 25_vivi on  6-01-2010 07:12 PM
Quote from: ksurrina on  6-01-2010 06:53 PM
Quote from: oyez on  6-01-2010 04:08 PM
When Nigeria win this World Cup...America eyes go clear

You see the ignorance that you guys displays here. What football as to do with Politics. I don't blame the President of America to have Nigerians on the Watch list. If Nigerians can compromised a standard business gmail account what wouldn't they do. Now I see why persons want to stay far from Nigerians even the good thinking bred Nigerians have nothing to do with their own Countrymen.

I have now feel the hands of Nigerians and with tears in my eyes I am writing this because it is hurtful. I wrote about it in confession
and it was deleted. When the wrong is highlighted there it is deleted. My heart is full with my experience. My business account was compromised because of unscrupulous persons here. My account was perfectly ok until I exposed it here simple because I was trying to be helpful. But the God I serve is not a sleep you know. His word says that what one sow is what one will reap.

Take care and goodbye.

its a real shame ... that ignotant ppl like this still exist

Who are you calling ignorant? My business account was being compromise after it was exposed here. You cannot even spell ignorant but you are using the word. It is better you did keep your mouth shut. If you did know the meaning of ignorance you wouldn't wrote that line after reading what was written. Some of you here just show the dunce you are with your responses. As I said before it would have been better if you keep your mouth shut.

Huh? Undecided Angry
WOW
First of all lady .. i could never in my right or wroung mind call a grown woman like you ignorant,
My mother thought me better then that . I was not refuring to you in the quote that i quoted ,
i was refuring to oyez with his comment about football and i was sayin to you how ignorant people like him still exist.
i am sorry for your hurt ... so if you would like to talk in private just add me or write me a letter.
I was not in anyway refering to you negativly in the quote
so if thats how it came out as ... am sorry

Viv sorry for blowing like this I was so upset at the time. Even looking back I can see the errors that I made which is unusual of me. All now I am unable to get inside my account. I came to this site with good intentions but now I realized that it is best to give it a break. I cannot believe that just advising a person to send me an email to the business account would prevent me from gaining access to it. Nigerian brand as been battered and it will take more than the government members to rebrand it. As for Visa application there will be a reduction of this. A sad state Nigeria is in now. Those who are too proud to see it now will be able to soon enough. Anyway take care.
If you are responsible for American visas, please keep it.
You cannot slam an entire 150 million people because one may have compromised your business account.  I feel sad for what happened to you, but your insults are a bit too much.

Where are the insults? Did I say that I was responsible for American visas? Sometimes most of you answer on this board with your stupidity showing all over your face. Do you think that Nigerians will be getting Visa like before? If the country consulate was told to issued 10 now it going to be five and the process more harder. Apparently you don't understand that the Brand was broken down with the 419 and now this it as gotten worse. Take your head out of the sand and stop attacking me. If you were well read internationally then you wouldn't be attacking me but contributing in a more positive way. It going to take the diaspora members to work together to clear the tarnished of Nigerian brand. This will not be done overnight. My God lady go and read about other countries that their brand was battered as well but the good citizens in the diaspora make sure to work hard to bring it back up. A perfect example is Jamaica. It took sports, education and good relationship to rebrand Jamaica after it was tarnished by the gun hopping guys in the various countries that never wanted no Jamaicans. Now Jamaicans are sitting in the White House etc. So stop attacking me because I know what I am talking about.

Your position is weak and some of your response is stupid as well.

I am a very proud Nigerian.  Nigerians are not the only people that do 419.  Nigerians are not the only people that do kidnapping.  Nigerians are not the only people that do terrorism.  Nigerians are not the only people that are refused visa to America.  What Nigeria needs are good leaders to make our country better.  We have more natural resources than the Americans.  We do not need to beg them for anything or to try to rebrand our image for anybody except for Nigerians.  

Nigeria has the best sweet crude oil in the world.  We do not have to sell it to Americans.  Americans need us and not the other way around.

You are talking about being well read and in the know how internationally?  Think again.  You have the audacity to insult Nigerians because one person hijacked your email?  I was feeling bad for you before but I do not because you have zero intellect and I will not be wasting my time with your crap.

Whether the visa to America is reduced to Nigerians does not matter.  What the Nigerians in the diaspora need is to help Nigeria to get back on their feet so that we can become self-sufficient.  The world needs Nigeria and not the other way around.

Jamaicans can rebrand themselves how they wish.  I have no desire to work or be in the white house.  I will rather be the first female President of Nigeria and reside in Aso Rock!  Get the picture?

I am a very proud Nigerian.  I do not feel inferior to anybody because a few criminals come out of my country.  Criminals come out  of every country worldwide.  Nigerians are still the best people in the whole wide world.

I LOVE NIGERIA AND I LOVE NIGERIANS!

lol You see how ignorant and arrogant you are. No one is an island no one stands alone. Nigeria need the world just as how the world need Nigeria. My God how can you want to be a President and talk like this. As for feeling pity for me I don't need it. I have nothing bad to say about Nigerians even though I have been hurt while building friendship. I don't see the flesh my dear but the spirit the bible says we wrestle not against flesh and blood but principalities in high places. If you had follow my advices in confession then you will know that I have been preaching to those in the Diaspora to start contributing back to Nigeria which should start at the community level. You will also know that I want to do an HIV/AIDS Children Foundation with the connection between Nigeria and Jamaica. You need to know more about me before you start judging. Being a proud Nigerian doesn't mean that you should be arrogant and this is what you are displaying. I wish you all the best with your political career.

Posted: at 7-01-2010 02:25 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chikaima at 7-01-2010 02:26 PM (14 years ago)
make them try.
Posted: at 7-01-2010 02:26 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ksurrina at 7-01-2010 02:32 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: oyez on  7-01-2010 09:35 AM
hahaha....

wait o. @Kssurina...Am I the hacker that got into ur business account? I feel ur empathy..but what has ur gmail account got to do with this post?

@25_vivi... I'm not only ignorant, I'm ignorant of what my ignorance is..so educate me.

Ppl worrying their heads over what is immaterial. The same question the book of Psalm asks, "Why do the heathen rage and the ppl imagine a vain thing"
Libya has had no ties with America since the 80's. They are still very much independent and self-sufficient. Even Nigerians go there to hustle.

Just stressing ur bandwidth over issues that have been settled long before y'all were born.

all I know is Nigeria must win this world cup..or else!

@Oyez it has something to do with the post because it also show why most persons are distrustful of Nigerians. Anyway why should I even bother to explain to you Oyez when apparently you don't even see that it is Distrust of Nigerians why a lot of persons are afraid of being associate with you guys. For the past year I have been building friendship here I was warned online and offline but I still see Nigerians as people with a caring heart. I was just pointing out what happen to my account after telling the person to send me an email. What was wrong in doing this? Shallow mind that is what you are Oyez.

Posted: at 7-01-2010 02:32 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 ... 22

1. Comedian, Macaroni Berates Wizkid For Shading Veteran Producer, Don Jazzy

2. Secondary School Student Allegedly Commits Suicide Over Unwanted Pregnancy

3. Court Slams N30 Million Damages Against Linda Ikeji Over Libel

4. "No Woman Will Cheat On You If You...." -Gabonese Lady Says

5. Kizz Daniel Slams Troll Who Advised Him To Tread Carefully Around Wizkid

6. 2024 Will Be Tough Year For Afrobeat Apart From BurnaBoy, Davido, Others Are in Trouble -Paul O

7. Meet Ndubuisi Egbo The First-Ever Nigerian Coach To Lead an European Team To A League Title

8. Nollywood Has Produced 274 Films in First Quarter of 2024 — Censors Board

9. 2024 Will Be a Tough Year For Afrobeat - Nigerian Music Executive, Paul Okoye

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

5. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

6. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

7. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)

10. "Polygamy Is Allowed In Celestial Church, Our Prophets Can Marry Many Wives" — Oshoffa's Son