Authorities at the 2015 U-23 African Cup of Nations holding in Senegal were forced to evict some Nigerian fans for displaying the Biafra flag.
The fans had displayed the flag at the Leopold Sedar Senghor stadium in Dakar, the country’s capital, during Nigeria’s match with Algeria.
The movement for the declaration of the Eastern part of Nigeria as a sovereign state called the Republic of Biafra was what led to the Nigerian Civil War between 1967 and 1970.
Pro-Biafra protests have intensified in the Eastern part of Nigeria in the past two months, and the Senegalese authorities took the display of the flags as a “militant act.”
Amadou Kane, the Vice President of the Senegalese Football Federation, FSF, ordered the flags and all their banners to be torn down, and the supporters involved be expelled from the stadium. For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals
I have been reporting on latest news from Nigeria for almost 10 years now. I report on every possible news area I come across, but always ensure my reports are compiled with dignity and fact to uphold my personal values and duty as a journalist
Posted: at 7-12-2015 06:49 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
Why you people carry una stupidity go senegal. did you people think na 9ja una they, una don see shameless of una life. it shows that most of the african country are seeing una activities in nigeria. You people are just wasted generation.
Posted: at 7-12-2015 09:12 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
Well done Senegal. Nigeria is one so we shall embrace ourselves no matter d problems.
WISE TALK THERE BRODA AND BRILLIANT DISPLAY BY SENEGAL AUTHORITY, BIAFRA DIDN'T THINK OF GOING WHEN THEY ARE TOP POSITION IN GEJ GOVT ADIM. LOOTING NIGERIA MONEY SELFISH PEOPLE.
Posted: at 8-12-2015 03:01 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
WISE TALK THERE BRODA AND BRILLIANT DISPLAY BY SENEGAL AUTHORITY, BIAFRA DIDN'T THINK OF GOING WHEN THEY ARE TOP POSITION IN GEJ GOVT ADIM. LOOTING NIGERIA MONEY SELFISH PEOPLE.
they are selfish
Posted: at 8-12-2015 06:36 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac