Woman on Wheelchair Whose Family Says She is a Curse to Be deported to Nigeria

Date: 17-12-2015 1:07 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 17-12-2015 01:07 PM (8 years ago)

A wheelchair-bound student activist who says her family in Nigeria believe she is a “curse” could be deported this Christmas, after the Home Office rejected her plea to remain in the UK. More than 1,000 people have signed a petition demanding Kelechi Chioba be allowed to remain in the country. The 35-year-old who originally moved to Britain as a postgraduate student in 2011, has polio and suffers from mental health problems.
She applied for asylum on the basis that she endured severe abuse in Nigeria due to her disability. She says her family believe her to be a “curse” and that people had tried to kill her.
The statement alongside the petition says: “In Nigeria, she is regarded as a curse and a source of shame upon her family, due to her disability. She has suffered severe abuse at the hands of her family, including verbal abuse, beatings and attempts to end her life.
But the she has been told by the Home Office there was “nothing sufficiently serious in the family or private life circumstances that could possibly outweigh the need for immigration controls to be enforced”.

She has recently returned to National Asylum Support Service (NASS) accommodation after a stay in hospital, and said she was struggling to survive on a budget of £31 per week, after her allowance was slashed by NASS.
Tasmia Salim, education officer at the University of Central Lancashire and a friend of Ms Chioba, said: “Kelechi is always championing other people, and it’s really hard to see her go through all of this.  You have to ask, are these British values? We take the moral high ground with other governments but people right here in our country are suffering. Who are we to turn our backs?”
Chioba, who studied hospital and healthcare at the University of Wolverhampton before she was forced to postpone her studies, is a keen student disability campaigner and NUS activist. A fundraising website has also has been started, which organisers say will fund Ms Chioba’s legal costs and go towards her food and medicine.

Posted: at 17-12-2015 01:07 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 17-12-2015 02:32 PM (8 years ago)
Ur pple can never try to kill u for any reason.  We understand u want to stay in UK but don't portrait ur pple and country ad evil place. Anyway I wish u well in ur fight for stay in america but if truly ur family are doing dat to u then they shpd be arrested  Haba.
Posted: at 17-12-2015 02:32 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 17-12-2015 02:37 PM (8 years ago)
people would stay anything to stay in UK, i know what i'm talking about... i no blame the woman jare, see how naija level turn to now
Posted: at 17-12-2015 02:37 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- paulohking at 17-12-2015 03:19 PM (8 years ago)
hummmm
Posted: at 17-12-2015 03:19 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- uuuuuuuu at 17-12-2015 05:18 PM (8 years ago)
Look let me tell you a story one guy in italy went to the police office and tell them that he want to go back home so that they should give him ticket for deportation documents that he want to be depoted the hole police at work come down from there office and they where suprice how come a nigeria will say this kind of word well they decided to help him in every form so my sister don't  let them fill that UK is more important than ur country come home my dear sister niaja sweet  you here
Posted: at 17-12-2015 05:18 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- uuuuuuuu at 17-12-2015 05:19 PM (8 years ago)
Look let me tell you a story one guy in italy went to the police office and tell them that he want to go back home so that they should give him ticket for deportation documents that he want to be depoted the hole police at work come down from there office and they where suprice how come a nigeria will say this kind of word well they decided to help him in every form so my sister don't  let them fill that UK is more important than ur country come home my dear sister niaja sweet  you here
Posted: at 17-12-2015 05:19 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- uuuuuuuu at 17-12-2015 05:20 PM (8 years ago)
Look let me tell you a story one guy in italy went to the police office and tell them that he want to go back home so that they should give him ticket for deportation documents that he want to be depoted the hole police at work come down from there office and they where suprice how come a nigeria will say this kind of word well they decided to help him in every form so my sister don't  let them fill that UK is more important than ur country come home my dear sister niaja sweet  you here
Posted: at 17-12-2015 05:20 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- DrSoba at 17-12-2015 06:37 PM (8 years ago)
Aduro story.
Posted: at 17-12-2015 06:37 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 17-12-2015 07:16 PM (8 years ago)
This is a big lie there is no where here in Nigeria that such thing can happen, why should this people be lying against our country just to have favour.
Posted: at 17-12-2015 07:16 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 17-12-2015 07:20 PM (8 years ago)
Not even your own people now
Posted: at 17-12-2015 07:20 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Powerfulify at 17-12-2015 08:27 PM (8 years ago)
My sister d Lord is ur strength n it shall b well with u
Posted: at 17-12-2015 08:27 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 17-12-2015 10:11 PM (8 years ago)
This is really terrible... God will surely have mercy on you. just keep on praying hard
Posted: at 17-12-2015 10:11 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- beautysharp at 18-12-2015 01:42 AM (8 years ago)
I pray your desire is granted
Posted: at 18-12-2015 01:42 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- 50scent at 18-12-2015 04:54 AM (8 years ago)
Awon omo wobe

Posted: at 18-12-2015 04:54 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ngfineface at 18-12-2015 10:36 AM (8 years ago)
A post graduate student with mental disability. How does that add up. If she had mental problem back home she obviously won't go for a PG degree in the UK. Mad person dey go school? The idiot should just come back home and stop telling lies and disgracing Nigeria
Posted: at 18-12-2015 10:36 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- christianity at 18-12-2015 02:27 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: EDWIN GRACE on 17-12-2015 02:32 PM
Ur pple can never try to kill u for any reason.  We understand u want to stay in UK but don't portrait ur pple and country ad evil place. Anyway I wish u well in ur fight for stay in america but if truly ur family are doing dat to u then they shpd be arrested  Haba.

Grin Grin Grin,were u not the one dat made me to understand dat im not worth bearing my name,but pls let me beg u,here in europe all is entitled to his or her opinion,and must be respected irrespective of if u share same or not.im sure dat u cant create a hair by urself out of the abundance of them on ur head.so pls learn how to overlook ppl and pretend dat u did not read their comments,dat makes u a matured  person,dont let the wide world to know dat in ur con3 hatred is being preached,and lastly,(uk) means united kingdom,and its made up of contries like(england,wales,northern ireland and scotland)while (usa)is a con3 in american continent.so so america is not in (uk).thank u.
Posted: at 18-12-2015 02:27 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- botlex at 20-12-2015 12:43 PM (8 years ago)
Don't really know how true your story is sha. But if it's true may God help you in your fight
Posted: at 20-12-2015 12:43 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- botlex at 20-12-2015 12:44 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: henry chinedu joseph on 18-12-2015 02:27 PM

Grin Grin Grin,were u not the one dat made me to understand dat im not worth bearing my name,but pls let me beg u,here in europe all is entitled to his or her opinion,and must be respected irrespective of if u share same or not.im sure dat u cant create a hair by urself out of the abundance of them on ur head.so pls learn how to overlook ppl and pretend dat u did not read their comments,dat makes u a matured  person,dont let the wide world to know dat in ur con3 hatred is being preached,and lastly,(uk) means united kingdom,and its made up of contries like(england,wales,northern ireland and scotland)while (usa)is a con3 in american continent.so so america is not in (uk).thank u.
Why you come dey attack this babe like this nah?
Posted: at 20-12-2015 12:44 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 23-12-2015 12:10 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: EDWIN GRACE on 17-12-2015 02:32 PM
You dnt knw people are soo wicked, some people dnt have human feeling at all. You have really advised her well, what we better for her is to stay away frm this evil family she has in 9ja
Posted: at 23-12-2015 12:10 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 23-12-2015 02:27 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmmmm,UK but why now,make una use because of her condition leave her,she loves your country more than her fathers land,make una grant her request.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 02:27 AM (8 years ago) | Hero