Soldier, 7 Others Arrested For Selling Weapons To Notorious Armed Robbers Who Attack Banks

Date: 29-12-2015 7:30 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 29-12-2015 07:30 AM (8 years ago)

A serving Lance Corporal in the Nigerian Army, Emmanuel Ebo, and seven others have been arrested for allegedly selling ammunition to a notorious gang of armed robbers which attacked banks in Lagos and Ogun states.

The corporal and the others – Ahmed Monsuru, Bayo Olaoye, Olamilekan Omopeji, Ayodeji Famileye, Opeyemi Balogun, Michael Adebayo, and Edward Paul – were arrested by the Inspector General of Police Special Intelligence Monitoring Team.

The team arrested the soldier, an Ijaw, at his base in Maiduguri, Borno State, while the other suspects were picked up in various hideouts in Lagos, Ogun, and Oyo states. It was gathered that the corporal, who had reportedly confessed to the crime, was arrested by the team, led by CSP Abba Kyari, after the Department of Military Intelligence had been alerted to the matter by the police.

It was learnt that the police recovered six automatic pump-action rifles, a pistol and some cartridges from the suspects. It will be recalled that robbers had attacked some commercial banks in Lekki, Ipakodo, Ijede and the FESTAC Town area of Lagos State and Agbara area of Ogun State at different times in the year.

The DMI received an intelligence report on the corporal’s activities from the police, and handed him over for interrogation. A police source told PUNCH Metro that the soldier allegedly concealed the weapons in food items heading for Lagos State from Borno State, while the robbers would credit his bank account upon receiving the weapons.

According to the police, the suspects allegedly sold no fewer than 15 automatic pump-action rifles to the gang. Speaking with PUNCH Metro, one of the suspects, 40-year-old Famileye from Ekiti State, said he sold an automatic rifle to the gang for N230,000, adding that he made over N60,000 on each rifle. The father of one said, “I have a friend in Oyo State, known as Mr. Mike, who sells arms. I do not know whether he is a licensed dealer or not. It was in 2012 during the fuel subsidy protest in Lagos that I went to Ikorodu to buy fuel and I met a member of the gang. That was how the business started.

“Last year, one of them, Opeyemi, called me that he wanted to buy two pump-action guns which he needed for pipeline security. I called my friend, Mr. Mike, and told him about it. He sold the rifle to me for N170,000, but I sold it forN260,00. “I, Opeyemi and Olamilekan have gone to the creek to meet one of the gang leaders, known only as Ossy. They bought two rifles on that first deal and they also demanded two more rifles. Sincerely, I did not know they were using the guns for robbery. They said they were into pipeline security.”

PUNCH Metro learnt that the corporal and two other suspects could not be paraded yet as intelligence information was being gathered from them. The Force Public Relations Officer, ACP Olabisi Kolawole, confirmed the arrest of the suspects, adding that investigation was ongoing into the matter.

Posted: at 29-12-2015 07:30 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 29-12-2015 07:55 AM (8 years ago)
See their face Jeez... Ugly things. Your books has been open.
Posted: at 29-12-2015 07:55 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Haso112 at 29-12-2015 08:07 AM (8 years ago)
Some serious PUMP ACTIONS here mehnnnnn, these ones will put holes through walls...
Posted: at 29-12-2015 08:07 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 29-12-2015 08:18 AM (8 years ago)
Ndi police!,which one be say una no go parade the soilder,say una still dey interrogate am,hmmmm,I sensed ojoro for this one,anyway we are watching,see as them met their waterloo.
Posted: at 29-12-2015 08:18 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 29-12-2015 08:26 AM (8 years ago)
See there face like boko haram, its was like solider don they foolish pass police nw. You guys must brought to book.
Posted: at 29-12-2015 08:26 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 29-12-2015 09:30 AM (8 years ago)
I always know d army has been infiltrated by s bad ones in d society unlike b4 dat d military were close and keep secret. See d boko  insurgents for example. U will know dat d pple training  them is definitely a trained military infantry personnel wit much experience. Wen those robbery and killing was going on in d Lagos and agbara, we thot its either d police or military dismissed recruit. Too bad. Pls they shld be killing robbers like dis.
Posted: at 29-12-2015 09:30 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 29-12-2015 10:38 AM (8 years ago)
i hear una
Posted: at 29-12-2015 10:38 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Oworen25 at 29-12-2015 11:29 AM (8 years ago)
See their faces thieves that have no conscience and even army too were suppose help safe the civilians from all this calamities dey follow join this group abeg make they persecute all of them make they no see new year for eyes.
Posted: at 29-12-2015 11:29 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- botlex at 29-12-2015 01:05 PM (8 years ago)
"They told me they were into pipeline security". Story for the gods... Nice job guys, una don try nab these ones
Posted: at 29-12-2015 01:05 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beautysharp at 29-12-2015 01:57 PM (8 years ago)
Behind every successful  heavy armed robbery attack police or army must be involved
Posted: at 29-12-2015 01:57 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- crocatum at 29-12-2015 05:10 PM (8 years ago)
Seriously, there is no cultural standard in the military and police, anyone who can think of an unethical way to get money for himself immediately does so, regardless of the implication, it is this habits that has shortsighted destiny and and retarded society.
Posted: at 29-12-2015 05:10 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mopera at 30-12-2015 10:41 AM (8 years ago)
I always know d army has been
infiltrated by s bad ones in d
society unlike b4 dat d military
were close and keep secret. See d
boko  insurgents for example. U
will know dat d pple training  them is definitely a trained military
infantry personnel wit much
experience. Wen those robbery
and killing was going on in d Lagos
and agbara, we thot its either d
police or military dismissed recruit. Too bad. Pls they shld be killing
robbers like dis.
Posted: at 30-12-2015 10:41 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 30-12-2015 11:27 PM (8 years ago)
straight to kirikiri.
Posted: at 30-12-2015 11:27 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moralemike07 at 3-01-2016 01:40 PM (8 years ago)
How does it feel when caught? Serves you right.
Posted: at 3-01-2016 01:40 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

2. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

3. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

4. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

5. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

6. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

3. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

4. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

5. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

6. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

7. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

8. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

9. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

10. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria