The hard and soft copies of the 2016 budget documents President Muhammadu Buhari handed over to the National Assembly on December 22, 2015, have been declared missing, PREMIUM TIMES can authoritatively report. The Nigerian Senate was scheduled to commence deliberation on the proposed budget Tuesday (today). But Senate Leader, Ali Ndume, shocked lawmakers at a closed-door session, when he told them the budget documents had been stolen, people familiar with the matter told PREMIUM TIMES. Mr. Ndume, our sources said, explained that deliberation on the budget could therefore not begin until fresh copies of the documents were obtained from the presidency, the Ministry of Finance or that of national planning. The Chairman, Senate Committee of Appropriation, Danjuma Goje, was subsequently mandated to lead a search for the documents and liaise with the presidency, the Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters, Ita Enang, and the national planning ministry on the matter. The Senators also resolved that the matter be kept under wraps, saying making it public could embarrass the presidency, the National Assembly and the country. Our sources said senators of the Peoples Democratic Party accused the presidency of being behind the theft of the documents, an accusation rejected by their All Progressives Congress’ counterparts, who reportedly said it was too early to speculate. Some lawmakers told PREMIUM TIMES they are suspicious that the presidency might have colluded with the management of the National Assembly to quietly withdraw the documents after detecting some discrepancies in them. “Can you imagine this kind of national embarrassment?” one senator asked. “Documents that were presented to us with fanfare have been stolen.”The spokesperson for the senate, Aliyu Abdullahi,could not been reached for comments. So also is Mr. Goje, the chairman of the appropriation committee.
Writing is my passion and facts-proofing is my hobby, I have been writing at Gistmania for close to a decade now and It is one of the most exciting things I do. Outside writing, I love enjoying time with my loved ones - if you have any tip for me, please do get in touch
Posted: at 12-01-2016 04:32 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
It is only in this country that we can wake up one morning and tell the whole world that a budget document submitted by the President to the senate for deliberation is missing. what a show of shame. Anyway I don't belief this kind story.
Posted: at 12-01-2016 05:40 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Haha haha haha haha haha I don laff sotayyyyy since afternoon wey I read am. I have never heard of such b4. Dis is ingesting. Let's see as d drama unfold.
Posted: at 12-01-2016 06:25 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
DJSNIPPER at 12-01-2016 08:55 PM (9 years ago) (m)
this is what you get when you foist a dictator cum clown on a population of 160 million..the clown of daura have stolen the budget since he asked for it peacefully and they refuse to give it to him, so he send his daura secret service to steal it and teach them who is the boss..haha...APC have just added another page to nigerian history, we all should remember that in this day,, a president presented a budget which he didnt understand and when confronted with the fact, he ask for the budget to be returned back to him, failure which he send his men to steal the budget by force..
Posted: at 12-01-2016 08:55 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac