Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State, on Monday had expressed his support for President Buhari’s decision not to pay the promised N5,000 stipend to unemployed graduates due to a shift in his priorities.
The governor who spoke with State House correspondents after a private meeting with Vice President Yemi Osinbajo at the Presidential Villa, Abuja said he doesn’t believe in empowerment with physical cash. He said that the money might create more problems them anyone could think of.
According to him, it could lead to marrying many of women as wives and increased intake of alcoholic drinks.
He said: “To be honest with you, it is a great idea, but there are many ways to give that support.
“Sometimes, it could be in cash which has its negative challenges. Handling of that is also in itself a wonderful and great idea.
“Take for instance, in Imo State now, they used to do what they called empowerment. They buy motorcycles and give people N5,000 or N10,000, for me that is not my style.
“My style is to declare free education, from primary, secondary to university. Nobody pays one naira in Imo State. The very poor people who have to endure a lot of social inconveniences to pay school fees are no longer doing that. What has happened is that they have saved that money to produce further wealth.”
Okorocha said it would have been a great idea to pay the money but that there were many other ways to redeem the pledge.
The post N5000 means ‘More Alcohol, Women’, Okorocha supports Buhari on unemployment stipend appeared first on The Whistle.
I specialize in investigative reportage across several subject matter and sectors but mainly focus on metro events and investigation. Do leave your thoughts and opinion on my reports to let me know what you think about them. Thank you
Posted: at 1-03-2016 08:11 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
BournIdentity at 1-03-2016 08:16 AM (9 years ago) (m)
No be lie
Posted: at 1-03-2016 08:16 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
Though there is some sense in what he's saying, but how does getting 5,000 monthly encourage any man to get many women as wives? Anyone drink alcohol reach una? Abeg bros, talk something else...!
Posted: at 1-03-2016 08:47 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
I hate it wen pple talk from two sides of their mouth. Why promised wen u can't fulfil it. U shld have thot of all dis b4 u make such a costly promised dat d youth will look forward to. It's a pity dat ur APC party are joking wit their re election.
Posted: at 1-03-2016 08:55 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
concentrate at 1-03-2016 08:56 AM (9 years ago) (m)
it is unscrupulous politicians like this that made the youth gullible and now he has started insulting them. i dont blame him. is it everybody that is as irresponsible as these apc thieves? nonsense
Posted: at 1-03-2016 08:56 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
BournIdentity at 1-03-2016 09:09 AM (9 years ago) (m)
Quote from: Ubong Etuk on 1-03-2016 08:56 AM
it is unscrupulous politicians like this that made the youth gullible and now he has started insulting them. i dont blame him. is it everybody that is as irresponsible as these apc thieves? nonsense
Dem don come ur house tif moni abi? Una no una self, go find work
Posted: at 1-03-2016 09:09 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
I wonder why some people talk like they don not take time to think first. This would only be true if they were planning to pay the money to miscreants. I, however, do not see the sense in saying someone who spent at least 19 years of their life to get an education would act that way (this is not saying there may not be a remote few who think this way). If the governor really believes this then my argument on their behalf is that those that earn 50k - 500k and above would have finished all the booze and women in the state before the 5k earners get there. Maybe the state would stop paying workers so that they don't spend all their money on women and booze.
Posted: at 1-03-2016 09:15 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
All this naija matter dey tire me, why on earth people debate on just $20 monthly, that na money? I even dey more tired for the citizens wey de wait for such money. Dream big and forget about this 5k tin, God forbide me to stay on a que bcause of the money wey nor even me 1 jean, make i nor talk about shoe.
Posted: at 1-03-2016 09:49 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac