1,200 Nigerians Serving Jail Terms In India – Envoy

Date: 16-03-2016 6:25 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 16-03-2016 06:25 AM (8 years ago)

Nigeria’s Acting High Commissioner to India, Ambassador Sola Enikanolaiye, says 1,200 Nigerians are serving various jail terms in the Asian country for offences ranging from Advance Fee Fraud to cultism.

Enikanolaiye disclosed this in an interview yesterday on the sideline of the 11th Confederation of Indian Industries (CII) and Export Import Bank (EXIM) Conclave on India Africa Project Partnership in New Delhi. According to him, the high commission is working out bail procedures for the inmates and repatriation of ex-convicts.

“There are few (Nigerians) that are giving us a bad name in this country because of what they do. They are involved in crimes – 419 (fraudulent activities) in particular, drugs trafficking and now cultism, which is a new and very dangerous dimension, within the Nigerian community.

“They are always fighting, we have incidents of stabbing or beating and so on. That has been the major challenge in our consular relations; there are 1,200 Nigerians in prison here in India “Visit to prisons is a major aspect of our responsibility. Since I came here in May last year, we have taken more than 30 visits to prisons across the country.

Most of the prisoners are actually in New Delhi. “We go to them, counsel them and go with some supplies and advise them on how to arrange their bails.

What we have done is to identify some credible lawyers to intervene, especially when cases come up for mention in various courts. And eventually when they are released from prison, we facilitate their return to Nigeria.”

Enikanolaiye, who said no Nigerian convict had been executed in India, explained that those convicted were always deported to Nigeria on completion of their jail terms. He said that the negotiations on the Prisoner Transfer Agreement (PTA) between India and Nigeria had been concluded, although it had not been signed by Nigeria.

“The Nigeria government has concluded the Prisoner Transfer Agreement with India; it is just awaiting signature. And once this is signed, it will be easy and faster to get Nigerians back home to complete their terms.

“The PTA is awaiting our own side to be prepared to sign; we believe this will be as soon as possible,” he was quoted by the News Agency of Nigerian (NAN).’’ The envoy also clarified reports regarding two Nigerians arrested for allegedly attempting to cross over to Pakistan from India to join the terrorist group, ISIS.

“Our investigations revealed that there is no substance to that story. The Indian Government has confirmed that these guys were not going to join ISIS, they were just two boys in their youthful exuberance who engaged in an adventure.

“They have since been charged for a lesser offence of car hijacking and theft and the case may have been concluded. We are in touch with their parents at home; so as soon as they have completed the sentences, they will be repatriated to Nigeria,” he said.

Enikanolaiye said Nigeria had begun discussions with India with a view to securing amnesty for Nigerians who had overstayed their visas.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 16-03-2016 06:25 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- onomskky at 16-03-2016 06:42 AM (8 years ago)
If Buhari say lets abstain from crime abroad, Nigerians go insult am.
Imagine 1200 Nigerians in jail and those are the ones which are documented. If you add the undocumented ones then the figure will be much higher.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 06:42 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vectorcy at 16-03-2016 06:53 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: frank on 16-03-2016 06:42 AM
Imagine 1200 Nigerians in jail and those are the ones which are documented. If you add the undocumented ones then the figure will be much higher.
Hahah,no b lie you talk
Posted: at 16-03-2016 06:53 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 16-03-2016 07:07 AM (8 years ago)
let them be there....who send them there to commit crime...
Posted: at 16-03-2016 07:07 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- angesco at 16-03-2016 07:38 AM (8 years ago)
We have the FREE WILL to chose to do either the RIGHT thing or to.the WRONG thing. They chose to do wrong EVEN after getting the opportunity to leave Nigeria to "better" themselves!
Posted: at 16-03-2016 07:38 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- samdove28 at 16-03-2016 08:02 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: frank on 16-03-2016 06:42 AM
I like your talk... na so you talk jare becz if buhari tell them not to pratice crime then go they abuse him.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 08:02 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fran6ixfox at 16-03-2016 08:04 AM (8 years ago)
Lol that's their own business
Posted: at 16-03-2016 08:04 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- samdove28 at 16-03-2016 08:06 AM (8 years ago)
CAN YOU IMAGINE THIS.... HMMMM, SERIOUSLY WHY UNA DEY DO THIS TO THIS COUNTRY, WE ARE JUST SPOLING THE IMAGE OF THIS COUNTRY HERE AND THERE. WELL, THEY SHOULD CM BCK AND FINISH THERE JAIL TERM IN THERE FATHERS LAND SIKKANO.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 08:06 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eazyatumeyi at 16-03-2016 08:26 AM (8 years ago)
That's the list go to Libya and Pakistan you will see more than this
Posted: at 16-03-2016 08:26 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 16-03-2016 08:28 AM (8 years ago)
Wonder what people hustle for in India but because nothing de naija. Which way Nigeria!!!
Posted: at 16-03-2016 08:28 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 16-03-2016 08:47 AM (8 years ago)
Na wa o
Posted: at 16-03-2016 08:47 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- rasheal at 16-03-2016 09:24 AM (8 years ago)
If not for the useless country we are, what's in India that is special. Rubbish
Posted: at 16-03-2016 09:24 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 16-03-2016 10:28 AM (8 years ago)
naija people like jail
Posted: at 16-03-2016 10:28 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- BournIdentity at 16-03-2016 10:48 AM (8 years ago)
C people devil don use push im wheelbarrow
Posted: at 16-03-2016 10:48 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oworen25 at 16-03-2016 10:58 AM (8 years ago)
Make our government do something about it
Posted: at 16-03-2016 10:58 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- slimmygal at 16-03-2016 12:09 PM (8 years ago)
buhari talk dat time, some people dey cry dey make noise, wetin dem wan see talk to dis one now? no country wey naija no dey dre prison.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 12:09 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Slimchery at 16-03-2016 01:47 PM (8 years ago)
Una wan kill Buhari for simple truth that many fail to tell because of fear and greed, some Nigerians are really giving us bad name and i was once in India, in only jail 4 has about 100 black prisoners and in all naija is about 95 while the rest 5 is from other country in Africa
Posted: at 16-03-2016 01:47 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ujmaria at 17-03-2016 01:30 AM (8 years ago)
Na their palava be dat, everyone knows what is right and wrong
Posted: at 17-03-2016 01:30 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- raynebee at 17-03-2016 11:40 AM (8 years ago)
stay in ur country.... mbanu
Posted: at 17-03-2016 11:40 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- imaria at 17-03-2016 03:34 PM (8 years ago)
They have to pay for their crimes
Posted: at 17-03-2016 03:34 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac