Can the north survive without the Niger-Delta oil? (Page 4)

Date: 09-08-2008 6:28 pm (15 years ago) | Author: FORTUNE A
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 ... 9
- daramson at 11-10-2008 10:23 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Cleverman on  7-10-2008 01:10 PM
2 godson or devilson (whichever applicable)

After diagnosing your problem, i discovered that you are suffering from notherphobia. I advise you to go and study history before coming to a very respected forum like naija pals blabbering rubbish. No part of Nigeria is a parasite. All the component units that make up the present nigeria are interdependent on one another. The fact that large chunk of the the nation's revenue comes from oil does not make N/Delta region more important than the other regions. After all the oil blocks are natural gift from God and you can not tell me if the oil blocks were made and deposited in the region by legendary king JaJa of Opobo or Nana of Itshekiri. Let's try to promote issues that'll foster unity and understanding between us not issues that'll further divide us and create suspicion and hatred between us.

cleveman, no be fight oooo, take am easy.
We know its in ur blood to fight always (beign a good northernern)
but this is just a forum, ok?

Posted: at 11-10-2008 10:23 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- blackberryPearl at 12-10-2008 12:40 AM (15 years ago)
maybe they will go on solar power
Posted: at 12-10-2008 12:40 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 18-10-2008 06:34 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Cleverman on  6-10-2008 03:17 PM
I'm a bloody notherner but honestly north can not survive for good three month without revenues from oil. The main stay of the region's economy which is farming has been relegated to the background. Most annoying is the attitude of nothern governors to agricultural development of the region. Just take a look at  the percentage given to agriculture by the 19 nothern governors in their budgets and that will open your eyes on why north can not survive without revenues from oil. I'm not a tribalist or a regionalist, i think it's high time we should come together as Nigerians not notherner or southerner and cooperate with one another on issues that will move our country forward. The question of wether north can survive without N/Delta oil does not even arise. Which one of the regions including ss that can survive without oil money? The oil money has done more harm than good to us as a nation. Come to think of it; With all the billions coming from the oil revenues where are we today? are we better off?
Our own generation must break our selve from the politicks of regionalism and tribalism. Our parents who are the present leaders of this country are nothing but tribal and regional champions. They've instituted curruption in to the system of governance and have mismanaged the resources of this country in the name of tribalism and regionalism. I don't want to follow their foot step neither do you. I always maintained that if we don't want our children to curse us just like we are cursing our present leaders, we must do everything possible to change the present situation. If we don't, We'll suffer and our children will also suffer. Time to act is now. Visit my blog to find out about 100 ways to make Nigeria a better place for all of us.
Posted: at 18-10-2008 06:34 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Helga at 18-10-2008 11:38 PM (15 years ago)
Godsson i love your passion. Go and become Nigerians next president. You got it in you mate.
Posted: at 18-10-2008 11:38 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 19-10-2008 05:26 PM (15 years ago)
HELGA
Thanks.I am working towards it.Herre has already agreed to be my VP.lol.
Posted: at 19-10-2008 05:26 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- sanmight at 19-10-2008 08:27 PM (15 years ago)
It would be out of ignorant for anyone to thinks that the north cannot survive without Niger delta oil, off course, they had survived and will continue to survive. All they have needed God has provided for them in terms of agricultural products, in facts they are the back bone of Nigeria food supplies and that is the first basic physiological factor for human needs. Do not forget that when Niger delta oil has not been discovered Nigeria as a whole is better rated and economically valued even just with the agricultural products internationally, Our exchange rate is even better than the Americans. It was a period when everyone had the sense of duty and remained focus to make Nigeria great.
It is true that lots of money is generated from oil and is driving most of us mad, I have being to Niger delta and have seen the sorry state of things but it still boil down to the stupidity of the Niger delta rulers both local chiefs and the political leaders. I have had the pleasure of seeing most of these people outside Nigeria shores living as if there would be no tomorrow, who is to blame? It is not shell or Exonmobil if that is what you are thinking, the multinational oil companies cannot do anything in Niger delta without the approval of these so call local chiefs and politicians but they'll rather serve their pocket than serving their community, therefore will get the money from the shell and mobil and stack it up in foreign account for themselves, the same set of people will return home and keep playing on the peoples ignorance.
We are ignorant of what we dont know therefore the reason for the youth unrest in that area, so please the insect that is eating the vegetable is on the vegetable itself. In whatever way we may look at it, each region as in North, South, East or west of Nigeria have its Opportunities and strengths so also has its treats and weaknesses, talking about one region cannot survive without the other without Critically looking at these factors does not portray a good sense of unity in a country as big and blessed like Nigeria.
Why is it that the foreign country still come to Africa for raw materials? why is it that the world is becoming a global village? and why is it that the developed countries of the world are still patronising developing and the underdeveloped countries? The benefit of coexisting is far greater than our imagination only if we can apply general economic sense and use it to our advantage. Sowing seeds of discord will never improve our nation.
Posted: at 19-10-2008 08:27 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- zie85er at 19-10-2008 09:06 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Helga on 18-10-2008 11:38 PM
Godsson i love your passion. Go and become Nigerians next president. You got it in you mate.
trust me ...by d tym he's  close to d top of d ladder...he's already currupt

Posted: at 19-10-2008 09:06 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Helga at 19-10-2008 09:38 PM (15 years ago)
@ zie I love that answer too because your so right.  Grin
Show me a leader who is not corrupt he/she doesnt exist.
Posted: at 19-10-2008 09:38 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- khadijah at 20-10-2008 04:31 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: zie85er on 19-10-2008 09:06 PM
and what makes you think he isnt corrupt now? Grin
Posted: at 20-10-2008 04:31 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bmgaie at 20-10-2008 03:57 PM (15 years ago)
its not a problem for all if they feel they have oil we have food and the fact is we have oil too just that is not as much as theres so..................?
Posted: at 20-10-2008 03:57 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 20-10-2008 08:41 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Helga on 19-10-2008 09:38 PM
@ zie I love that answer too because your so right.  Grin
Show me a leader who is not corrupt he/she doesnt exist.
Quote from: khadijah on 20-10-2008 04:31 AM

Just imagine how all these corrupt politicians are politicking about my future.lol!
I dont ve to tell U people that I am not corrupt,only time would vindicate me.
Posted: at 20-10-2008 08:41 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Helga at 21-10-2008 12:44 PM (15 years ago)
Godsson keep smiling my man.
As im convinced your true to your word.
Posted: at 21-10-2008 12:44 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- zie85er at 21-10-2008 09:13 PM (15 years ago)
i hope so.......cos i'll be dissapointed if along d line, i see Godsson in abuja biting from our dear national cake...i'm watching

Posted: at 21-10-2008 09:13 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 21-10-2008 10:51 PM (15 years ago)
ZIE
Have no fear.I ve being tested.I was a CDS president during my service year.Those in my CD(Educational Standards Dala LGA Kano) can attest to my leadership abilities.However,they would say I am a dictator that get things done.lol
Posted: at 21-10-2008 10:51 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Helga at 22-10-2008 08:03 AM (15 years ago)
hahahah you are a Aquarius alright
Posted: at 22-10-2008 08:03 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 23-10-2008 06:46 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Helga on 22-10-2008 08:03 AM
hahahah you are a Aquarius alright

lolz!U still ain't told me anything about this Zodiac thing.I'd really love to know how my being Aquarius impact on my mannerisms.
Posted: at 23-10-2008 06:46 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Helga at 23-10-2008 10:39 PM (15 years ago)
Although not proven here it is. you could have looked it up for yourself of course. But here it is.
Its you

You were fortunate enough to be born under the humanitarian zodiac sign of Aquarius. You are therefore ruled by electric and progressive Uranus making you forward thinking and self-directed. You’re a born revolutionary so no one can tell you how to live your life. Your clear-cut approach makes it perfectly clear just how differently you wish to experience life.

You just don’t want to be like others and take pride in the fact that you’re so unique. Even if you’re occasionally criticised for your cheeky attitude, you’d far prefer to be self-sufficient rather than being a sheep in society who follows everyone else’s lead.

You are a zesty individual, having tremendous amounts of energy. You are determined and forceful in how you deal with people. You want to express your ground-breaking spirit in everything you do but unfortunately you won’t always able to break free of the limits that are imposed upon you. Some Aquarians learn through their family life that before you can be the master of your own destiny, you have to serve. In some extreme cases Aquarians are controlled and dominated by others throughout the formative period of their lives which is why it’s so difficult for them to submit to others.

If you’re not able to live your life on your own terms, you’ll dream and aspire to a future time when you can fulfil your destiny to the fullest in exactly the way you want. You have very inspirational views of the world and even if your opinions are too different, you’ll always be respected for speaking your mind honestly.

You share your zodiac sign with many other grand personalities. Like them you are attracted to social issues. You like to be involved in groups and organisations that make a difference in society. Even in the smallest of ways, you will try to make some difference in this world. If you look at Aquarians like Oprah Winfrey, Boris Yeltsin and entertainers like Peter Gabriel and John Travolta, they are deeply interested in changing the awareness of people to make the world a better place.

Because you have great organisational and communication skills you work really well with others. You have your own ideas and solutions to problems. Others are surprised at your quirky approach and how you resolve these issues.

You’re investigative, curious and extremely active mentally. Your thinking mind rarely, if ever, stops. You need to learn when to shut down as your brain can become overactive, especially at night.

Communication is your speciality and you relate well to the world. You will continue to enlarge your active personality so don’t try to suppress your true character – just express it prudently. You’re vigorous in the way you present your ideas so there’s never a dull moment around you. There’s often someone who wants to challenge you, especially if they happen to have a much more conventional way of doing things. You’ll be more than happy to challenge that taking great pleasure in proving them wrong.

Uranus, your planetary ruler, is abrupt and breathtaking by nature and will fill your life with plenty of unanticipated surprises - good and not so good. You like it like this and the unexpected is something you thrive upon! Even if you have a stable home or work situation you like to shake things up from time to time to keep everyone on their toes. Still, you’re very loyal when it comes to your most personal relationships.

You like to create a comfortable environment in which to live. Venus influences your domestic sphere so you have a flair for design and colour. Your surroundings mirror your unique character. Others are amazed at the way you decorate your home. There’ll be nothing ordinary about it, that’s for sure.

Your far-reaching attitudes overwhelm your friends sometimes and they sometimes refer to you as harmlessly “mad”. Salvador Dali the famous painter once remarked about himself - "The only difference between me and a madman is that I'm not mad!" Even if he wasn't an Aquarius - this sums you up perfectly.

You embrace anything technological as Aquarius governs modern appliances. You are inventive and research orientated and certainly aren't a technophobe. If you’re an Aquarian male, some may even call you the “gadget man”. You like to be up to date with the latest and greatest handheld devices, computers and other audio or visual entertainment equipment.

You find it difficult to uphold relationships with those who aren’t prepared to evolve in the same way as yourself. Due to this you’ll be continually re-inventing yourself, trying to stimulate your friends to be better. Your rigid opinions bring you into disagreement with others. One of the laws of power suggests that you must act like others, but don’t always openly air your thoughts. It’s a good idea for you to keep some of their sweeping ideals tucked away until you test the water first.

There’s a universal quality about you. Although you appear aloof and detached you're inwardly sensitive and caring. You prefer to associate with people who share the same diverse views on life. Your life will almost certainly never be drab. You are able to embrace anything new including music and fashion. This is why you’ll always be young at heart.

Hahahaha in my case lots of it is true
Posted: at 23-10-2008 10:39 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 23-10-2008 11:09 PM (15 years ago)
HELGA!
Damn!Thanks a Zillion.I never believed in this,but I think,I should from now.It's as though someone that knows me very well is profiling my life.I can without any fear of contradiction say,over 90% of the things said there are picturesque of me.

I am somewhat in awe of Zodiacs now.I'll sure ve to explore it more.
Posted: at 23-10-2008 11:09 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Helga at 23-10-2008 11:45 PM (15 years ago)
Hahahaha but dont believe the every day to day shit ok.
But in general this is right for me as well.
Thats why i did ask if natureson was a Aquarius as to me he did sound like one too.
Posted: at 23-10-2008 11:45 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- kakis64 at 24-10-2008 10:35 AM (15 years ago)
The North will surely evolve or explore other survival tactics to live. So also were the oil to dry in the Niger-Delta, they can exist without oil.
Posted: at 24-10-2008 10:35 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 ... 9