Can the north survive without the Niger-Delta oil? (Page 6)

Date: 09-08-2008 6:28 pm (15 years ago) | Author: FORTUNE A
1 ... 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9
- ezuma12345ezuma at 13-12-2008 01:40 AM (15 years ago)
I AM NOT FROM THE NORTH.I AM A PROUD AND TRUTHFUL IBO BOY OR MAN.
THE ANSWER IS VERY SIMPLE.THE NORTH WILL VERY MUCH SURVIVE BECAUSE THERE SO MANY COUNTRIES IN THE WORLD TODAY THAT DOES NOT HAVE OIL AND JUST VISIT THIER EMBASSIES IN ABUJA AND YOU WILL SEE MANY NIGERIANS FIGHTING FOR VISA.LETS REMOVE OIL FROM THE NORTH OR FROM THE EAST,LETS APPLY WISDOM AND TRUTH IN OUR GOVERNMENT,YOU `LL SEE THAT WE DON`T EVEN NEED TO TOUCH OUR OIL.
NIGERIAN POLITICIANS HAVE MANSIONS IN ENGLAND,US,EUROPE,DUBAI ETC AND ADD 20 YEARS TO THEIR AGE NOW,THEY WILL ALL DIE.THERE CHILDREN WILL BE ON ALREADY MADE WEALTH.BUT I WILL STILL BE BETTER THAN THEM BECAUSE I AM A PROUD SELF MADE NIGERIA.FROM THE STREETS OF ABA,ONITSHA,LAGOS,EUROPE.AND ETC WITHOUT STAINING MY HAND .
Posted: at 13-12-2008 01:40 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- kunzles at 13-12-2008 09:58 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: muntys on  9-12-2008 08:17 PM
Quote from: Godsson on  4-09-2008 01:35 AM
KHADIJAH Nagode!Antashi Lafia?

I cant help but be long.I've to explain these things for all to understand.These are inconvenient TRUTHS that ALL MUST face.Whether we like it or Mutanem Arewa are parasites in the Nigerian project.That's why Northerners reject any form of change.We are operating a faulty Federal System.
People now said,LET US PRACTICE TRUE FEDERALISM.
My AREWA Brothers: say "NO!".

Others:LET US VE A SOVEREIGN NATIONAL CONFERENCE to discussion & revolve the internal
contradictions in the Nigerian State.

G0dsson - You started your first article by giving an impression of putting ''sentiments'' aside but as you hit your keyboard you begin to digress.  As you so much agree on alot of issues raised by shamsuddeen who has made very good, intelligent and key points even though you disagree on some which i feel should be attributed to human nature of not beign perfect in analysing any issue.  I have taken time to analyse most of your views and u made good points for the fact that you know the north very well but you did not strike me well in your perception on another region not doing without the other.

I strongly believe we could all do without each other provided we find a situation of doin so. All we we need as different entity is the will power and determination to achieve good lively hood for our children and great grand children.  Is a matter of going back to the drawing board to tackle situation at hand.  Oil or agriculture are key tools among many in generating revenue for a nation but that is really not enough as alot has to be done even where this resources are available to achieve greatness.  Meanwhile what is reqlly required in nigeria at this particular time is not about one region depending on the other but getting the right leardership to take us to the promise land, we both need each other in my opinion, lets have the correct leardership that can tap in to all the resources from both regions to uses for the betterment of the nation, lets get this greedy people who does not have any ethnic lineage out of leadership (because all the stealing, curruption the country witnessed are connivance of individuals from all parts.  To say the north need niger delta to survive at this particular moment is an understatement, but believe me or not the north has alot to offer the country if the right leadership is secured.  Dont forget that the globe is currently tilting to a different direction in terms of energy as the world largest consumers of oil are working day and night to reduce dependence on oil by creating alternative energy sources.  Who knwo what will happen in the next 10-20 years, lets stop this dependence on oil revenue and look at all options of surviving as a nation in tune with world realities.

May God help our children because for me and you we may not leave to see Naija become a strong economy going by modern lifespan.  Lets face realities and start to fine tune our attitude and strategies and lets look beyond ethnic lines as this is the most myopic of all thinking in this century.  Finally i think if i were to moderate this topic i would have make ""CNA NIGERIA SURVIVE WITHOUT OIL - LOOKING AT THE US OBJECTIVE OF ACHIEVING ENERGY INDEPENCE/ALTERNATIVE ENERGY in the coming years.

AREWA:NO!

OTHER:LET US VE ELECTRONIC VOTING SYSTEM

OTHERS:LET US USE SATE LITE TECHNOLOGY TO SOLVE OUR CENSUS PROBLEM ONCE & 4 ALL.

When ll these same rulers who gathered at KD to run their mouth that the North can live without oil say YES?

I guess when the Oil dries up.
Sir you touched as a politically-awared-of-my environment type if not an activist but why dont u have a face? good as your analysis are you kept yourself anonymous..we need good hands at all time when it comes to issues pertaining 9ja....come open even if you are a politician..at least Rufai is under leash ow..lol am just playing...its agood work though..
Posted: at 13-12-2008 09:58 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- joycey at 15-12-2008 09:07 PM (15 years ago)
Well, i had heard u all about Niger delta and so call oil and gas . To my own understanding that so call Nigeria president and all the followers are there for their own intereste. and they dont care for the masses, if u go out of Nigeria to day, with the system in other country u will definatly know that Nigeria is a disgrace to the Nation in all ways. brothers and sister,  this is a question to u all out there.Can u all tell me what is good in that Nigeria? like electricty, road. health care, good Education, water and so many other things like that. for me there is nothing good in that country call 9ja i have travel alot and i see the deferents of everyother country compare to my country 9ja. let evryone just hope for his or daily bread befor we can survive dont hope on the president or the govn .
Posted: at 15-12-2008 09:07 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- hardonsky at 30-12-2008 07:31 PM (15 years ago)
i believe the common northerner is already surviving without the oil-livin in mud houses and on subsistent agriculture as of 19th century, b4 the white men came - the queston is can the northern elite as presently orientated and positioned  survivie? the answer is no, so also the Niger Delta elites as they presently constitue themselves- the Iboris and lucky igbenedions of this world, if there were no oil, all these corruption nonsesnse would have to go one way or the other
Posted: at 30-12-2008 07:31 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- muntys at 31-12-2008 11:02 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: hardonsky on 30-12-2008 07:31 PM
i believe the common northerner is already surviving without the oil-livin in mud houses and on subsistent agriculture as of 19th century, b4 the white men came - the queston is can the northern elite as presently orientated and positioned  survivie? the answer is no, so also the Niger Delta elites as they presently constitue themselves- the Iboris and lucky igbenedions of this world, if there were no oil, all these corruption nonsesnse would have to go one way or the other

Nice one Hardonsky.....the reality is majority of the populace in both region doesnt feel the impact of the so called nigerian or nigerdelta oil, they live in abject poverty and does not have amenities like electricity, roads, better houses and food that are suppose to be the diveden of the so called OIL.  I believe the elites in both region are those concerned with OIL at the moment.
Posted: at 31-12-2008 11:02 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- anataala at 4-01-2009 12:11 PM (15 years ago)
hi,
infact north can survive with out oil, North was known over the for agriculture and if we have not forgetten it's the norther money that was used to build our refineries, take an instance the vast land in the country for farming is in the North, but in the North, remember my people, tomamtoes,yam,rice,millet,onions,fish, and many other things are from northen nigeria, pls dont unde rate  North . the can survive with out oil.
Posted: at 4-01-2009 12:11 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- fritzreikosz at 4-01-2009 04:40 PM (15 years ago)
You know its pretty much interesting you guys are talking about this particular topic, but i've a very particular interest in the views of "shamsuddeen". I don't think i'm agreeing with you even in the least, not even minutely. And i quote "MY FRIEND, IF YOU THINK NIGERIAN MASSES AS A WHOLE (NOT TALKING ABOUT THE NORTH FOR NOW) ARE SURVIVING ON OIL, THEN THINK AGAIN." That is the fattest lie i've heard in centuries my friend. If you say these oil monies were lavished thats a point but anything else is more like Nigeria doesn't depend on these oil monies. Do you know how much Nigeria makes out of these oil monies per year? You need statistical facts and analysis to begin with before giving comments, postings and drawing arguments my friend.

FORTUNE smiled on Nigeria this year as income from oil in the first 10 months (January to October) hit N7.6 trillion, some 210% of the N3.606 trillion projected to accrue from oil for the whole year. Non-oil sources of revenue were also billed to generate N923 billion.

Can you see the difference is Sub-Annual Revenues for oil monies? Its not even 12 months yet, compared to the combination from every other sector. Now redo your maths again and tell me i'm wrong about The North perishing with the monies & funds from the Niger-Delta oil production.

If you want to read more on this go to: http://allafrica.com/stories/200812220003.html.
Posted: at 4-01-2009 04:40 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- solomon10 at 4-01-2009 07:04 PM (15 years ago)
I am a niger Deltan, I want to tell you, you are very right, I want to say the northeren people up their cant survive in this Nigerian without this rich oil Niger Delta.
It's our oil that proud about.
[/b]
Quote from: Godsson on  9-08-2008 06:28 PM
Recently,the Governor of the 19 States in Northern Nigeria issued a statement via the Niger State Governor Dr. Babangida Alihu,saying they dont need Niger Delta OIL to survive.How true is this statement?Put more succinctly,can the North(as it is now)live without the Petro-dollar from the Niger Delta oil?Let's hget ur objective views on this?
Posted: at 4-01-2009 07:04 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- kayfun at 5-01-2009 11:10 AM (15 years ago)
The North can survive on its own without the Niger Delta. If the North could survive before the discovery of Crude Oil in Nigeria, i don't see reason why the north cannot survive. Though, the truth is that, the elites are to be blamed. They see oil windfall as the cheapest means to enrich them selves.

Even the so called South -South, what have they been doing with the Federal Allocation? If other state governors from South -west could make use of their own allocation to develop their states then what happened to the leaders of Niger Deltas?

For example. Niger Delta Youths are demanding for ransom from Oil companies, after been paid they use that money for themselves. the say they are fighting for the Niger Deltas. How much money have they spent on developing Niger Deltas from the Millions of Naira they demanded from kidnapping experts?
Posted: at 5-01-2009 11:10 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- kayfun at 5-01-2009 11:19 AM (15 years ago)
The North can survive on its own without the Niger Delta. If the North could survive before the discovery of Crude Oil in Nigeria, i don't see reason why the north cannot survive. Though, the truth is that, the elites are to be blamed. They see oil windfall as the cheapest means to enrich them selves.

Even the so called South -South, what have they been doing with the Federal Allocation? If other state governors from South -west could make use of their own allocation to develop their states then what happened to the leaders of Niger Deltas?

For example. Niger Delta Youths are demanding for ransom from Oil companies, after been paid they use that money for themselves. the say they are fighting for the Niger Deltas. How much money have they spent on developing Niger Deltas from the Millions of Naira they demanded from kidnapping experts?
Posted: at 5-01-2009 11:19 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- debel4real at 5-01-2009 12:32 PM (15 years ago)
Hmmm. My freind you've just utter ur opinion bt not reallity...
 Let me tell U one thing b/4 the inventing of Oil Sector in Niger/Delta region
it is the same North that provide funds for the construction of all the field (Oil Sector ),
by means of farming and cultivation. How can a land that provide all those things, someone to say that can not survive without oil... It is unbelievable
Mind U The son of the Lion learn from his Father !!!
Posted: at 5-01-2009 12:32 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- ogemowah at 5-01-2009 04:07 PM (15 years ago)
Most development in the north comes from the money goten from oil sales. Northeners should be careful when trying to show their ignorance to the world, nigerdelta should not be seen as people nagging but they should be appeased for all the injustices done to them in terms of national development. Northeners should bring to their memory how they selfishly rule Nigerians because of the money which comes from nigerdelta's oil in the name of peace honesty and transperacy in the last 36 -38 years.
Posted: at 5-01-2009 04:07 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- fritzreikosz at 5-01-2009 09:38 PM (15 years ago)
Tell them ooo, tell them abeg. I for hug you but you self na guy....lol.

Quote from: ogemowah on  5-01-2009 04:07 PM
Most development in the north comes from the money goten from oil sales. Northeners should be careful when trying to show their ignorance to the world, nigerdelta should not be seen as people nagging but they should be appeased for all the injustices done to them in terms of national development. Northeners should bring to their memory how they selfishly rule Nigerians because of the money which comes from nigerdelta's oil in the name of peace honesty and transperacy in the last 36 -38 years.
Posted: at 5-01-2009 09:38 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- dadiyata at 7-01-2009 06:11 PM (15 years ago)
Hi guyz,
the north can definitely survive without the much pampered oil revenue. Let me take you back a little to the colonial time before the oil exploration, the administrative governance of the entire country was financed with revenue accrued from Tin, Grondnut, Cotton etc. why will someone think that without the oil money the north can never see light of the day?
its so painful that ruling class of the south have brainwashed thier people with the belief tha all thier misfortunes is caused by the north. my brothers you better shine your eyes! you have been fooled for a longtime without you realizing. cheers to all
Posted: at 7-01-2009 06:11 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- IKYUSUF at 7-01-2009 06:42 PM (15 years ago)
 HI, iam quite sure that Northern NIgeria will contivive without Niger delta oil becausse of so many reasons:
 1 Before the discovery of oil Nigerians are surviving using farming activities
 2 As we know so many developed countries donot depend on crude oil there Northern Nigeria will survive without Niger delta oil
Posted: at 7-01-2009 06:42 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Ibrahim73 at 8-01-2009 03:02 PM (15 years ago)
Definately Nothern Nigeria will be better up without Niger-Delta oil. If not, how did it survived before the discovery of oil before?
Posted: at 8-01-2009 03:02 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- hardonsky at 11-01-2009 03:24 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: lsfibi on  8-01-2009 08:10 AM
Lets face the truth.Nigerian's unity is dependent on the oil in the niger delta. North can never survive without the oil in the niger delta,just look at what is happeninig now,the price of oil has gone down drastically and everyone is crying and asking questions on how we are going to survive.

have u ever tried to buy goats or cattle in the west or south? who did you buy theses stuffs from?have you also tried to buy electronics or building materials in the north ?, my uncle is from the east but he is a multi billionaire in kano. personally i would not give up the beaches of lagos for any unrealistic regionalism fool.
the convenience of  nigeria's unity does not derive basically or solely from oil. oil, coupled with unfortunate leadership  fanfare in mega corruption just makes the unity passionately inflamable and highly politicised. without oil we would be laid back and easy going politically as Ghana for instance.

Posted: at 11-01-2009 03:24 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 24-01-2009 10:06 PM (15 years ago)
Hardonsky: If I may ask,what is the percentage contribution of the goats & ur uncle's electronics to the Foreign Exchange earnings of Nigeria?How many percent do the two contribute to the GNP & GNP of Nigeria?Close to nothing it the answer.Oil contributes over 90% of all the funds used to run all facets of government in this country.Thus,politics in Nigeria is basically the struggle by man & woman to control Oil revenue.Make no mistake about that.Oil is the ONLY reason why Nigeria is still together.If this Oil were to be in the North,Northerners would ve seceded from this country.How do I know this?Before Oil was discovered in commercial quantity in Oloibiri Bayelsa State in 1956,at the slightest provocation,Northern Politicians talk about secession.Even before the Civil war they did same.Their objective at the Aburi convention in Ghana was to break out & allow the south to be on their own.It was the British that advised them against that.Telling them that the future of the country(OIL) was in the South(the part that Biafra wants.That's how they start preaching this ONE NIGERIA sermon during the civil war.

Please U folks should read ur history and apply common sense.What else is the raison d' etat for political contest in this country.It's all about OIL.Period!Why else are recent Presidents reluctant to appoint Petroleum Ministers?

OIL is not a problem to this country.The problem is the absence of leadership.Thus,the resource is being mismanaged.
Posted: at 24-01-2009 10:06 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- kunzles at 10-02-2009 07:22 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: dadiyata on  7-01-2009 06:11 PM
Hi guyz,
the north can definitely survive without the much pampered oil revenue. Let me take you back a little to the colonial time before the oil exploration, the administrative governance of the entire country was financed with revenue accrued from Tin, Grondnut, Cotton etc. why will someone think that without the oil money the north can never see light of the day?
its so painful that ruling class of the south have brainwashed thier people with the belief tha all thier misfortunes is caused by the north. my brothers you better shine your eyes! you have been fooled for a longtime without you realizing. cheers to all

son, do you know what u are talking about? its apparent you don't......ask around for the dynamism o tha world economy today and tell me tha relevance of the of yesteryear's management of Nigerian economy to Nigerian economy of today....if you don't k know better ask around and if you are honest to yourself u will know the part of Nigeria that is brainwatched to do everything their "elite" leaders say.....north can survive i agree but no bullshitting...we all know whats going on
Posted: at 10-02-2009 07:22 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 11-02-2009 03:53 AM (15 years ago)
MAYBE
Posted: at 11-02-2009 03:53 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
1 ... 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9