Can the north survive without the Niger-Delta oil? (Page 5)

Date: 09-08-2008 6:28 pm (15 years ago) | Author: FORTUNE A
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9
- sa-fire at 24-10-2008 12:55 PM (15 years ago)
i cant help but laugh. do you really have to ask? we all know they cant survive without the oil money. they rule the country ,they steal the countries money which accidentally happens to come from oil. please i don't think the question should be asked.

Posted: at 24-10-2008 12:55 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Godsson at 30-10-2008 03:46 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: sa-fire on 24-10-2008 12:55 PM
i cant help but laugh. do you really have to ask? we all know they cant survive without the oil money. they rule the country ,they steal the countries money which accidentally happens to come from oil. please i don't think the question should be asked.

They question was predicated on the Statements of the Chairman of Northern Governors Forum at the time,Dr.Babangida Alihu.If U read my opening question,U'll see all these.
Cheers!
Posted: at 30-10-2008 03:46 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 30-10-2008 04:36 AM (15 years ago)
what north?
Posted: at 30-10-2008 04:36 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- at 31-10-2008 12:00 PM (15 years ago)
well i ll do some research and come back...brb
Posted: at 31-10-2008 12:00 PM (15 years ago) |
- bmawwal at 7-11-2008 08:25 PM (15 years ago)
At the present state the notherners cannot do without the revenue from oil. But if they are to go back to agriculture which i can say is their area of specialty, believe me the reverse will be the case.
Posted: at 7-11-2008 08:25 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- methodman at 11-11-2008 09:38 PM (15 years ago)
...Oil is spinning the money,agreed.  But both the north & south are at the extreme of poverty.

something is really wrong somewhere...

The elites are misleading/misguiding everyone.

north,south,east or west...we are all one...our problem is the unfortunate elites we have.

God will help us when his patience is exhausted.
Posted: at 11-11-2008 09:38 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- louisville at 12-11-2008 10:49 AM (15 years ago)
Of course the North could survive with the the Niger Delta. After all the Republic of Niger which is more North than the Northern Nigeria have survived these yrs without even river Benue Delta, not to talk of the Niger Delta. lol
Posted: at 12-11-2008 10:49 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 13-11-2008 10:45 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: louisville on 12-11-2008 10:49 AM
Of course the North could survive with the the Niger Delta. After all the Republic of Niger which is more North than the Northern Nigeria have survived these yrs without even river Benue Delta, not to talk of the Niger Delta. lol

I love this joke.But I guess,the reality is far from this.
Posted: at 13-11-2008 10:45 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 23-11-2008 01:55 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: methodman on 11-11-2008 09:38 PM
...Oil is spinning the money,agreed.  But both the north & south are at the extreme of poverty.

something is really wrong somewhere...

The elites are misleading/misguiding everyone.

north,south,east or west...we are all one...our problem is the unfortunate elites we have.

God will help us when his patience is exhausted.
I concur.Something is really wrong somewhere.The lacuna is effective leadership.
Posted: at 23-11-2008 01:55 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- skiima at 23-11-2008 02:08 PM (15 years ago)
definately yes!
Posted: at 23-11-2008 02:08 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 5-12-2008 11:37 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Bankus on  3-09-2008 12:56 PM
There is no gainsaying that a part of the country (Nigeria) cannot suvive without the Niger  Delta oil.  We should endeavour to jettison our over dependent on oil.  I believe since the time we discover this oil, it has brought nothing but woes to each and everyone of us in this country.  Oil discovery has brought vices that were not known.  It brought 419, Corruption, Hire Killers into our polity and this has gone a long way to blacklisted this country all over the world.  Our national assemblies are daily at each others throat just because the ill gotten wealth they are stacking away for their unknown grandchildren.  They have even started budgeting jumbo pay packets for themselves and no one is even thinking of going back to the land.  Other parts of the country have their resources which they can depend on and this will definitely boost their economy without necessarily depending on the other.   It is only the ignorant that will basking in the foolery that we cannot do without the oil in Niger Delta.  Let the Niger Delta take their oil and see whether the country will collapse or not.  Agriculture has been our main foreign exchange earner during the time of the Awolowos, Azikiwes, Ahmadu Bellow etc.  The North could go back (which they have started anyway) to the days of groundnut pyramids and boost their economy.  The West should also go back to the  Cocoa era.  When this is done, we shall see whether the Niger Delta Oils will be used in cooking our delicious African dishes that we know of.  Americans and other nations are planning to stop their depending on oil and looking for other ways so why can't we do the same.

I concur to a large extent.However,I'd like to once again state that the Oil is not the problem.It is the management of it that is the cause of our many problems.So anytime we call oil a woe,we make a grieve mistake.It was & still a blessing.The only curse we ve in this country is the absence of leadership & the willingness of the people to be slaves.
Posted: at 5-12-2008 11:37 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- ejintendo at 7-12-2008 08:53 PM (15 years ago)
The north can survive without Nigerdelta oil but cannot do without the oil. Let us not be sentimental, we all know that what is keeping the nigeria Economic moving today is from oil in the Niger delta. For the past 35yrs now the rapid development in the north is from the profit made from Niger delta oil. The money groundnut, yam etc will bring to Nigeria in a year will take just less than a week to get from drilling of oil in the niger delta. There is a big difference between oil worker & civil servant. What an oil worker will achieve in 10yrs will take a civil servant to archieve in 30 to 40yrs or more if there is no inflation. The north need the oil from Niger delta for rapid growth & to archieve more in a lesser time. Nigeria budget today is not being run from groundnut,yam etc but funds got from niger delta oil. If Nigeria as a country cannot do without Niger Delta oil how much more the north.You know what i mean, they can survive but cannot do without the niger delta oil.   
Posted: at 7-12-2008 08:53 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- ejintendo at 7-12-2008 09:06 PM (15 years ago)
The north can survive without Nigerdelta oil but cannot do without the oil. Let us not be sentimental, we all know that what is keeping the nigeria Economic moving today is from oil in the Niger delta. For the past 35yrs now the rapid development in the north is from the profit made from Niger delta oil. The money farm produce like groundnut, yam etc will bring to Nigeria in a year will take just less than a week to get from drilling of oil in the niger delta. There is a big difference between oil worker & civil servant. What an oil worker will archieve in 10yrs will take a civil servant to archieve in 30 to 40yrs or more. The north need the oil from Niger delta for rapid growth & to archieve more in a lesser time. Nigeria budget today is not being run from groundnut,yam etc but funds got from niger delta oil. If Nigeria as a country cannot do without Niger Delta oil how much more the north.You know what i mean, they can survive but cannot do without the niger delta oil. Cheers   
Posted: at 7-12-2008 09:06 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- makanzy at 8-12-2008 05:36 AM (15 years ago)
If the North can survive without N/D, why are they the only region holding on to this one Nigeria idea that is not working. of course they will survive with farming, if all they want is food, but if we are talking about being industrialised then forget about it

Godsson u r the man
Posted: at 8-12-2008 05:36 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- muntys at 9-12-2008 08:17 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on  4-09-2008 01:35 AM
KHADIJAH Nagode!Antashi Lafia?

I cant help but be long.I've to explain these things for all to understand.These are inconvenient TRUTHS that ALL MUST face.Whether we like it or Mutanem Arewa are parasites in the Nigerian project.That's why Northerners reject any form of change.We are operating a faulty Federal System.
People now said,LET US PRACTICE TRUE FEDERALISM.
My AREWA Brothers: say "NO!".

Others:LET US VE A SOVEREIGN NATIONAL CONFERENCE to discussion & revolve the internal
contradictions in the Nigerian State.

G0dsson - You started your first article by giving an impression of putting ''sentiments'' aside but as you hit your keyboard you begin to digress.  As you so much agree on alot of issues raised by shamsuddeen who has made very good, intelligent and key points even though you disagree on some which i feel should be attributed to human nature of not beign perfect in analysing any issue.  I have taken time to analyse most of your views and u made good points for the fact that you know the north very well but you did not strike me well in your perception on another region not doing without the other.

I strongly believe we could all do without each other provided we find a situation of doin so. All we we need as different entity is the will power and determination to achieve good lively hood for our children and great grand children.  Is a matter of going back to the drawing board to tackle situation at hand.  Oil or agriculture are key tools among many in generating revenue for a nation but that is really not enough as alot has to be done even where this resources are available to achieve greatness.  Meanwhile what is reqlly required in nigeria at this particular time is not about one region depending on the other but getting the right leardership to take us to the promise land, we both need each other in my opinion, lets have the correct leardership that can tap in to all the resources from both regions to uses for the betterment of the nation, lets get this greedy people who does not have any ethnic lineage out of leadership (because all the stealing, curruption the country witnessed are connivance of individuals from all parts.  To say the north need niger delta to survive at this particular moment is an understatement, but believe me or not the north has alot to offer the country if the right leadership is secured.  Dont forget that the globe is currently tilting to a different direction in terms of energy as the world largest consumers of oil are working day and night to reduce dependence on oil by creating alternative energy sources.  Who knwo what will happen in the next 10-20 years, lets stop this dependence on oil revenue and look at all options of surviving as a nation in tune with world realities.

May God help our children because for me and you we may not leave to see Naija become a strong economy going by modern lifespan.  Lets face realities and start to fine tune our attitude and strategies and lets look beyond ethnic lines as this is the most myopic of all thinking in this century.  Finally i think if i were to moderate this topic i would have make ""CNA NIGERIA SURVIVE WITHOUT OIL - LOOKING AT THE US OBJECTIVE OF ACHIEVING ENERGY INDEPENCE/ALTERNATIVE ENERGY in the coming years.

AREWA:NO!

OTHER:LET US VE ELECTRONIC VOTING SYSTEM

OTHERS:LET US USE SATE LITE TECHNOLOGY TO SOLVE OUR CENSUS PROBLEM ONCE & 4 ALL.

When ll these same rulers who gathered at KD to run their mouth that the North can live without oil say YES?

I guess when the Oil dries up.
Posted: at 9-12-2008 08:17 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- yibrahim1 at 10-12-2008 01:54 PM (15 years ago)
I totally disagreed with school of thouht which says that northerners cannot live without oil wealth because before the oil the economy ways based on cocoa from the southwest, groudnut from the north and palm from the east. I will like to bring to our notice that oil has been discovered in more than 4 states of the north but is not made public yet, in the area of industrialisation what you are seeing today that you call companies are not in line with our religious life, we the northern elite are working on modalities that will be different and worthy of emulation that will beat all the existing structures they are bosting of, the nearest future.
Posted: at 10-12-2008 01:54 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- makanzy at 11-12-2008 01:40 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: yibrahim1 on 10-12-2008 01:54 PM
I totally disagreed with school of thouht which says that northerners cannot live without oil wealth because before the oil the economy ways based on cocoa from the southwest, groudnut from the north and palm from the east. I will like to bring to our notice that oil has been discovered in more than 4 states of the north but is not made public yet, in the area of industrialisation what you are seeing today that you call companies are not in line with our religious life, we the northern elite are working on modalities that will be different and worthy of emulation that will beat all the existing structures they are bosting of, the nearest future.

Yibrahim
so how long will these modalities take,
Posted: at 11-12-2008 01:40 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- kunzles at 12-12-2008 04:15 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: khadijah on 30-08-2008 08:05 PM
hmmm....in case u never knew notherners are the best and most successful husslers.

I disagree with that....lived in the north for 3 years and the feeling i had was that they had it made and need no hussling...if u realy want to know the husslers...calculate and compare those living/hussling abroad after best education and doing dirtiest/nastiest jobs to survive.....i cant of felt that the rich in the north stays up and the poor/TALAKAWANI remains that way..some if even believe its Alahs wish for them to be poor or otherwise...u might want to expanciate on what u mean as husslers...kunzles
Posted: at 12-12-2008 04:15 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- kunzles at 12-12-2008 04:17 PM (15 years ago)
hey man. dont beleive in the hype that oil was discovered in the north but not made public...thats a political bullcrap....fact remains that north actually can survive without oil if they want to.
Posted: at 12-12-2008 04:17 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- kunzles at 12-12-2008 04:21 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: kakis64 on 24-10-2008 10:35 AM
The North will surely evolve or explore other survival tactics to live. So also were the oil to dry in the Niger-Delta, they can exist without oil.

Most honorable/encouraging comment...hope some political gymnastics in 9jaria will use this....
Posted: at 12-12-2008 04:21 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9