Muammar Gaddafi blames the British for Nigeria's problems and suggest Division.

Date: 16-03-2010 3:19 pm (14 years ago) | Author: ............
[1] 2 3 4 ... 11
- at 16-03-2010 03:19 PM (14 years ago)
Nigeria should be divided into two nations to avoid further bloodshed between Muslims and Christians, Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi has said.
In a speech to students, he praised the example of India and Pakistan, where he said partition saved many lives.
Splitting Nigeria "would stop the bloodshed and burning of places of worship," state news agency Jana quoted him as saying.
A senior Nigerian diplomat said he did not take the suggestion seriously.
Hundreds of people have died in communal violence in villages around the central Nigerian city of Jos this year.
'Historic, radical solution'
Although the violence generally takes place between Muslim and Christian communities, the underlying causes are a complex mix of political, social and economic grievances.
Nigeria is roughly split between its largely Muslim north, and a Christian-dominated south.
Mr Gaddafi, until recently head of the African Union, characterised the Jos violence as a "deep conflict of religious nature" caused by the federal state, "which was made and imposed by the British in spite of the people's resistance to it".
He described the partition of India as a "historic, radical solution" which saved the lives of "millions of Hindus and Muslims".
Splitting India in 1947 caused a breakdown of law and order in which at least 200,000 people died. Some estimates say one million people were killed.
About 12 million people were left homeless and thousands were raped.
An attempt by the Igbo people of south-eastern Nigeria to secede in 1967 sparked a war which left more than one million people dead.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/8570350.stm

Posted: at 16-03-2010 03:19 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- megafather1 at 16-03-2010 03:32 PM (14 years ago)
let him come and divide us na, we want peace in nigeria not division.
Posted: at 16-03-2010 03:32 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mba5 at 16-03-2010 03:36 PM (14 years ago)
Gaddafi though is a radical but he made a good point here calling for division.In my opinion it will be so difficult for the Christians and Muslims in Nigeria to accept ,trust and tolerate each other.The hatred is always there.Nigerian division will surely bring peace for every one.
Posted: at 16-03-2010 03:36 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- spekay at 16-03-2010 03:50 PM (14 years ago)
Gaddaffi solution wont work
there are xtians up north and muslims down south in a rich mix

Posted: at 16-03-2010 03:50 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mba5 at 16-03-2010 03:59 PM (14 years ago)
@Spekay,you see division doesn't mean non migration between Northern Muslims to the territory of Southern Christians and vice versa.The issue there is should in case division takes place,it would be easy for a Southern Christian traveling to the Northern Muslim territory to have it at the back of his mind that he /she has moved to a Nation where there is Sharia law and is bound to keep to the law that governs the people of the nation and the same applies to the other way round.
As you may bear with me this will bring much respect on each other and even tolerance than what the country is suffering constantly.
Posted: at 16-03-2010 03:59 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- enc4life at 16-03-2010 06:38 PM (14 years ago)
dis man don depost 9jan pple commot for him country finish,which one e come dey advice us again abi wetin concern am wit our inner problems Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 16-03-2010 06:38 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mazi at 16-03-2010 10:55 PM (14 years ago)
food for thought....!!!
Posted: at 16-03-2010 10:55 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- megafather1 at 17-03-2010 12:32 AM (14 years ago)
Posted: at 17-03-2010 12:32 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- spekay at 17-03-2010 01:11 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Mba5 on 16-03-2010 03:59 PM
@Spekay,you see division doesn't mean non migration between Northern Muslims to the territory of Southern Christians and vice versa.The issue there is should in case division takes place,it would be easy for a Southern Christian traveling to the Northern Muslim territory to have it at the back of his mind that he /she has moved to a Nation where there is Sharia law and is bound to keep to the law that governs the people of the nation and the same applies to the other way round.
As you may bear with me this will bring much respect on each other and even tolerance than what the country is suffering constantly.

Where does North start from where does it end ?   Are all the so called northern states towing the Sharia path?  Is every christian up north bound by Sharia law ?
If your suggestion is practicable might be an agreeable solution to the problem of religious intolerance

Posted: at 17-03-2010 01:11 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Annizzle at 17-03-2010 02:23 AM (14 years ago)
thats the only solution to our problem..
Posted: at 17-03-2010 02:23 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bazemaster at 17-03-2010 02:30 AM (14 years ago)
It makes sense - 'divided we stand'

Posted: at 17-03-2010 02:30 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- spekay at 17-03-2010 02:36 AM (14 years ago)
why not unity in division ?

Posted: at 17-03-2010 02:36 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Tuks at 17-03-2010 03:25 AM (14 years ago)
I think,its better,we remain one.....
Posted: at 17-03-2010 03:25 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- spekay at 17-03-2010 04:10 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Tuks on 17-03-2010 03:25 AM

then UNITY IN DIVERSITY
This is my view too .   we need to be patient to get there .   lots of sacrifice involved . 

Posted: at 17-03-2010 04:10 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mba5 at 17-03-2010 08:40 AM (14 years ago)
@Spekay,You see I personally love togetherness meaning unity,but as you and every other normal individual can notice that Nigeria as a whole is full of different people far to be called same people and hatred,intolerance and mistrust against one tribe to the other is what you observe within.That is why the whole nation remains stagnant,any thing goes and no one is accounted for because the people are not the same and can not stand with one word.The capacity of being a one nation Nigeria is too far bogus to our control.I am not a tribalist and not even interested in the resources rather the view of fact remains.Pls bear with me the magnitude of atrocities and killing each time any violent takes place would not take much life and damages if the people are separated.There is no way a fellow Muslim will wake up and begin to kill his fellow Northern Muslim for any reason be it likewise the Southern Christians wouldn't involve in such crime.Have you ever witnessed this modern days where a Cameroonian killing a Ghanaian for any reason so far or Nigerian killing any of their neighboring country men the ans is no but it is very obvious to see a Northerner ready to wipe the whole tribe from the South-East vice versa just in the name of religion and tribal dispute.Bear with me the British colonial masters cultivated this havocs intentionally because they were not ready to leave Nigeria in peace.How I wish this so called crude oil and gold are located to every corner of the nation so that division will be justified and balanced to avoid rebellious,brutal killing of the mases.Personally I do associate with friends or business partners of different religion like Muslims,whenever I have a Muslim visitor(s) I do prepare a special place for them to have their prayers and ask every one not to near that area with shoes or slippers on,that is hospitality,tolerant and respect to my understanding,the same way a Muslim colleague some times do accompany me to worship even together in a near by church while I was by him on visit, but I have never imagined if all this could hold so long if we (Christian/Muslim) are residing permanently with each other in the same resident.In such cases things may be different,hope you understand what I mean.
Posted: at 17-03-2010 08:40 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bazemaster at 17-03-2010 08:59 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Tuks on 17-03-2010 03:25 AM

better with all this killings? It is not better with many reasons...

Posted: at 17-03-2010 08:59 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bazemaster at 17-03-2010 09:00 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: spekay on 17-03-2010 02:36 AM
why not unity in division ?

anything...

Posted: at 17-03-2010 09:00 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- teeco at 17-03-2010 09:12 AM (14 years ago)
yes

Posted: at 17-03-2010 09:12 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chimzi at 17-03-2010 09:45 AM (14 years ago)
i think gaddafi is very very correct,i dont realy see any form of unity in the so called diversity.divided we stand united we fall.
Posted: at 17-03-2010 09:45 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- rasky47 at 17-03-2010 10:00 AM (14 years ago)
What i think we lack lack is tolerance and perseverance, if we could work on this, there won't be problems like this anymore. Division is not the solution to the problem. But if we can cope, i think we will have to concur to what gaddafi has said.   
Posted: at 17-03-2010 10:00 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 11

1. VIDEO of a Foreign Construction Worker Playing With Most Wanted Bandits at Work Site in Zamfara

2. Regina Daniels Reacts as Co-Wife, Laila Charani Posts Romantic Video with Husband Ned Nwoko

3. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

4. Family Seeks to Raise $70k To Bring Home Nigerian Bodybuilder Shot Dead By Wife in US

5. Meet Uzoma Odimara, aka ‘Area Scatter’ Nigeria’s First Publicly-Known Crossdresser

6. Victor Boniface Shares Inspiring Photo After Winning First Title With Bayer Leverkusen

7. Kwara Police Arrest 46 Suspects After Cult Clash

8. VIDEO: Late Sylverter Oromoni’s Father Blows Hot As He Rejects Coroner Judgment

9. PDP NEC Meeting: Tensions Rise Within Wike’s Camp As Gov. Makinde Dumps G-5 Governors

10. Omokri Hails Dunamis Pastor, Eneche For Apologizing To Woman, Vera Anyim Accused Of Giving Fake

11. OAP, Moet Abebe Shares Receipt Of Her Outing, Insist Men Should Spend N7M Or More In Club

12. Ex US Pres, Donald Trump Risks 4yrs Jail Term as he Appears in Court to Face Criminal Trials

13. Daniel Regha Defends Singer, Davido Over His Recent Viral Video

14. VID: VeryDarkMan Accuses Reno Omokri Of Allegedly Suppressing Brother’s Rαpe Case

15. 22Yr Old Man, Francis Okoye Arrested Over Unlawful Possession Of Fire Arm

16. Junior Pope: Yul Edochie's Estranged Wife, May Mourns Victims Of Boat Mishap

17. VID: BBN Star, Phyna Reacts To Colleague, DeeOne’s Offer To Her Father At An Event

18. "Stop Linking Actor, Junior Pope’s Death To Marine Kingdom" - Prophet Fufeyin Warms

19. Forgery: EFCC Arraigns Father-In-Law Alaba Alakija, Daughter-In-Law Oyinkansola In Lagos

20. UPDATE: President Tinubu Declares April 7 As National Police Day

1. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

2. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Nigerian Gov.t Nears Extradition Of Binance Executive Involved In $35.4M Money Laundering

6. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

7. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

8. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

9. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

10. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks