What Extent Does A Married Woman Need to Respect Her In-laws? - Read What Happened To This Lady

Date: 24-11-2019 3:03 pm (4 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 24-11-2019 03:03 PM (4 years ago)

A lady Married to a Yoruba man was summoned for a family by her in-laws only to be cautioned to start adding “aunty/ brother prefixes while addressing her husband’s younger siblings, who are even way younger than her. This happened recently and shared by the lady's friend.

Read the gist below:

Yoruba people do the most. Someone I know was called for meeting by her inlaws yesterday and told she needs to stop calling her husband’s younger ones by their names as per start putting brother and Aunty prefixes to their names. I am actually beyond pissed off. In 2019 o.

I think the most annoying thing was how she said they told her that everybody in the family isn’t happy with her because of that. That she is a great person o but that’s the only issue they have with her and that everyone has actually been discussing it and I am like WTF! EYWRN?

Yoruba people do the most. Someone I know was called for meeting by her inlaws yesterday and told she needs to stop calling her husband's younger ones by their names as per start putting brother and Aunty prefixes to their names. I am actually beyond pissed off. In 2019 o.

— Toyin Fab (@toyinfab) November 24, 2019

Here are some of the reactions so far:

Her own family would have done the same if she’d been the Man.. Let us forget about being in 2019 or 2020 this is our culture. Moreover it is not compulsory sef to use Bro or Sis for them she can also gave them nick names if she can’t call them bro and sis

*** A big cultural issue with the Yoruba’s especially if married into a big family steeped in the culture. What I will say is “Wisdom is profitable to direct”. Pick your battles.

*** Buhahahahah! Awwww shes like me, trying to please and be nice…nasty people will always be nasty people.i pray her husband has her ears and not theirs then it will be easy…ignore all of them pa! Anyone involved in the drama blocked, next family party eat well at home bfr goin

The question now is, adding the prefixes does it really define respect? or show how respectful the wife is to them? Lets talk

Posted: at 24-11-2019 03:03 PM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- olowoinlionsden at 24-11-2019 03:45 PM (4 years ago)
Piece of cake. Hasn't  the Adage made it clear: When in Rome, do as the Romans. The new wife couldn't have just known the family of her husband. If the siblings are reasonable individuals, the stance of the husband will dictate to them how far they can go. Atanyrate, let the husband get his own accommodation, and his parents will get the message.
Posted: at 24-11-2019 03:45 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Baye77 at 25-11-2019 06:07 AM (4 years ago)
Hian
Posted: at 25-11-2019 06:07 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- awolereeeee at 25-11-2019 07:08 AM (4 years ago)
Hello everyone adetifa a native doctor from ile Ife we  cure but God heal come for any challenges that is bothering you come and there will be a solution neither spiritual problem or physically problems you can contact me on this number07063446317 than u.
Posted: at 25-11-2019 07:08 AM (4 years ago) | Newbie
- scottchris at 25-11-2019 11:40 AM (4 years ago)
100%

Posted: at 25-11-2019 11:40 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac