Return All Our Stolen Artifacts , Lai Mohammed Warns Foreign Nations

Date: 29-11-2019 8:32 am (4 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 29-11-2019 08:32 AM (4 years ago)

The Minister of Information, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, has on Thursday warned nations across the world to return all the looted artifacts belonging to Nigeria or prepare for legal battle.
Mohammed said that Federal Government would use all “legal and diplomatic instruments” to demand the return of Nigeria’s stolen artifacts and cultural materials worldwide.

Disclosing this on Thursday in Lagos, Mr. Lai listed how important the stolen artifacts are to Nigerians. He frowned at those who smuggled Nigeria’s artifacts out of the country for pecuniary reasons, noting that they simply encouraged the impoverishment of the country’s heritage.
His words, “We have never laid claim to the Mona Lisa or a Rembrandt. Those who looted our heritage resources, especially during the 19th-century wars, or those who smuggled them out of the country for pecuniary reasons, have simply encouraged the impoverishment of our heritage and stealing of our past.

”We cannot imagine by what logic an Ife Bronze or a Benin Bronze or a Nok Terracotta can belong to any other part of the globe except to the people of Nigeria, whose ancestors made them. We are on a quest to retrieve the Ife Bronze Head, which was one of the items stolen in 1987 when one of our national museums was broken into.
“We have now started work on the return of the Ife Bronze head to Nigeria,” The minister revealed.

“Some cynics might wonder: What is in an Ife bronze head or a Nok Terracotta that we will be launching a campaign to return or restitute them? Our answer is simple:

“These timeless and priceless pieces of work are an important part of our past, our history, our heritage resource, and allowing them to sit in the museums of other nations robs us of our history. Also, those who proudly display what they did not produce are daily reaping financial gains from them, while those whose ancestors made them are not.
”We call on every museum and person holding on to our heritage resources anywhere in the world to initiate dialogue with us on the basis of the conditions we have enumerated today.

“We urge them to identify what is in their collections, transparently make them public, approach us for discussion on terms of return and restitution, as well as circulation and loans. They must acknowledge that ownership resides in us.”

Posted: at 29-11-2019 08:32 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- scottchris at 29-11-2019 10:21 AM (4 years ago)
Na now u dey talk

Posted: at 29-11-2019 10:21 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FloxyB at 29-11-2019 03:44 PM (4 years ago)
That bronze head is of Queen Idia of Benin not Ife o.
Posted: at 29-11-2019 03:44 PM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- Skipperufu at 29-11-2019 06:24 PM (4 years ago)
Shut up your gutter mouth! you liar!!!
Posted: at 29-11-2019 06:24 PM (4 years ago) | Newbie

1. VIDEO: AY Makun Shares Video Of Renovated Mansion Months After Fire Accident

2. Time To Tell The World - Primeboy Files Petition Against Mohbad's Widow, Wunmi Over Allegations

3. Gospel Artist, Chinyere Udoma Mourns Loss as Fire Destroys Lagos Music Studio (Video)

4. American Rapper, 50 Cent Faces Rap3 Accusations By Ex-girlfriend, Daphne Joy

5. Peter Obi Meets Labour Party's Edo State Governorship Candidate, Olumide Akpata (Photos)

6. Veteran Actor, Zack Orji Heads To UK For Post-Surgery Evaluation (Photos)

7. “You No Go Pay”: Drama As Old Video Of Basketmouth Begging Wizkid For Free Promo Surfaces Onlin

8. 'It Was All A Stunt' -Eniola Ajao Pleads Again, Begs Nigerians To Watch Her N200m Movie

9. "I’ve Not Touched My N120M" - Ilebaye Odiniya Debunks Financial Struggles Rumors On Snapchat

10. After Spending Two Years In Prison, Court Acquits 23-year-old Accused Of R*ping Girlfriend

11. Former BBNaija Contestant, Deji Morafa Attains Pharmaceutical License In The U.S.

12. Movie Star, Funke Akindele & Her Twin Kids In Dubai On Short Vacation

13. Oxlade Raises Concerns About Treatment In Nigerian Music Industry

14. Saudi Arabia Set To Make Debut In Miss Universe Pageant; To Be Represented By Rumy Alqahtani

15. Pregnant Woman, Mmesoma Odili Loses Baby During Detention Over Land Dispute In Anambra

16. 'You’re The Prettiest Woman In The World' - BBNaija's Angel Celebrates Mom On Her Birthday

17. Kano Police Apprehend 22 Suspected Hoodlums, Declare 30 Others Wanted (Photos)

18. Armed Robber Rap3s 20-yr-old Jigawa Housewife In Hubby's Presence After Stealing Bags Of Pepper

19. Police Hand Over Wanted Delta Monarch Ogenerukeywe To Military

20. Binance Faces $35.4 Million Money Laundering Charges: International Manhunt For Executives

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

6. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

7. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

8. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)

9. VID: 44yr Old Senegalese President-Elect Melts Hearts As He Flaunts His 2wives

10. Davido's Daughter, Imade Is Now An Epitome Of Beauty, Netizens React To New Posts About Her