Nigeria to unveil World’s largest cake (Page 2)

Date: 02-08-2010 4:15 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 9
- XxSkyGurlXx at 2-08-2010 09:52 PM (13 years ago)
huh?? cakes re cake na!!

Posted: at 2-08-2010 09:52 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- eyevee at 2-08-2010 09:59 PM (13 years ago)
Nigeria to unveil worlds largest number of its citizens who have never tasted a cake in their entire lives becos they are 2 POOR!!!
Posted: at 2-08-2010 09:59 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- pp1973pp at 2-08-2010 10:14 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: popo2009 on  2-08-2010 06:46 PM
hahaha Nigerian Govt thinks
All Nigerians are fools, maybe the cost of baking this cake
will be enough to repair all the dilapidated Federal Roads in the country.
who knows!!!
[/b][/color]
Posted: at 2-08-2010 10:14 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- pp1973pp at 2-08-2010 10:15 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on  2-08-2010 04:15 PM
Nigeria is expected to make history on October 1, when its caterers build and unveil the world’s largest cake. The 65,000kg cake, will be unveiled at the National Stadium, Abuja, is expected to beat the current Guinness World Records.

By midnight, October 1, a select group of Nigerian caterers and bakers will begin work on a 65ton cake. By noon, the fruit cake, decorated in green and white colours will be unveiled by President Goodluck Jonathan. Mr. Jonathan will cut the 6ft high cake and Nigerians will have the opportunity to have a share of the ‘national cake’ literally.

The cake, which will be 100ft long and 6ft high, will require the services of at least 2000 persons, and is expected to beat the records of the current world’s largest cake, a 58ton cake which was baked in 1989.

One meal one nation

The organiser of the World’s largest cake project, Victor Oluwafemi, says he has tagged the project, ‘one meal one nation’, in line with the philosophy behind the project.

“The project is a private endeavour which myself and my team thought of. We wanted to do something significant for the 50th anniversary project. We wanted something that would give every Nigerian an opportunity to partake in the celebrations. We knew that the average Nigerian would not have the opportunity to eat the cake that will be presented in the villa,” Mr. Oluwafemi said to NEXT in Abuja.

Mr. Oluwafemi’s team of three spoke enthusiastically of the measures that they are taking to ensure that the cake gets to as many Nigerians as possible. First, every state in the country will receive one ton of the cake and the small team also expects that every tribe in the country will be represented in the Abuja Stadium on October 1, and will have the opportunity to have a bite of the cake.

“This project is supposed to turn the national cake that we always talk about to reality. It will give Nigerians an actual cake to feed on,” Paul Sambo, the team’s head of Strategic business said.

Likening the project to the national pride that comes from winning a football match, the team says that the project was designed to boost the emotions of Nigerians despite the current national challenges.

“This project does not gainsay the fact that the nation has problems up till today. But we need inspiration in order to move forward as a nation. This project was designed with a leadership bias, a leader inspires his people no matter what and that is what we hope to do,” Joseph Yakwo, the third member and the operations officer of the project said.

Making the records book

If the team’s cake must to enter the Guinness World Records, Mr. Oluwafemi and his team will have to start and finish the cake within 24 hours; the team plans to do so in 8.

“We are going to bake the cake in about 8 hours. The cake is going to be baked, cooled and iced on the same day,” Mr. Yakwo said.

The team says that it has been in touch with the officials of the Guinness World Records and that a Guinness adjudicator will arrive from New York to inspect the project from start to finish.

hahaha Nigerian Govt thinks
All Nigerians are fools, maybe the cost of baking this cake
will be enough to repair all the dilapidated Federal Roads in the country.
who knows!!!
Posted: at 2-08-2010 10:15 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kenenaibe at 2-08-2010 10:26 PM (13 years ago)
OH YOU THINK SAY NA TO PUT NYSC SHIRT FOR YOUR BODY NA YOU WANT TAKE BITE FOR THE CAKE? NA WA FOR YOU OBOY
Quote from: cadanre on  2-08-2010 07:43 PM
In nigerian nature, only those close to the cake can have a bite. All the spectators would starve to death. That is Nigeria for you.

Oh! Let me ask. Is it the so-called national cake that I have been hearing about? I will like to see it and have a BIG BITE.
Posted: at 2-08-2010 10:26 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- DarkCoco at 2-08-2010 10:57 PM (13 years ago)
i am so liking the idea behind dis, i hope it goes well and no one fcukes it up

one meal one nation

if u was in naija, i wont mind goign to abj to get ma own slice of da cake

BIG UPS NAIJA

Posted: at 2-08-2010 10:57 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- legodilaka at 2-08-2010 10:58 PM (13 years ago)
HOPE ALL DE NIGERIANS WILL ENJOY DE CAKE...................LOLZ Tongue Tongue Tongue
Posted: at 2-08-2010 10:58 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- DarkCoco at 2-08-2010 10:58 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: wunzie on  2-08-2010 09:42 PM
I don't understand why some people are making such a fuss about this issue? It's a known fact that individuals celebrate birthdays, and bake cakes inspite of serious personal challenges..  So, why shouldn't a great nation like Nigeria (in my opinion) celebrate an important milestone as a 50th birthday with such a gigantic cake?

abi ooo and we will b in da world record....nigerian see so much negativity in things....geesshhh

Posted: at 2-08-2010 10:58 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- legodilaka at 2-08-2010 11:07 PM (13 years ago)
DARKCOCO ..........I DNT BLAME NIGERIANS.THEIR GOVERMENT HAS A LOT TO FIX AFTER 50TH BIRTHDAY NT BY CAKE AM AS ANGRY AS DEY ARE.ITS JUX NT FAIR TO WASTE DE MONI ON SUCH
Posted: at 2-08-2010 11:07 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- princedafe at 2-08-2010 11:10 PM (13 years ago)
this is another senseless idea
Posted: at 2-08-2010 11:10 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eyevee at 2-08-2010 11:13 PM (13 years ago)
d time i go use go watch cake
i 4 earn plenty money 2 chop 4 d whole month
nonsense!
Posted: at 2-08-2010 11:13 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- chinwebaby at 2-08-2010 11:14 PM (13 years ago)
Chei, see madness in manifestation. Laugh Wan Kill Me Die. A cake 100ft long and 6ft high.
Posted: at 2-08-2010 11:14 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- okpeli at 2-08-2010 11:56 PM (13 years ago)
shame to them [the looters]cake?Huh???waiting we wan use the cake do,while there is no job for graguate Sad Angry Embarrassed
Posted: at 2-08-2010 11:56 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- johnaboko at 3-08-2010 12:46 AM (13 years ago)
Do Nigerians need this? Honestly I dont think so.This is not in their DNA.
On the contrary what they earnestly desire or crave for is for their 'rulers' to become  leaders.
When they become visionary leaders,Nigerians can afford to buy/bake their individual cakes and then celebrate their accomplishments.
Posted: at 3-08-2010 12:46 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Angel4ian at 3-08-2010 03:01 AM (13 years ago)
Is this metaphorically speaking? tons of cake???...be careful  u dont feast today and famine tomorrow. I still think it's nice to know that they r trying to bring about oneness, in the form of sharing so everyone can be a part of celebrating this wonderful treasure,   The Freedom Charter received October 1, 1960 a memorable date and event.
Posted: at 3-08-2010 03:01 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- LEONE at 3-08-2010 05:38 AM (13 years ago)
CAN ANYBODY PLS TELL ME HOW MUCH THIS PROJECT WILL COST THE TAX PAYERS?
THIS SHOULD GO TO THE G BOOK OF RECORD TOO.
Posted: at 3-08-2010 05:38 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bismack at 3-08-2010 05:45 AM (13 years ago)
I wan chop
Posted: at 3-08-2010 05:45 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mr-World at 3-08-2010 07:21 AM (13 years ago)
Why will i come there to eat POISON?

Posted: at 3-08-2010 07:21 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- solojaro at 3-08-2010 08:28 AM (13 years ago)
Why should we waste fund in baking the largest cake to celebrate? when we have not celebrate 24hrs Electricity supply,Good Govt. Policies,  Job Genaration and Good Roads etc.
Posted: at 3-08-2010 08:28 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nxt2ntn at 3-08-2010 08:54 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on  2-08-2010 04:21 PM
So what do they hope to achieve with this one?...........Another way of wasting money............look for something else to send our money on abeg!.......this is not necessary!

make Amadioha use needle and thread sew their anus!!!! or better still inject poison into d cake.
Posted: at 3-08-2010 08:54 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 9