Policeman impregnates woman in detention cell

Date: 06-08-2010 6:38 am (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 6-08-2010 06:38 AM (13 years ago)

A policeman attached to the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) at the Borno State police headquarters in Maiduguri has allegedly impregnated a 24-year-old homicide suspect, Halima Abdu, while being detained in cell at the CID wing for investigations before her prosecution in court.

Daily Trust confirmed yesterday that the suspected policeman, whose name was only given as Abubakar from Biu Local Government Area, has since been arrested and detained by his colleagues after the Nigerian Prisons Service wrote to the state Commissioner of Police informing him that a suspect was confirmed to be pregnant while she was to be admitted into the maximum security prison in Maiduguri and on investigations, she said she was impregnated by a policeman.

The Fulani woman was brought to the CID where she identified the man and he was promptly detained by his colleagues with investigations still on, police sources said. The woman became pregnant sometime in January 2010. She was arrested and detained since 2009, shortly after she was accused of killing her three-day old baby boy whom she dumped in a public well at Balbaya village in Bayo Local Government Area of Borno State in June 2009.

Police Public Relations Officer, ASP Isa Azare, didn’t answer phone calls yesterday for comments and wasn’t traced but a source at the command said investigations were going on which may require a DNA test after the woman delivers next month, September- expectedly, to ascertain the paternity of the child.

Now about eight months pregnant, Halima told Daily Trust that she was impregnated by the police officer after she was transferred from Bayo Police Division to the CID. She said he lured her into having sex with him.

“He said he was going to help set me free if I agreed to have sex with him and we had sex right there inside the cell where I was kept. But after that, he failed to keep his promise. I did what I did to regain my freedom,” she said.

Daily Trust found out from prison sources that the pregnancy was discovered based on the suspicion of a female prison warden at the Admissions Board (a department within the prisons that is saddled with the responsibility of ascertaining conditions of new inmates and disclosing to them their rights).

A pregnancy test was conducted in March, 2010 and the woman was confirmed to be 12 weeks pregnant as at then. Halima had told Daily Trust that she was married to one Haruna Buba and lived at Unguwan Mai Ruwa in Jalingo, Taraba State, but was sent packing by her husband without a divorce letter while she was already pregnant for him.

Despite court intervention, he refused to divorce her, forcing her to go back in search of her parents who were until then resident at Juniji village in Bayo Local Government Area of Borno State.

She said she couldn’t locate her parents and on June 15, 2009, she was accommodated by one Hafsat, a house wife. “In the afternoon of June 17, 2009, I gave birth to a baby boy and decided to move with the baby,” she said.

She said in the evening of June 19, 2009, she stopped over at Balbaya village in Bayo and out of frustration and annoyance with how her husband treated her, and having nowhere to go or whom to turn to, she confessed, “I decided to drop the baby boy into a well.”

Daily Trust gathered that one Malam Bello Ali (Agambe) Chairman of water vendors at Balbaya was said to have sighted the body of the baby boy and rushed to report his discovery to the village head, Lawan Ali Muhammadu, who in turn reported the matter to the Balbaya police outpost. The case is to continue on August 11, 2010.

Posted: at 6-08-2010 06:38 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- twinster at 6-08-2010 07:35 AM (13 years ago)
look at wat our 9ja police are doing?i just feel 4 dis woman,is fustration..
Posted: at 6-08-2010 07:35 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ifynwa500 at 6-08-2010 08:52 AM (13 years ago)
see, this lady was detained bcos  of how he treated her child (i.e she cant take of the child she concieved), now the stupid police man knew why she (the lady) was detained and went ahead and impreganted the lady. Nawa for police eee ooooo (anyway the lady will throw the child into the well as she had done to her child unless the stupid police man will take care of the ......ild)
Posted: at 6-08-2010 08:52 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- esonu at 6-08-2010 09:08 AM (13 years ago)
chie police

Posted: at 6-08-2010 09:08 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- spekay at 6-08-2010 09:39 AM (13 years ago)
If all the states and the Federal govt  have a functional department of Community service  or if this lady cared to approach the right NGO's or church leaders .  the chained event leading to her nightmare could have been avoided.   

Nigerian police are reknown for gross negligence  wanton indiscipline  sometimes you wonder what the difference is btweend criminals out there and those in uniform salaried with the tax payers money.   

At least the devil you know is better than the angel you dont .   More need to be done to tame these elements of barbarism within the rank

Posted: at 6-08-2010 09:39 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Akzee247 at 6-08-2010 10:35 AM (13 years ago)
Beautiful Fulani woman no wonder the police man could not let go. Nawa ooo, the fulani woman wanted to use what she has to get what she wants. but d thing come backfire. she wil throw the baby inside the well again and that wil take her to kuje prison where another constable wil inpregnate her again. what a world innocent child
Posted: at 6-08-2010 10:35 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Akzee247 at 6-08-2010 10:37 AM (13 years ago)
But na wa oo, police, but the woman go sweet ooo, lol
Posted: at 6-08-2010 10:37 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Augusta2010 at 6-08-2010 11:24 AM (13 years ago)
 The woman is a foolish woman she should be ashamed of herself, because of the same sex which led to the killed baby if she is desperate she is not supposed to do it not even inside the cell she would have complained to another police office she loved it and cannot closed her dirty legs she deserve what she got so dont blame the police man too much,
Posted: at 6-08-2010 11:24 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- qunodinga at 6-08-2010 11:43 AM (13 years ago)
pb4
Posted: at 6-08-2010 11:43 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Pepesy at 6-08-2010 11:47 AM (13 years ago)
wicked set of peep... wicked in everythng!
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked!
Posted: at 6-08-2010 11:47 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ucynice at 6-08-2010 12:54 PM (13 years ago)
CORRUPTION + CORRUPTION = ?
Posted: at 6-08-2010 12:54 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- maragu at 6-08-2010 01:04 PM (13 years ago)
what i disgrace
Posted: at 6-08-2010 01:04 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- tunetrick at 6-08-2010 01:07 PM (13 years ago)
Na.wa.ooo...frm fry pan to fire ths kind world self...
Posted: at 6-08-2010 01:07 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- okpeli at 6-08-2010 01:13 PM (13 years ago)
wow anyway 4get naija police.de shameless woman got what she bagain for.i 've no pity for her,a woman who killed her child for one stupid excuse.thank God dey give am another belle.but naija police una no dey try at all...........................
Posted: at 6-08-2010 01:13 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- 9icekenn at 6-08-2010 01:34 PM (13 years ago)
Sometimes life is like and this can make one do what is not expected of him or her
This is for the woman.......SO sorry for all the pain she might have be going through in and outside the cell.............
For the police man he should die there for not respecting the law and not been a good example.... because we are told that they synbol or example of the law.... naija say make we dey respect police naaaaaaaaa
Posted: at 6-08-2010 01:34 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kurupt419 at 6-08-2010 01:45 PM (13 years ago)
9ja na waooo
Posted: at 6-08-2010 01:45 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 9icekenn at 6-08-2010 01:46 PM (13 years ago)
but the woman on her path is very stupid and shameless.... make she go look bush or swamp for all i care....
Just imagine the nonsense she bringing from her mouth.......
Abeg you can she deserve the pain she is going through even if life is not fair to her.. this cannot make someone go mad or start going nut
Posted: at 6-08-2010 01:46 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- iluvbigtotolips at 6-08-2010 01:57 PM (13 years ago)
kai malam police ko?, so u gettam po impregnating po yarinya ko?
Posted: at 6-08-2010 01:57 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Regenesis at 6-08-2010 02:09 PM (13 years ago)
Is that her? Sometimes the pictures on these stories are of other people's, but if that's her she's pretty. Wish she hadn't killed that baby. I know she was frustrated and whatever, but that's no excuse, how can you just drop your baby into a well like that? The article didn't say how many years she's getting for that, but i'm curious. Anyways, oga policeman, na wa for u o, hmm Lips Sealed, police officer who couldn't control himself, mcheew...oju kokoro. But they're both equally guilty 'cuz she conceded to it. It's not like he forced her or something, so she can't blame him alone...takes two to tango. If the paternity comes out and he's the father, he needs to get locked up too...improper conduct while on the job  Grin. His badge should also be taken away. Police officer my foot.

Posted: at 6-08-2010 02:09 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- chudy1800 at 6-08-2010 02:38 PM (13 years ago)
Naija police I HAIL OOOO nothing good ever comes from you Guys.
Posted: at 6-08-2010 02:38 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 5