Will you sign a prenuptial agreement? (Page 11)

Date: 26-08-2010 7:13 am (13 years ago) | Author: Bittersweet
1 ... 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 ... 17
- bittersweet at 27-08-2010 12:54 PM (13 years ago)
I don't know!
Ask him!

Posted: at 27-08-2010 12:54 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- wallas at 27-08-2010 01:00 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on 27-08-2010 12:49 PM
Get married and u'll find out how personal it is! Cool
atleast i've lived with married peeps
i never noticed it!
Posted: at 27-08-2010 01:00 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- wallas at 27-08-2010 01:01 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 27-08-2010 12:51 PM
ahahaha with who ?

sorry, is ur professor taking it personal?
Posted: at 27-08-2010 01:01 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bittersweet at 27-08-2010 01:46 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: wallas on 27-08-2010 01:00 PM
atleast i've lived with married peeps
i never noticed it!

Probably because u were busy with noticing another kind of things at that moment!  Smiley

Posted: at 27-08-2010 01:46 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- FlyMamacita at 27-08-2010 01:48 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: wallas on 27-08-2010 01:01 PM
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 27-08-2010 12:51 PM
ahahaha with who ?

sorry, is ur professor taking it personal?
hmmm not personal but serious
Posted: at 27-08-2010 01:48 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- naturalqueen at 27-08-2010 02:04 PM (13 years ago)
in all these talks, i don't see or feel love in the air. Its as if some of us marry 4 what we gain not for love and the fact that u want to be with that person 4 the rest of ur life. It's not fair!
Posted: at 27-08-2010 02:04 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bittersweet at 27-08-2010 02:10 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: naturalqueen on 27-08-2010 02:04 PM
in all these talks, i don't see or feel love in the air. Its as if some of us marry 4 what we gain not for love and the fact that u want to be with that person 4 the rest of ur life. It's not fair!

If u sign a prenupt,it's for protecting your assets, not for gaining anything!
That's nothing wrong in that, but even a wise move,considering the divorce rate nowadays!

Posted: at 27-08-2010 02:10 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- onchedu at 27-08-2010 02:23 PM (13 years ago)
I have a better plan BS, sell all the assets before getting married, use the proceeds to squander on Ur personal interests that are intangible, then acquire them together from scratch.

Hows that for a prenup?
Posted: at 27-08-2010 02:23 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- agabs at 27-08-2010 02:33 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on 27-08-2010 02:10 PM

That's nothing wrong in that, but even a wise move,considering the divorce rate nowadays!
Tell them.  

Cool. No shenanigans. Love and money are two separate things. They should be kept separate. Funny thing is if you don't keep them separate, money may spoil the love and bring about divorce.

@Bittersweet, please tell this people. It is not like people who sign prenupts are selfish people. It is not like they will watch their spouse die of hunger or poverty. It is not like they will watch their spouse die from lack medicare or something like that. They are just saying that you have a right to have possession you can call your own.

Anti-prenupts may say that the man and the woman have been joined together and are now one. How come when the guy wants to pee he does it with his thing and not his wife's thing? How come he works at a different firm and his wife works at a different firm? How come he can't submit his wife curriculum vitae when he is applying for a job?

The fact still remains that it is extremely foolish for rich men and women not to sign prenupts. And the fact that marriage is for better for worse doesn't make it so. It is the humans that make it so. Both of the two parties. And one can not guarantee the other persons actions. It takes the two to make it work. If one refuses to make it work then ............ Prenupts are wise. Especially in the materialistic west and even in Nigeria where some men will wake up one morning and divorce their wife. And the next thing she is struggling to make ends meet. And she finds out that she hasn't got a house, a car and the basic necessities necessary for mental survival in this new age punishment called civilization. And some commit suicide.  Wow!

What most people do not realize is that most divorced people hate the other person with xtreme passion.

Posted: at 27-08-2010 02:33 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- bittersweet at 27-08-2010 02:34 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: onchedu on 27-08-2010 02:23 PM
I have a better plan BS, sell all the assets before getting married, use the proceeds to squander on Ur personal interests that are intangible, then acquire them together from scratch.

Hows that for a prenup?

If I would do it,I wouldn't do it only for protecting my material assets, bcz I'm not rich or something,
but the terms would include other things too.I've said earlier, in my posts.

Posted: at 27-08-2010 02:34 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- onchedu at 27-08-2010 02:39 PM (13 years ago)
U could just apply to heaven for a husband. The problem with that is the burden of fidelity then falls on U which is the point I'm still trying to make. My worry for U is not the prenup o. It's the fact that U are so sure it's the man that will err.
Posted: at 27-08-2010 02:39 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- bittersweet at 27-08-2010 02:44 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: agabs on 27-08-2010 02:33 PM
Quote from: bittersweet on 27-08-2010 02:10 PM

Tell them.  

Cool. No shenanigans. Love and money are two separate things. They should be kept separate. Funny thing is if you don't keep them separate, money may spoil the love and bring about divorce.

@Bittersweet, please tell this people. It is not like people who sign prenupts are selfish people. It is not like they will watch their spouse die of hunger or poverty. It is not like they will watch their spouse die from lack medicare or something like that. They are just saying that you have a right to have possession you can call your own.

Anti-prenupts may say that the man and the woman have been joined together and are now one. How come when the guy wants to pee he does it with his thing and not his wife's thing? How come he works at a different firm and his wife works at a different firm? How come he can't submit his wife curriculum vitae when he is applying for a job?

The fact still remains that it is extremely foolish for rich men and women not to sign prenupts. And the fact that marriage is for better for worse doesn't make it so. It is the humans that make it so. Both of the two parties. And one can not guarantee the other persons actions. It takes the two to make it work. If one refuses to make it work then ............ Prenupts are wise. Especially in the materialistic west and even in Nigeria where some men will wake up one morning and divorce their wife. And the next thing she is struggling to make ends meet. And she finds out that she hasn't got a house, a car and the basic necessities necessary for mental survival in this new age punishment called civilization. And some commit suicide.  Wow!

What most people do not realize is that most divorced people hate the other person with xtreme passion.

Well said again, Agabs!
It's weird that ppl are so much against it,and when u ask your husband/wife to be,to sign such an agreement,
they will start furiously accusing u that u don't trust them and things like those!
I don't know why they would not sign it,if they don't have a hidden agenda!

Posted: at 27-08-2010 02:44 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- agabs at 27-08-2010 02:46 PM (13 years ago)

Hows that for a prenup?

@Onchedu, Everybody has got one mouth. The food that goes into your stomach is for you not for your wife. Every human is an individual. Marriage is for companionship. Marriage does not destroy individuality.

Selling all the assets is like trying to delete the past. It is foolish. And why would someone expect a successful person to destroy her wealth and start from scratch. It sure looks like insecurity to me? It sure goes to show that the guy has got ego problems. And how do u expect the factors to be favorable?

Posted: at 27-08-2010 02:46 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- bittersweet at 27-08-2010 02:46 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: onchedu on 27-08-2010 02:39 PM
U could just apply to heaven for a husband. The problem with that is the burden of fidelity then falls on U which is the point I'm still trying to make. My worry for U is not the prenup o. It's the fact that U are so sure it's the man that will err.

That's not a burden at all, and yes,if one of us is prone to cheat,that's definitely not me!

Posted: at 27-08-2010 02:46 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 27-08-2010 02:52 PM (13 years ago)
Signing that means you are sure the mariage will fail . So why do anyone go into a mariage he/she knows is bound to fail ?

Posted: at 27-08-2010 02:52 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- onchedu at 27-08-2010 02:53 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: agabs on 27-08-2010 02:46 PM

Hows that for a prenup?

@Onchedu, Everybody has got one mouth. The food that goes into your stomach is for you not for your wife. Every human is an individual. Marriage is for companionship. Marriage does not destroy individuality.

Selling all the assets is like trying to delete the past. It is foolish. And why would someone expect a successful person to destroy her wealth and start from scratch. It sure looks like insecurity to me? It sure goes to show that the guy has got ego problems. And how do u expect the factors to be favorable?

Marriage is meant to be bring two together as one creating a hybrid individual. The food that goes into Ur stomach, will it digest properly if Ur wife was looking sad or depressed?
Posted: at 27-08-2010 02:53 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- bittersweet at 27-08-2010 02:57 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: onyiis on 27-08-2010 02:52 PM
Signing that means you are sure the mariage will fail . So why do anyone go into a mariage he/she knows is bound to fail ?

No!
Anybody who gets married, hopes that it's gonna last forever, but we are humans,
and we can make mistakes, we can wake up one day and say that we want another thing
from this life!You or him,doesn't matter!
Ppl change!
Nobody knows what the future holds!

Posted: at 27-08-2010 02:57 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- agabs at 27-08-2010 03:10 PM (13 years ago)
@discussants, a person that calls for a prenupt is not a bad person. The person is just being logical. Reasons why somebody will call for a prenupt.

1. The person may have being a victim of a dysfunctional family. I am. Have seen parents fight. It is sad but it is true. Same souls that loved each other yesterday hate each other today and that is sad. It is but that is life. No guarantees. Sometimes the external factors are even stronger than the individuals in the equation.

2. The person may have had to work very hard for wealth. Success. I don't know if you have had to work hard for something. Not knowing if you will get it or not. The stress. Dealing with societies perception and all. Convincing yourself that you can do it. Killing your demons. Fighting to be a better human. Fighting to be a necessary human. Personally, I would say I have not fought for wealth that much. I guess that is the reason why I don't have it yet. now I realize that to get wealth, I have to like use a hundred percent concentration. It involves fighting alcoholism, nicotine, the urge to spend money, cultivating new habits, studying, drawing business plans and a lot of stuff the average girl on the streets of Nigeria has no inkling whatsoever about. That is my reality. I am still dissatisfied with my progress. And right now I am in this alone. do you know what that means? It means there is no one to tell me that you can do it. It means, when I get depressed and relapse there is no one to scold me or bring me out. The fight is mine. And it is beautiful. It is hard. But I aint complaining. I don't hate the system cause I am confident. I know I can beat the system. That is me.

So Imagine, that I do make good money and assets that please my heart. Imagine that I manage by the Grace of God to create legal, decent streams of income, why on earth should I not protect it from human nature?

And if I do run into some girl that has had to work extremely hard for her wealth and success, why should she not protect her hard-work from my weaknesses? Why should she not protect her self from me?

3. Society is very wicked. God forbid but they can use your spouse against you.

4. The attitude of couples with a prenupt is different. Each realizes that he or she has to work. There is also a certain competition. Subliminally, Healthy competition. Like between brother and sister. And they are more appreciative of gifts. They do not take wealth for granted or expect irrationalities from the next person.

5. The kids learn to have ownership. They realize that at the end of the day, mummy's money is hers. Daddy's is his. I have to work to have my own money. They realize that it is only what is theirs that they can call theirs.

6. They relate on a very logical plane. Which is safer than that sentimental plane.
Posted: at 27-08-2010 03:10 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- agabs at 27-08-2010 03:13 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: onchedu on 27-08-2010 02:53 PM
Quote from: agabs on 27-08-2010 02:46 PM

Hows that for a prenup?

Marriage is meant to be bring two together as one creating a hybrid individual. The food that goes into Ur stomach, will it digest properly if Ur wife was looking sad or depressed?
Onchedu, you are being sentimental. If my wife is sad and I refuse to eat, I will die. Though, man shall not live be bread alone. But, it aint man shall live without bread. Ha hahaahaha ha haha.

Is it possible for someone that loves you today to hate you tomorrow?  Is it possible? Is everything possible in this world?
Posted: at 27-08-2010 03:13 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- chuka4fun at 27-08-2010 03:14 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Treasure2 on 26-08-2010 08:25 AM
No i will not sign.
YES YOU WILL
Posted: at 27-08-2010 03:14 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
1 ... 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 ... 17

1. Popular Content Creator, Chidike Emmanuel Shot Dead In Abuja

2. BREAKING: Police Arrest Singer, Portable Over Alleged G-Wagon Debt

3. I’m Single But Have Broken A Few Hearts Says Singer, Ayra Starr

4. VIDEO: Singer, Reekado Banks Shows Off His Pending Multimillion Naira Project

5. VID: Nigerian Man Cries Out After Delta Govt Demolishes His N100m Building Structure

6. Man, Elisha Allagedly Kills His Girlfriend, Chops Up Her Body In Akwa Ibom

7. Lady Recounts Her Horrifying Ordeal With One-Chance Robbers in Lagos

8. ISWAP Founder's Son Surrenders To Nigerian Security In Borno

9. Breaking: Oil Magnate, Sholaye Jeremi, Loses Mother

10. How Herdsmen Kill Pregnant Woman, 10 Others In Benue

11. JUST IN: ASUU Threatens Nationwide Strike

12. 17 BDC Operators Sentenced To 6 months Imprisonment For Operating Without Licence In Kano

13. 23 Bandits Reportedly Killed In Zamfara Rivalry Clash

14. 5 Soldiers Reportedly Killed, Others Injured As Bandits Attack Military Camp In Katsina

1. POLITICAL TURMOIL UNVEILED! 'Wike Was Instrumental To Peter Obi's Exit From PDP' - Paul Ibe

2. Peter Obi Visits Atiku in Abuja as Speculation of Unified Front For 2027 Elections Intensifies

3. Wetin She Wear - Movie Producer, Stanley Nwoko Mocks Destiny Etiko Over Her AMVCA Outfit

4. Lady Raises Alarm Over State of Actor, Nonso Diobi After Spotting Him in Her Area (Video)

5. Reactions as Naira Marley and Sam Larry Were Spotted Vibing to Portable's Diss Track About Them

6. Nigeria Rapper, Dremo Hits Back At Sarkodie’s Shade Of Nigeria’s Big 3 Artists With Diss Track

7. Afrobeat Singer, Davido Blasts Popular Blog For Calling Him “Papa Ifeanyi”

8. 'We Kidnap, Extort & Rap3 Male Victims' - Gang Of Homosegxwal Criminals Arrested In Lekki

9. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

10. Man Shoots Stepmom Who Tried To Give Him Hug During Graduation Ceremony