Will you sign a prenuptial agreement? (Page 14)

Date: 26-08-2010 7:13 am (14 years ago) | Author: Bittersweet
1 ... 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17
- bittersweet at 28-08-2010 02:10 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: born_to_win on 28-08-2010 01:57 PM
First of all, based on the percentage of divorces that happen in western societies, I don't blame these men who want their spouses to sign these agreements especially if these men are wealthy! Unfortunately it's very hard for them to know if a woman likes them genuinely or if she's just a gold-digger. Therefore I'll have to say yes i will sign the agreement afterall if I really love him and he sees it a while after its been signed, he might remove the agreement. Also, let him sign it afterall I'm gonna be an independent woman who can stand on her own two feet. I won't marry a man cause I NEED him, no people, I'll marry him cause i WANT him Wink

ok,dear

Posted: at 28-08-2010 02:10 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Missthing at 28-08-2010 03:11 PM (14 years ago)
If am marrying for money no way i sign anything, if its for love then i can sign because one of my criteria for marry the one i love is that he must be richer than i am.
Posted: at 28-08-2010 03:11 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- bittersweet at 28-08-2010 03:15 PM (14 years ago)
Aha!
I see

Posted: at 28-08-2010 03:15 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- agabs at 28-08-2010 03:22 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Missthing on 28-08-2010 03:11 PM
If am marrying for money no way i sign anything, if its for love then i can sign because one of my criteria for marry the one i love is that he must be richer than i am.

Now that is a reasonable human. Straightforward!

It is cool that you admit that you can marry for money. If all girls where like you, we would have more sanity in this world.

And you have already defined what you want in a man. But time sure plays tricks.

Funny, you sound different from most girls.

Cause most girls are like,this guy doesn't love me enough.
You are rather, I love this guy and I really don't care if he doesn't trust me with his wealth, I love him still. Hmn!

Wow! Cool!
Posted: at 28-08-2010 03:22 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bettychy at 28-08-2010 03:35 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: agabs on 28-08-2010 01:05 PM
Quote from: Bettychy on 28-08-2010 12:36 PM
Quote from: agabs on 26-08-2010 05:19 PM
Quote from: Bettychy on 26-08-2010 04:42 PM
No, I won`t!

Antenuptial agreement is no topic in Africa because of religious believes, cultural practices and traditions of Africa which forms our mentality & way of life and make an average African different in reasoning, understanding, conception & perception... from our European, American...counterparts.

Asking an average African (male or female) to enter into such a contract tells him or her that the marriage is a temporal one & would end any minute you choose.
This is not in line with our cultures & traditions, religion & our general way of life.

Over there, marriage is a contract (granted by the state, which makes it very loose)
In Africa, marriage is a union ordained by God

Legally, it`s always a contract. But the attarchment of religious & cultural believes give it a completely different meaning and that marks the different between marriages in Nigeria, for instance & in the US.

I hate ambiguity. Ambiguity gives room for strife. The Idea of a prenup enforces trust and protects a marriage. It kind of like makes it obvious that neither party is in the marriage for material or for survival. I think a prenup is cool. It is suppose to be till death do us apart, but, humans are funny. A prenup enforces each persons right to be and individual. And some humans are vengeful. When some humans start hating, they go all out to destroy you. You know what they say about a woman's scorn. Ha ahahahah.

Love should not blind logic.

I do not disagree with you dude, no, not at all.
However, that`s your opinion. And like they say "opinion is like A*#S": everyone has his, but that does not necessarilly mean everyone would like to see yours. >>>apology for my dirty choice of words<<<

Your view is a well acceptable one around the world but yet to be known in the great continent of Africa; not yet discussing it`s acceptability. Not all we see as wisdom & being logical over there is accepted as one down here. "Logic" is a mental-psychological set of fixed arrangements that is inseparable from the known practices (culture/tradition & religion) of a given set of people.

Agreeingly, there are many Africans around the world, who are currently into this contract, but not because they would have ordinarily entered into such agreement, rather they wouldn`t mind signing anything at all just to get to their targets.

Nontheless, the civic principles of Individualism has presented us the civil opportunity of taken decisions & acting accordingly regardless of over whelming, traditionally acceptable & superior regarded way of life in our defferent locations.

Yep, u have urs and I have mine. However, for sport, I would love for you to adopt my opinion. Now, wouldn't that be good for self aggrandizement?

You have barricaded yourself; agreeing that you see things from both angles and yet you preserve the right to choose and you exercise it in the choice of your opinion makes it difficult to antagonize you on this issue. One must therefore listen and implore you to teach us how and why you arrived at your choice of no prenupt.

@Bettychy, why do you not like prenupts? Why? Are you insecure? Are you a coward? Are you scared of reality? Are you sentimental? Is there some religious encouragement that coaxex your choice? Why?

Teach me please. You might make a believer out of me.

Since when did students started teaching teachers?

Regardless of the viewpoint you represent,
Put away psychoeconomical politics and you `ll find answers to your numerous questions and reasons for the other side of the argument: you know what I mean!

Posted: at 28-08-2010 03:35 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- born_to_win at 28-08-2010 03:45 PM (14 years ago)
@ Flymamacita  yes i'll still sign it cuz i'm not marrying for money...although to be honest, i'll feel insulted as if my husband doesn't trust me Angry
Posted: at 28-08-2010 03:45 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- agabs at 28-08-2010 03:58 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Bettychy on 28-08-2010 03:35 PM

Since when did students started teaching teachers?

Regardless of the viewpoint you represent,
Put away psychoeconomical politics and you `ll find answers to your numerous questions and reasons for the other side of the argument: you know what I mean!

Since when teachers became teachers. The very act of teaching involves two parties in most cases. The student(s) and the teacher. And every student's response is different and a lesson to the teacher. But you already know that?

God! You called it psycho-economical politics? Ha! But come, can life be divorced from psycho-economics? I guess I already see all the answers. And I will say may I not let sentiment blind logic when the time comes. I must quote Solomon.

Ecclesiastes 7:17
===========================
New International Version (©1984)
Do not be overwicked, and do not be a fool--why die before your time?
New Living Translation (©2007)
On the other hand, don't be too wicked either. Don't be a fool! Why die before your time?

English Standard Version (©2001)
Be not overly wicked, neither be a fool. Why should you die before your time?

New American Standard Bible (©1995)
Do not be excessively wicked and do not be a fool. Why should you die before your time?

GOD'S WORD® Translation (©1995)
Don't be too wicked, and don't be a fool. Why should you die before your time is up?

King James Bible
Be not over much wicked, neither be thou foolish: why shouldest thou die before thy time?

American King James Version
Be not over much wicked, neither be you foolish: why should you die before your time?

American Standard Version
Be not overmuch wicked, neither be thou foolish: why shouldest thou die before thy time?

Bible in Basic English
Be not evil overmuch, and be not foolish. Why come to your end before your time?

Douay-Rheims Bible
Be not overmuch wicked: and be not foolish, lest thou die before thy time.

Darby Bible Translation
Be not overmuch wicked, neither be thou foolish: why shouldest thou die before thy time?

English Revised Version
Be not over much wicked, neither be thou foolish: why shouldest thou die before thy time?

Webster's Bible Translation
Be not over much wicked, neither be thou foolish: why shouldst thou die before thy time?

World English Bible
Don't be too wicked, neither be foolish. Why should you die before your time?

Young's Literal Translation
Do not much wrong, neither be thou a fool, why dost thou die within thy time?
===========

So, do you see that I shouldn't be to sentimental in my actions? A little gentle wickedness is wise. It protects. I think a little gentle wickedness with a lot of communication is necessary for a sound marriage.

Wow. U are entertaining. Ha haah ahah. Psycho-economics. Ha ah ahahah. Ha a haha ha hahah. Psycho-economics indeed. Ha ahhahaha. U sound like one of those people that manipulate emselves out of not favourable situations with words. Ha hahaha.
Thanks for commenting.
Posted: at 28-08-2010 03:58 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- wallas at 28-08-2010 05:20 PM (14 years ago)
OMG!!
do u need to paste old& new testament?
Posted: at 28-08-2010 05:20 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FlyMamacita at 28-08-2010 05:51 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: born_to_win on 28-08-2010 03:45 PM
@ Flymamacita  yes i'll still sign it cuz i'm not marrying for money...although to be honest, i'll feel insulted as if my husband doesn't trust me Angry
tht is wht i mean dear... i wud feel insulted 2
Posted: at 28-08-2010 05:51 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Kennee at 28-08-2010 09:25 PM (14 years ago)

What kinda Funny Statement is dis?

Posted: at 28-08-2010 09:25 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Abey_81 at 29-08-2010 09:23 AM (14 years ago)
 I can never. If I do, my future is in jeopady if She decides to change Her mind.
Posted: at 29-08-2010 09:23 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- bittersweet at 29-08-2010 09:24 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Abey_81 on 29-08-2010 09:23 AM
I can never. If I do, my future is in jeopady if She decides to change Her mind.

I see

Posted: at 29-08-2010 09:24 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Missthing at 29-08-2010 08:50 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Kennee on 28-08-2010 09:25 PM

Abeg, just leave am na wetin i want i don talk, talk ur own,lol.
Posted: at 29-08-2010 08:50 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Kennee at 29-08-2010 09:29 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Missthing on 29-08-2010 08:50 PM

It means it's the Person's Money yu Love na

Posted: at 29-08-2010 09:29 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Missthing at 29-08-2010 09:34 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Kennee on 29-08-2010 09:29 PM

As long as there's love involved na, doesn't matter if its him or his money, they are both attached, samething.
Posted: at 29-08-2010 09:34 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Kennee at 29-08-2010 10:13 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Missthing on 29-08-2010 09:34 PM
Quote from: Kennee on 29-08-2010 09:29 PM

As long as there's love involved na, doesn't matter if its him or his money, they are both attached, samething.

Na yu know

Na so yu go take Marry Alhaji wey don get 7 Wives

Posted: at 29-08-2010 10:13 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- onyiis at 30-08-2010 03:48 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on 27-08-2010 02:57 PM
Quote from: onyiis on 27-08-2010 02:52 PM
Signing that means you are sure the mariage will fail . So why do anyone go into a mariage he/she knows is bound to fail ?

No!
Anybody who gets married, hopes that it's gonna last forever, but we are humans,
and we can make mistakes, we can wake up one day and say that we want another thing
from this life!You or him,doesn't matter!
Ppl change!
Nobody knows what the future holds!

RElationships are worked on just like marriage .As long as you take it as one of your marital duties to work on your union , it will never go sour

Posted: at 30-08-2010 03:48 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 30-08-2010 03:50 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on 27-08-2010 02:10 PM
Quote from: naturalqueen on 27-08-2010 02:04 PM
in all these talks, i don't see or feel love in the air. Its as if some of us marry 4 what we gain not for love and the fact that u want to be with that person 4 the rest of ur life. It's not fair!

If u sign a prenupt,it's for protecting your assets, not for gaining anything!
That's nothing wrong in that, but even a wise move,considering the divorce rate nowadays!

You protect your assets from a presumed enemy . So why go into marriage with an enemy ?

Posted: at 30-08-2010 03:50 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 30-08-2010 03:59 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on 27-08-2010 08:38 PM
Quote from: wunzie on 27-08-2010 07:14 PM
So, it’s time to think outside of the African box, huh?  Fabulous!  This site is full of surprises.  I noticed a huge contradiction here, i must admit.  Hmmmmm.....money! money! Money! Suddenly, the African mentality, and ways of doing things are out of the window. Wow! I feel  like a w**** girl in a dark skin right now.  So, i fit open my mouth to ask whoever i wan marry tomorrow (African) to sign a prenuptial agreement before marriage........... Lwkm!!

Hold on,  is it not written somewhere in the bible that couples should sign Prenuptial Agreements before marriage? Hell no! The bible did not talk about Prenuptial Agreements hence not biblical.  Mind you, God’s instructions regarding our lives are clear through his words.  Signing a contract or whatever, that details the ending of a marriage is a definite inclination that God is not the leader in the beginning of the marriage.  Whatever happened to till death us do part or whatever?  No wonder people are shying away from marriage these days.

Nobody enters into a marriage with the will of divorce,but as somebody said,u can control your own actions,
but not the actions of your spouse too!
If you get married later,after u became successful in your career, worked really hard for everything u had now,
and u fall in love with a man who has almost nothing, but u marry him because u love him, why would u not
want to protect your hard work, in case he'll wake up one morning and asks for a divorce?
I don't see absolutely nothing wrong in that!

Anyway, everybody does as they think it's better for them!

That is why you should make God the pillar of your relationship so that nobody will "wake up one day and demand for a divorce"

Posted: at 30-08-2010 03:59 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 30-08-2010 04:13 AM (14 years ago)

as much suprised as u are

Posted: at 30-08-2010 04:13 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
1 ... 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17

1. Socialite, Pretty Mike Shows up to 2025 AMVCA Looking Like This... (Photos)

2. Heartbroken Father of 4 Recounts Sad Story of How he Discovered His Children Aren't His (VID)

3. Ondo State Police Officer Called Out For S3xually Assaulting His Daughter Since She Was 10

4. Nigerians to Pay Over N28,000 to Correct Date of Birth Error On Their NIN

5. Kemi Badenoch Urges UK PM, Starmers to Adopt ‘Deportation Bill’, Mass Deportation of Foreigners

6. Stunning Photos From The 11th Edition of the AMVCA Awards Red Carpets

7. Burial Arrangements For Delta State Governor’s Aide, Shimite Nwakalo Bello Has Been Fixed

8. Nigerians React As Candidates Call Out JAMB Over Just Released 2025 UTME Results

9. Pat Utomi Bows Out of Politics, Declares Total Exit from Public Office And Government Deals

10. NAPTIP Rescues 2-Year-Old Sold For ₦100,000, Hunts For Child’s Real Parents

11. Two Suspected Burglars Nabbed For Stealing Boxers, Singlet, Shirts In Ogun

12. 28-Year-Old Pastor's Daughter, Gifty Kyere Dies Mysteriously At 23-Yr-Old Boyfriend’s Home

13. ISWAP Informant Neutralised By Nigeria Troops In Borno Night Ambush

14. Midnight Fire Guts Fegge Building, Destroys Multi-Million Naira Property

1. Benue In Uproar As Leaked Adult Videos Spark Outrage, Calls For Arrests

2. 18Yr Old Boy Impregnates 10 Girls, Including His Boss' Daughter After He Was Sent To Learn A

3. 103 Virgin Girls Initiated Into Womanhood At Ovia Osese Festival In Kogi State (Photos)

4. "Many Have Suffered From Stroke" -Pastor Oyakhilome’s Sermon On Salt Sparks Heated Debate (Vid)

5. VDM And I Are Officially Married - Actress Sarah Martins Drops Bombshell

6. LA HOTTIE! Davido’s Wife, Chioma Adeleke, Flaunts Her Hot Bod In Lovely New Photos

7. "Why I Would Choose Davido Over Burnaboy, Wizkid" – Singer, Zinoleesky

8. 'Some Men Are Praying For Their Wives To Die So They Can Marry Another' -Nigerian Man Blows Hot

9. Nollywood Star, Uche Ogbodo Undergoes 'BBL & Tummy Tuck'; Shares Recovery Journey (Video)

10. I’m Married To Jesus — Pretty Reverend Sister Tells Asaba Boys Asking For Her Number (VID)