You're in a serious relationship, you decide to get married, but he/she asks you to sign a prenuptial contract! Will you do it? What do you think about it?
l don't see marriage as a Contract, so if a woman l'm getting married 2 brings dis up, it will make me have a Rethink about her disposition 2wards me l have a strong Conviction/feeling dat l will Consider calling the Relationship off Hmmm! Why that? That would not mean that she doesn't love u,but maybe she would give her peace of mind, in case that something unforeseen will happen in your marriage later in time! That would also cover you as well, because the terms of it would be settled by both of u! I really don't see anything wrong with it! Why should yu be expecting something 2 happen? Nobody knows tomorrow, and that's why u must be attentive! Don't think there are no beasts just because the forest is silent Yu still don't get it do yu? Yu don't go into a Marriage expecting it 2 end, unless Death Visits Nobody enters into a marriage expecting to end, but u can never know what may strike your partner one day! Ppl change, and rarely in good!
Live and let live! Posted: at 27-08-2010 08:41 PM (14 years ago) | Hero | |
1% huh? I wonder what percentage of girls are trustworthy.
Of Course 0.5 Ha! Here,your experience is talking, or other thing?
Live and let live! Posted: at 27-08-2010 08:58 PM (14 years ago) | Hero | |
Kennee at 27-08-2010 08:59 PM (14 years ago) (m) You're in a serious relationship, you decide to get married, but he/she asks you to sign a prenuptial contract! Will you do it? What do you think about it?
l don't see marriage as a Contract, so if a woman l'm getting married 2 brings dis up, it will make me have a Rethink about her disposition 2wards me l have a strong Conviction/feeling dat l will Consider calling the Relationship off Hmmm! Why that? That would not mean that she doesn't love u,but maybe she would give her peace of mind, in case that something unforeseen will happen in your marriage later in time! That would also cover you as well, because the terms of it would be settled by both of u! I really don't see anything wrong with it! Why should yu be expecting something 2 happen? Nobody knows tomorrow, and that's why u must be attentive! Don't think there are no beasts just because the forest is silent Yu still don't get it do yu? Yu don't go into a Marriage expecting it 2 end, unless Death Visits Nobody enters into a marriage expecting to end, but u can never know what may strike your partner one day! Ppl change, and rarely in good! Stop Dis yur Way of Seeing Life!
WHEN YU DIE YU TAKE NOTHING WITH YU, SO PLS PUT A SMILE ON YUR NEIGHBOR'S FACE Posted: at 27-08-2010 08:59 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero | |
Come on,Kennee! That's the bitter truth! Let's be realistic!
Live and let live! Posted: at 27-08-2010 09:01 PM (14 years ago) | Hero | |
1% huh? I wonder what percentage of girls are trustworthy.
Of Course 0.5  :'( Hehehehe... Yu're among the 0.5 na my Love  Posted: at 27-08-2010 10:24 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero | |
agabs at 28-08-2010 11:20 AM (14 years ago) (m) So, it’s time to think outside of the African box, huh? Fabulous! This site is full of surprises. I noticed a huge contradiction here, i must admit. Hmmmmm.....money! money! Money! Suddenly, the African mentality, and ways of doing things are out of the window. Wow! I feel like a w**** girl in a dark skin right now. So, i fit open my mouth to ask whoever i wan marry tomorrow (African) to sign a prenuptial agreement before marriage........... Lwkm!! Hold on, is it not written somewhere in the bible that couples should sign Prenuptial Agreements before marriage? Hell no! The bible did not talk about Prenuptial Agreements hence not biblical. Mind you, God’s instructions regarding our lives are clear through his words. Signing a contract or whatever, that details the ending of a marriage is a definite inclination that God is not the leader in the beginning of the marriage. Whatever happened to till death us do part or whatever? No wonder people are shying away from marriage these days.
Yu see wetin l dey talk? Wunzie abeg where l go for meet yu na??  I thought I rested my case. However, I preserve the right to enjoy myself, so I pickup my case once again. It is obvious though that will never see things thesame way. @Wunzie, it is insinuated somewhere in the bible that when I get married to a woman, her wealth is mine cause, I am the head of the house. Don't go doubting. Don't. Okay let me google Solomon, that wicked man and not wicked human. OOPS. Just realized that my interpretation can be undermined. The verse still buttresses my point. Proverbs 31:3 ================= New International Version (©1984) Give her the reward she has earned, and let her works bring her praise at the city gate. New Living Translation (©2007) Reward her for all she has done. Let her deeds publicly declare her praise. English Standard Version (©2001) Give her of the fruit of her hands, and let her works praise her in the gates. New American Standard Bible (©1995) Give her the product of her hands, And let her works praise her in the gates. GOD'S WORD® Translation (©1995) Reward her for what she has done, and let her achievements praise her at the city gates. God's Word-Proverbs-12 King James Bible Give her of the fruit of her hands; and let her own works praise her in the gates. American King James Version Give her of the fruit of her hands; and let her own works praise her in the gates. American Standard Version Give her of the fruit of her hands; And let her works praise her in the gates. Bible in Basic English Give her credit for what her hands have made: let her be praised by her works in the public place. Douay-Rheims Bible Give her of the fruit of her hands: and let her works praise her in the gates. Darby Bible Translation Give her of the fruit of her hands, and let her own works praise her in the gates. English Revised Version Give her of the fruit of her hands; and let her works praise her in the gates. Webster's Bible Translation Give her of the fruit of her hands; and let her own works praise her in the gates. World English Bible Give her of the fruit of her hands! Let her works praise her in the gates! Young's Literal Translation Give ye to her of the fruit of her hands, And her works do praise her in the gates! ===================== The bible says I should give my wife her due. If my wife is reacher, I shouldn't withhold her due. I should give it to her. If she wants a divorce, I should give her her due cause she has worked for it. A prenupt is just enforcing the Bible. Ha haahhaha hahahah. Posted: at 28-08-2010 11:20 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming | |
agabs at 28-08-2010 11:30 AM (14 years ago) (m) See that Solomon is saying one should give to his wife of the fruits of her hands. A guy that willingly signs a prenupt is like telling you that, he isn't after your money. He is after you. Not your money. And he isn't after the praise and accolades that is due to you. In case you didn't know, Jesus permits divorce in the case of marital unfaithfulness. Not in the case of witch-craft, not in the case of stubbornness, not in the case of theft, not in the case of ............but, in the case of marital unfaithfulness. The bible permits to divorce a woman who has sex with another entity other than me. It is there. Okay let me post the verse to dispel doubt. I hate pasting this long statements nowadays cause most people on this site are economical with their words. An E-Talkative I have become indeed. Ha ahahahahah ha Matthew 5:32 =============== New International Version (©1984) But I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife, except for marital unfaithfulness, causes her to become an adulteress, and anyone who marries the divorced woman commits adultery. New Living Translation (©2007) But I say that a man who divorces his wife, unless she has been unfaithful, causes her to commit adultery. And anyone who marries a divorced woman also commits adultery. English Standard Version (©2001) But I say to you that everyone who divorces his wife, except on the ground of segxwal immorality, makes her commit adultery, and whoever marries a divorced woman commits adultery. New American Standard Bible (©1995) but I say to you that everyone who divorces his wife, except for the reason of unchastity, makes her commit adultery; and whoever marries a divorced woman commits adultery. International Standard Version (©2008) But I say to you, any man who divorces his wife, except for segxwal immorality, causes her to commit adultery, and whoever marries a divorced woman commits adultery." GOD'S WORD® Translation (©1995) But I can guarantee that any man who divorces his wife for any reason other than unfaithfulness makes her look as though she has committed adultery. Whoever marries a woman divorced in this way makes himself look as though he has committed adultery. King James Bible But I say unto you, That whosoever shall put away his wife, saving for the cause of fornication, causeth her to commit adultery: and whosoever shall marry her that is divorced committeth adultery. American King James Version But I say to you, That whoever shall put away his wife, saving for the cause of fornication, causes her to commit adultery: and whoever shall marry her that is divorced commits adultery. ============ And are we not humans? Was eve not tempted? Did Adam not fall into sin? Is any girl in this world more beautiful than Eve? Is any guy wiser than Adam? Posted: at 28-08-2010 11:30 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming | |
agabs at 28-08-2010 11:40 AM (14 years ago) (m) Come to think of it, the bible is very partial towards men. Let us love, but, let us not be fools. That is all I am saying. All bittersweet is saying is her hard-work means a lot to her. It deserves protection. Seriously it takes a serious believe in self to sign a prenupt. It takes serious confidence of the the other person for the other person to sign a prenupt. And I think I will value a woman that signs one without bathing an eye-lid. Her rep will like sky-rocket. A man needs a woman that can tell him, "4k you, 4k your car, 4k your gold and 4k your money." Seriously, that is like one cool chick. Posted: at 28-08-2010 11:40 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming | |
To me a prenup is nothing more than an insurance policy similar to a health insurance policy.If u have a good relationship, u never take the prenup out of the draw.Money has nothing to do with love.They are 2 different categories and they are both very important in their own category. Money pays the bills, but love nurtures the spirit. Anyone who would say to me that if I wanted a prenup, I didn't love them, doesn't know what love is. I would not be attracted to a man who puts love and money in the same category!
Live and let live! Posted: at 28-08-2010 12:12 PM (14 years ago) | Hero | |
agabs at 28-08-2010 12:25 PM (14 years ago) (m) To me a prenup is nothing more than an insurance policy similar to a health insurance policy.If u have a good relationship, u never take the prenup out of the draw.Money has nothing to do with love.They are 2 different categories and they are both very important in their own category. Money pays the bills, but love nurtures the spirit. Anyone who would say to me that if I wanted a prenup, I didn't love them, doesn't know what love is. I would not be attracted to a man who puts love and money in the same category!
Ha ha hahaha. Good thinking. You will definitely end up with a good product. In sha Allah and by God's grace. Anyone who would say to me that if I wanted a prenup, I didn't love them, doesn't know what love is. And definitely takes money for granted. Posted: at 28-08-2010 12:25 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming | |
Live and let live! Posted: at 28-08-2010 12:27 PM (14 years ago) | Hero | |
BS, i wanna ask cuz i dunno  In Romania they use prenuptial agreement often? Or it is rarely? Posted: at 28-08-2010 12:31 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero | |
Bettychy at 28-08-2010 12:36 PM (14 years ago) (f) No, I won`t!
Antenuptial agreement is no topic in Africa because of religious believes, cultural practices and traditions of Africa which forms our mentality & way of life and make an average African different in reasoning, understanding, conception & perception... from our European, American...counterparts.
Asking an average African (male or female) to enter into such a contract tells him or her that the marriage is a temporal one & would end any minute you choose. This is not in line with our cultures & traditions, religion & our general way of life.
Over there, marriage is a contract (granted by the state, which makes it very loose) In Africa, marriage is a union ordained by God
Legally, it`s always a contract. But the attarchment of religious & cultural believes give it a completely different meaning and that marks the different between marriages in Nigeria, for instance & in the US.
I hate ambiguity. Ambiguity gives room for strife. The Idea of a prenup enforces trust and protects a marriage. It kind of like makes it obvious that neither party is in the marriage for material or for survival. I think a prenup is cool. It is suppose to be till death do us apart, but, humans are funny. A prenup enforces each persons right to be and individual. And some humans are vengeful. When some humans start hating, they go all out to destroy you. You know what they say about a woman's scorn. Ha ahahahah. Love should not blind logic. I do not disagree with you dude, no, not at all. However, that`s your opinion. And like they say "opinion is like A*#S": everyone has his, but that does not necessarilly mean everyone would like to see yours. >>>apology for my dirty choice of words<<< Your view is a well acceptable one around the world but yet to be known in the great continent of Africa; not yet discussing it`s acceptability. Not all we see as wisdom & being logical over there is accepted as one down here. "Logic" is a mental-psychological set of fixed arrangements that is inseparable from the known practices (culture/tradition & religion) of a given set of people. Agreeingly, there are many Africans around the world, who are currently into this contract, but not because they would have ordinarily entered into such agreement, rather they wouldn`t mind signing anything at all just to get to their targets. Nontheless, the civic principles of Individualism has presented us the civil opportunity of taken decisions & acting accordingly regardless of over whelming, traditionally acceptable & superior regarded way of life in our defferent locations. Posted: at 28-08-2010 12:36 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac | |
BS, i wanna ask cuz i dunno  In Romania they use prenuptial agreement often? Or it is rarely? No,here it's not implemented well , but ppl can legalize something similar, with their own terms, but that kind of prenup, like it is in US for example,a real prenup, it's not implemented yet,but probably soon! As far as I know, here ppl make those kind of agreements very rare!
Live and let live! Posted: at 28-08-2010 12:41 PM (14 years ago) | Hero | |
hmmm ok, cuz i was already wondering... i dont rily hear it 
Over here where i liv...hmmm we hav sometin like contract also...
But d terms r of course made by urself.... i dont c people using it much...only those with a lot of money Posted: at 28-08-2010 12:44 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero | |
Yes, it's normally to settle your own terms, and terms which do not involve only money! I know ppl who are not reach at all (like me) ,but they would be interested in signing one, because what they own wasn't earned over night, so it's normal to want to protect it!
Live and let live! Posted: at 28-08-2010 12:50 PM (14 years ago) | Hero | |
agabs at 28-08-2010 01:05 PM (14 years ago) (m) No, I won`t!
Antenuptial agreement is no topic in Africa because of religious believes, cultural practices and traditions of Africa which forms our mentality & way of life and make an average African different in reasoning, understanding, conception & perception... from our European, American...counterparts.
Asking an average African (male or female) to enter into such a contract tells him or her that the marriage is a temporal one & would end any minute you choose. This is not in line with our cultures & traditions, religion & our general way of life.
Over there, marriage is a contract (granted by the state, which makes it very loose) In Africa, marriage is a union ordained by God
Legally, it`s always a contract. But the attarchment of religious & cultural believes give it a completely different meaning and that marks the different between marriages in Nigeria, for instance & in the US.
I hate ambiguity. Ambiguity gives room for strife. The Idea of a prenup enforces trust and protects a marriage. It kind of like makes it obvious that neither party is in the marriage for material or for survival. I think a prenup is cool. It is suppose to be till death do us apart, but, humans are funny. A prenup enforces each persons right to be and individual. And some humans are vengeful. When some humans start hating, they go all out to destroy you. You know what they say about a woman's scorn. Ha ahahahah. Love should not blind logic. I do not disagree with you dude, no, not at all. However, that`s your opinion. And like they say "opinion is like A*#S": everyone has his, but that does not necessarilly mean everyone would like to see yours. >>>apology for my dirty choice of words<<< Your view is a well acceptable one around the world but yet to be known in the great continent of Africa; not yet discussing it`s acceptability. Not all we see as wisdom & being logical over there is accepted as one down here. "Logic" is a mental-psychological set of fixed arrangements that is inseparable from the known practices (culture/tradition & religion) of a given set of people. Agreeingly, there are many Africans around the world, who are currently into this contract, but not because they would have ordinarily entered into such agreement, rather they wouldn`t mind signing anything at all just to get to their targets. Nontheless, the civic principles of Individualism has presented us the civil opportunity of taken decisions & acting accordingly regardless of over whelming, traditionally acceptable & superior regarded way of life in our defferent locations. Yep, u have urs and I have mine. However, for sport, I would love for you to adopt my opinion. Now, wouldn't that be good for self aggrandizement? You have barricaded yourself; agreeing that you see things from both angles and yet you preserve the right to choose and you exercise it in the choice of your opinion makes it difficult to antagonize you on this issue. One must therefore listen and implore you to teach us how and why you arrived at your choice of no prenupt. @Bettychy, why do you not like prenupts? Why? Are you insecure? Are you a coward? Are you scared of reality? Are you sentimental? Is there some religious encouragement that coaxex your choice? Why? Teach me please. You might make a believer out of me. Posted: at 28-08-2010 01:05 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming | |
agabs at 28-08-2010 01:19 PM (14 years ago) (m) @bettychy[Nearly typed @uglybetty, ha ahahaha] See, your lines below. Not all we see as wisdom & being logical over there is accepted as one down here. "Logic" is a mental-psychological set of fixed arrangements that is inseparable from the known practices (culture/tradition & religion) of a given set of people. =========== Your line above is kosher when we are partial to a set of people. However, every mans logic is correct. I won't pursue this logic discuss cause it will like throw us out of kilter. I wonder if it will be alright to say some logic is higher than others. Yes. It will be alright and in consonance with the universe to say logic can be ranked. Wow! ========= Agreeingly, there are many Africans around the world, who are currently into this contract, but not because they would have ordinarily entered into such agreement, rather they wouldn`t mind signing anything at all just to get to their targets. Your statement above is right. Yep. Too many looking for escape from poverty or for acceptance or something. Every man has some design. The question is, "is it selfish or is it not?" Humanity! Beautiful humanity! I guess that is why everyman has to be self conscious and self-serving: mentally and physically. Posted: at 28-08-2010 01:19 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming | |
First of all, based on the percentage of divorces that happen in western societies, I don't blame these men who want their spouses to sign these agreements especially if these men are wealthy! Unfortunately it's very hard for them to know if a woman likes them genuinely or if she's just a gold-digger. Therefore I'll have to say yes i will sign the agreement afterall if I really love him and he sees it a while after its been signed, he might remove the agreement. Also, let him sign it afterall I'm gonna be an independent woman who can stand on her own two feet. I won't marry a man cause I NEED him, no people, I'll marry him cause i WANT him Posted: at 28-08-2010 01:57 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming | |
born to win... Wud u still sign it, if he doesnt cancel d contract after a while ? Posted: at 28-08-2010 02:00 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero | |