The Ironies of Nigeria's Political Leadership

Date: 13-10-2008 11:37 pm (15 years ago) | Author: Dave Chico
- at 13-10-2008 11:37 PM (15 years ago)
In most developed countries, if not all, political leaders are often very sound academically
In Nigeria, a large percentage of political leaders are "practically" academically unaware and may not even be able to make an intelligible statement without reading it from a peice of paper. Embarrassed

In developed countries,political debates and debates are held in academic institutions.
In Nigeria, political debates are held in NTA network studio with heavy scrutiny of reporters and questions to be asked. and the arguments? on the street with aids from their hired armed thugs. WINNER TAKES ALL STYLE. Grin

In developed countries, academic institutions are regarded as the bedrock of the political class
In Nigeria, academic institutions are the recruitment centres for political thugs and radicals.

In developed countries, the opinion of the people are reverred and respected by the political class,
In Nigeria, the opinion of the political class is worshipped and enslaves the people.

In developed countries,in most cases, acheivement puts one in leadership office.
In Nigeria, in almost all cases, with the leadership position comes the acheivement.

In developed countries, the brightest students are employed by the government,becoming potential leaders.
In Nigeria,the government employs nobody anymore(except through the back door) and you know the rest.

In developed countries, the higher the leadership position occupied the more your responsibilities and the tougher it becomes.
In Nigeria, the higher the leadership position held the more free time and holidays the leader is entitled to. cos the larger the number of surbordinates he can pass his responsibilities to.

In developed parts of the world, leadership is by choice.
In Nigeria, leadership is by force. DO OR DIE STYLE.

In other parts of the world, leaders resign when accused of misuse of power by the people.
In Nigeria, leaders just never quit... they rather remain there @ all cost, no matter what the people are saying.

In developed countries, leadership exposes the leaders strenghts and weaknesses.
In Nigeria, leadership makes the leader a SUPERMAN cos he/she will definitely have no weaknesses. Who dare say his/her has one? He/she will definitely be tagged "POLITICAL ENEMY" for such a treacherous act by numerous psychofans.

In developed countries, to contest for leadership positions is to put oneself up for public scrutiny.
In Nigeria, to contest for leadership position is put oneself up for public magnification and immunity from public scrutiny.

One could go on and on with the ironies.

You don't necessarily have to agree with me on these ironies... just my assessment of the political leadership in Nigeria.

After all said and said Grin... WE ARE ALL LEADERS IN ONE MAGNITUDE OR THE OTHER...

Posted: at 13-10-2008 11:37 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 16-10-2008 02:02 AM (15 years ago)
1.You 1st point is not always true.Bush & Mc Cain are huge failures academically,yet...
2.We dont ve real political debates here.
4.Not anymore.The opinion of the poor is not respected at much anywhere this days.
5.The same holds for the so called developed countries.What did Bush jr.achieve before he was made President?
7.Can U prove that?
8.I guess Mc Cain's attacks on Obama's person wont be seen as "Do or Die"?
9.Did Clinton resign when his playboyism was revealed?Has Bush resigned after lying to Americans & the world that Iraq had WMD?
10.Same in the US.Have U not heard Bush during the GOP National Convention call those that oppose him "the angry left"?

We dont ve leaders in Nigeria.We only ve RULERS.However,no human political system can lay claim to perfection.No country is "Developed".We are all "developing".Some are just far more advanced than others.But that does not make them developed.Development is a process,not a project.If any country claim to be DEVELOPED,Let her stop developing.

Posted: at 16-10-2008 02:02 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 16-10-2008 02:12 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 16-10-2008 02:02 AM
1.You 1st point is not always true.Bush & Mc Cain are huge failures academically,yet...
2.We dont ve real political debates here.
4.Not anymore.The opinion of the poor is not respected at much anywhere this days.
5.The same holds for the so called developed countries.What did Bush jr.achieve before he was made President?
7.Can U prove that?
8.I guess Mc Cain's attacks on Obama's person wont be seen as "Do or Die"?
9.Did Clinton resign when his playboyism was revealed?Has Bush resigned after lying to Americans & the world that Iraq had WMD?
10.Same in the US.Have U not heard Bush during the GOP National Convention call those that oppose him "the angry left"?

We dont ve leaders in Nigeria.We only ve RULERS.However,no human political system can lay claim to perfection.No country is "Developed".We are all "developing".Some are just far more advanced than others.But that does not make them developed.Development is a process,not a project.If any country claim to be DEVELOPED,Let her stop developing.

now ur first point is wrong
Posted: at 16-10-2008 02:12 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Utoski at 16-10-2008 10:40 AM (15 years ago)
Thanks for taking your time to type your opinion Godsson..
You obviously have good judgement.
But you seems to have narrowed these words "developed countries" strictly to the US of A. Smiley
I actually had a global view in mind when i used the term "developed countries" not any single country in particular.
And about whether i can prove the fact that the higher ur leadership position held the more holidays you enjoy ... you can try visiting the National Assembly in Abuja... you will get proof in abundance.
but anyway, like you said.... we have got Rulers not leaders.

and hope u have proof to say that McCain and Bush were academic failures.?.. thats a statement with grieve consequencies... i guess its just your opinion.
Posted: at 16-10-2008 10:40 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 16-10-2008 08:03 PM (15 years ago)
Ukoski
Thanks.I used the U.S.A because it's a microcosm of the convention conception of a "developed state".Those who see some states as "developed" & others as "developing" see the USA as a model of development.Hence my citing it.

On u proof on the holiday,Senator Mc Cain has has missed sitting more than any other Senator.Obama is number 3 in the list of those who have missed sittings.Between the two of them is a Senator suffering from stroke,who's number 2.

On Mc Cain & Bush,go read more about them & u'll confirm my claim.Mc Cain's case was even talked about in his Convention,so it's no news.On Bush,there's a new movie about him,titled "W",that would hit shelves soon.See that movie.
Posted: at 16-10-2008 08:03 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 17-10-2008 01:55 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 16-10-2008 08:03 PM
Ukoski
Thanks.I used the U.S.A because it's a microcosm of the convention conception of a "developed state".Those who see some states as "developed" & others as "developing" see the USA as a model of development.Hence my citing it.

On u proof on the holiday,Senator Mc Cain has has missed sitting more than any other Senator.Obama is number 3 in the list of those who have missed sittings.Between the two of them is a Senator suffering from stroke,who's number 2.

On Mc Cain & Bush,go read more about them & u'll confirm my claim.Mc Cain's case was even talked about in his Convention,so it's no news.On Bush,there's a new movie about him,titled "W",that would hit shelves soon.See that movie.
can u forget usa and talk nigeria for crying out loud. they both have their own separate problems
Posted: at 17-10-2008 01:55 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 23-10-2008 07:54 PM (15 years ago)
PEARL!
And who the folk are U to tell me what to talk about?If u want to be parochial,be my guest.But note that I am a citizen of the WORLD so I talk about any country I deem fit.
Posted: at 23-10-2008 07:54 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

6. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

7. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

8. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

9. Daughter Of 14th Emir Of Kano Replies X User Who Described Her Husband As A ''Yoruba Man''

10. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

11. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

12. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

13. BREAKING: 119 Inmates Escape As Heavy Rains Destroy Suleja Prisons

14. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

15. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

16. "I’ve Been Married for 20 Years But Never Cooked" – Mojisola Hunponu-Wusu

17. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims

18. “My Album Is Coming To Save You All From Shitty Music” – Zinoleesky Tells Nigerians

19. Igbos Contributed To The Development Of Lagos, Abuja, Other States -Enugu Ex Gov, Nwodo

20. Lady, Hajara Yusuf Pours Hot Cooking Oil On Man Over N100 In Adamawa