@ poster, I need to warn you that, in this forum, there exist a plethora of young kids, who would be very quick to jump at you and use abusive words, please disregard them. While Nigerians are very respectful, there are alot who would insult you pretty well, as long as they have nothing to gain from you. Now back to the subject.
1. I'm almost sure your husband is a Nigerian. Very much doubt there many Africans out there excited about claiming Nigerian citizenship. Our reputation is too good for that.
2. Your husband as u had hinted may have other reasons why he doesn't want you to go to Nigeria, security may or may not be one of them. There is a strong likelihood that security is indeed one of such reasons.
3. Is Nigeria dangerousness? You bet it is. Would you get in trouble if you visit. I could almost bet you my next pay check, that you will not be hurt at all in Nigeria.
4. I once had a white girlfriend who wanted to visit Nigeria. A Nigerian Prof. who hadn't visit Nigeria in years went on his knees begging this girl not to go. I told her, please go if you want to. Long story short...she went to Nigeria-mind you, unaccompanied by me- plan was to stay 2 weeks, guess how long she stayed? 6weeks. She loved it it...in 11months she went back again. So please, Nigeria does not eat her inhabitants.
5. I will not lie against the truth, Nigeria is tough, but with the smallest caution you'll be fine. I was in Bronx New York in 2002, now thats what you call dangerous, not Nigeria....what we have in Nigeria are mere area boys.....people who are angry because they're hungry....in the ghetto in New York these phyukers carry guns and kill for the fun of it....if you must fear, fear the Bronx, not Ibadan, please.
So bottom line, fear not, go if your husband wants you to go, by the way, tell him to stop being paranoid, Naija is not that bad. Just lay low and you will be okay. Personally, my job will not let me visit Naija, they said, I need to get some kind of govt. security anti-terrorism training...I laughed and told them, for where? me when don dodge bullets tire for warri..na today?. So my friend, go if you want to...its no biggies.
Posted: at 22-10-2010 11:45 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie |