Court Slams Peter Obi For Presenting Illegal Documents in His Petition Against Tinubu’s Victory

Date: 01-06-2023 11:12 pm (9 months ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 1-06-2023 11:12 PM (9 months ago)

The Labour Party (LP) and Peter Obi, its presidential candidate, have come under fire from the presidential election petition court for their lack of preparation in the suit filed to challenge President Bola Ahmed Tinubu’s victory.

The court adjourned the hearing of Peter Obi’s petition against Tinubu on Wednesday due to the illness of two important petitioner staff members. On Thursday, the hearing was resumed.

Emeka Okpoko, a senior member of the petitioners’ legal team, attempted to present electoral records as exhibits before the court on Thursday during the resumed court session.

However, it was claimed that the paperwork hadn’t been scheduled before the court and filed correctly.

As a result, the court halted the hearing for ten minutes and ordered the defense team to re-file the schedule of documents in accordance with the pre-hearing report’s guidelines.

But when the court met again, the petitioners’ legal counsel remained disorganized.

Disappointed, Haruna Tsammani, who presided over a five-person court panel, encouraged the petitioners to request a delay so they could arrange their paperwork correctly.

“What we have done today is a waste of time. I think you underrated the kind of job you have to do,” one of the justices said.

Responding, Awa Kalu, another senior lawyer in the petitioners’ team, said they won’t be taking the adjournment suggested by the court.

“I took an adjournment yesterday and I would not like to do that today,” Kalu said.

Issues were later resolved and the petitioners tendered electoral documents (form EC8As) from six states.

In the petition filed by Obi and the Labour Party, a total of 83 witnesses would be called by both the petitioners and the respondents.

The petitioners indicated that they would call 50 witnesses, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) listed five witnesses, Tinubu and Shettima listed 21 witnesses and the APC listed seven witnesses.

The court fixed May 30 to June 23 for Obi and LP to prove their case, June 24 to June 29 for INEC, and June 30 to July 5 for Tinubu and Shettima, while the APC would present its case between July 6 to July 10.

August 5 is fixed for the adoption of final addresses. So far, only one witness has been called by the petitioners.

Posted: at 1-06-2023 11:12 PM (9 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 1-06-2023 11:20 PM (9 months ago)
They think court business is child's play like they keep abusing people on Instagram and Facebook... silly inept people common paper work dem no fit arrange... silly joker  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 1-06-2023 11:20 PM (9 months ago) | Grande Master
- Iwaye1 at 2-06-2023 12:16 AM (9 months ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  1-06-2023 11:20 PM
They think court business is child's play like they keep abusing people on Instagram and Facebook... silly inept people common paper work dem no fit arrange... silly joker  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
gogomumu your mumu nor too much?Huh??
Posted: at 2-06-2023 12:16 AM (9 months ago) | Newbie
- Zee006677 at 2-06-2023 04:34 AM (9 months ago)
Quote from: Iwaye1 on  2-06-2023 04:34 AM
Quote from: gogoman on  1-06-2023 11:20 PM

gogomumu your mumu nor too much?Huh??
Tell that fool again wey call himself @gogoman abi na ogogoro man!
Posted: at 2-06-2023 04:34 AM (9 months ago) | Upcoming
- kp45 at 2-06-2023 05:17 AM (9 months ago)
APC is the court and I won't be surprise
Posted: at 2-06-2023 05:17 AM (9 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dopybadass at 2-06-2023 06:47 AM (9 months ago)
How I wish this case is been handled in the UK not Nigeria,these people are all the same, tinibu probably may have bribed them all
Posted: at 2-06-2023 06:47 AM (9 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- Makodama at 2-06-2023 11:06 AM (9 months ago)
Hehehehe.Pitobi still de hustle?Lawyers are steady cashing out big time.That dude is the greatest clown I've ever seen.Hehehehe...

Posted: at 2-06-2023 11:06 AM (9 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dopybadass at 4-06-2023 09:49 PM (9 months ago)
Quote from: Makodama on  2-06-2023 11:06 AM
Hehehehe.Pitobi still de hustle?Lawyers are steady cashing out big time.That dude is the greatest clown I've ever seen.Hehehehe...
Na your idiot papa be the greatest clown of all time mugu
Posted: at 4-06-2023 09:49 PM (9 months ago) | Gistmaniac