Nigerian Accused Of Insulting Governor On Facebook Released

Date: 03-02-2011 5:27 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 3-02-2011 05:27 PM (13 years ago)
Moukhtar Ibrahim Aminu, the   Nigerian citizen who was arrested and detained for 10 days for insulting" Governor Sule Lamido of Jigawa State on Facebook, has been released following an international uproar.

Moukhtar had been thrown behind bars by a Dutse magistrate judge, Mustapha Saad, who ordered that he be remanded in prison until February 7th, 2011.

Moukhtar's father, Alhaji Aminu Moukhtar told SaharaReporters today that the Attorney General of Jigawa state discontinued the case suddenly.  He said after Moukhtar was released, the governor’s aides requested that their principal wanted to see him at the Governor's Lodge to "discipline" him as a father, a proposal Alhaji Moukhtar said he rejected.  The governor then threatened to re-arrest Moukhtar and try him under the Sharia law.

Moukhtar and his father have since fled Jigawa state.  He said they drove all night to Kano where Moukhtar remains hospitalized at an undisclosed hospital.
Moukhtar was first detained by the police in Abuja for 10 days after Governor Lamido reported him to the police for "criminal defamation" regarding his Facebook postings against the governor.  Moukhtar was moved to Dutse on Monday and charged under a strange law.  Following his night in prison custody, the story went international after SaharaReporters published the story, with Governor Lamido suffering the scorn and contempt of posters across the world.   The UK-based Nigeria Liberty Forum (NLF) also began a massive campaign to seek the release of Moukhtar from prison.

Alhaji Ibrahim Aminu says he plans to go into hiding with his son to avoid further arrest and detention.

Posted: at 3-02-2011 05:27 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- japhethjeff at 3-02-2011 05:40 PM (13 years ago)
eyaaaaa........
Posted: at 3-02-2011 05:40 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- igweshi at 3-02-2011 05:44 PM (13 years ago)
nigeria is a democratical nation so there for we have freedom of speech what the governor did to moukhtar is notting but evidence of bad governance shariya law is not the best for the poor boy mr governor u only doing this cause u have power over him, cause his from no were.rubbish
Posted: at 3-02-2011 05:44 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Hacomer at 3-02-2011 05:50 PM (13 years ago)
This is preposterous, and it can only be happing in Nigeria. These looters in office think they are now demi gods, well Governor Lamido you are a punk, a punk that is hiding behind state powers. Mukthar we commend you, do not let this shut you up keep up the good work. God bless
Posted: at 3-02-2011 05:50 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- goingwithyou at 3-02-2011 05:52 PM (13 years ago)
U can imagine .. Am scared to say my mind out in here too bcos i did nt av any one to figh tfor me just God ...
Posted: at 3-02-2011 05:52 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- serababy at 3-02-2011 06:07 PM (13 years ago)
hmmm nawaoooooo
Posted: at 3-02-2011 06:07 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ammey at 3-02-2011 06:18 PM (13 years ago)
 Shocked and  Embarrassed me i no go talk o because na only Allah i get o,is this DEMOCRACY or DEMOCRAZY
Posted: at 3-02-2011 06:18 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- vantheo at 3-02-2011 06:28 PM (13 years ago)
That governor is a fool! An idiot! Numbskull! Indiscrupulous element. Oya make him come arrest me

Posted: at 3-02-2011 06:28 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sugaDaddy1forU at 3-02-2011 06:34 PM (13 years ago)
ONLY IN NIGERIA THIS FOOLS WILL DO THIS KIND OF THINGS. POLITICIANS WILL STEAL MONEY AND STAY JAIL FREE, BUT A POOR CIVILIAN WILL BE JAILED FOR SAYING SOMETHING. IF WE'RE ONE UNITED COUNTRY, WHY CANT WE HAVE ONE  ABIDING LAW. THIS STUPID SHARIA LAW SHOULD BE ABOLISH.

Posted: at 3-02-2011 06:34 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mma4life at 3-02-2011 06:37 PM (13 years ago)
This is rubbish. What has he done currently 2 d well bein of dis great country order dan 2 drive dis young man arround. If he didn't knw what 2 use his time 2 do, let him go 2 bed nd hv some rest nd leave dis young man alon if not, more insult is comin. And to Moukhtar if u hv not apologized jst go nd do so nd leave d rest 2 God. He is governor 2day, who knwz wht u will be 2morow. 
Posted: at 3-02-2011 06:37 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- sugaDaddy1forU at 3-02-2011 06:39 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: vantheo on  3-02-2011 06:28 PM
That governor is a fool! An idiot! Numbskull! Indiscrupulous element. Oya make him come arrest me
OLD BOY THAT GUY RESEMBLE VERY WELL.

Posted: at 3-02-2011 06:39 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toyosidada at 3-02-2011 06:40 PM (13 years ago)
Governor Sule Lamido of Jigawa is a BASTARD, Sulemon, MUMU. NOW Lemme see u take me to Jail.. What happened to freedom of speech?  You should be able to say what you want when you want to whoever you want. What tha F@#$. Especially on Facebook. I will say my mind to whoever i please if i want and I wish they take me to jail so i can cause wahala for them.....
Posted: at 3-02-2011 06:40 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sugaDaddy1forU at 3-02-2011 06:44 PM (13 years ago)
OLD BOY THAT GUY RESEMBLE YOU VERY WELL.

Posted: at 3-02-2011 06:44 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- goody4info at 3-02-2011 06:52 PM (13 years ago)
Is this not a DEMOCRATIC GOVERNMENT or has it change its government?

That is really Babaric

Every Nigerian has the FREEDOM OF SPEECH,

Tell him to go and read the Nigerian Consititution

Foolishness!!!! Madness!!!

What is he doing in his office, Abeg if he doesn't know wat to do tell him to go and cut grass for my goat over there.

Or else MORE INSULT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 3-02-2011 06:52 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- DEYE at 3-02-2011 07:08 PM (13 years ago)
 Dis na opresion oooo, (he was charged under a strange law) wich means d law no dey constitution at all, dem turn democracy 2 destruction, nonsence.
Posted: at 3-02-2011 07:08 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- princedafe at 3-02-2011 07:11 PM (13 years ago)
Kpele
Posted: at 3-02-2011 07:11 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ammey at 3-02-2011 07:14 PM (13 years ago)
is it now a crime to write your personal information on facebook,power drunkards will now use it to get you arrested,so please beware!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 3-02-2011 07:14 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- aliaaz at 3-02-2011 07:20 PM (13 years ago)
Lol

Posted: at 3-02-2011 07:20 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chinwangwa at 3-02-2011 07:29 PM (13 years ago)

Nigerians are not really happy at all over powered connectivity with politicians.
Because he is a governor an then...
God will judge him as fast as possible by odering for his arrest.
The person that reminded him to prison is an illiterate.
He or she is not qualified as a lawyer or maji.

Who cares?
People loot money wort billions and go free...
People stole millions and got bail immediately then why poor man?
At least Cairo crisis will teach some leaders example. .
The said leaders should be careful the way they handle poor pikin cases...
No one will escapes my ideas..
At least my knowledge in Israeli training school can nevr be a waste.
Only fools can be ruled with money as that court did to remind him to prison.
They should investigate that maji is he or she passed h/r common entrance examination...
Posted: at 3-02-2011 07:29 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- esekelvin at 3-02-2011 07:35 PM (13 years ago)
Guy you forgot to put your address for them to arrest u... Lol
Posted: at 3-02-2011 07:35 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7