Should pastors in Nigeria pay tax? (Page 3)

Date: 04-02-2011 1:18 am (13 years ago) | Author: angelslos
1 2 [3] 4 5 6
- mubaji at 17-02-2011 02:30 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Ascondy on 17-02-2011 02:14 PM
Quote from: donuche on 17-02-2011 01:59 PM
some people will just open their mouth and begin to talk rubbish. there is no where churches pay taxes just like every other charitable organization and churches are classified as one. those who are talking about europe and other civilized world paying taxes should know that every individual that constitute the church pays their taxes which was also the one that jesus himself paid. then tell me who again is the church if not the individual members that make up the church. i hate people who claim to know what they dont know.´if we are talking about church paying for the social service they are getting from the government like water,electricity, gas and the annual taxes that is being payed for buildings including residential buildings that one is quite understandable but not paying taxes just because people pays their thith and offerings. most of our members that lives abroad can be able to tell what the government of other countries in the world are doing for their citizen with taxes they were paying but here in nigeria it is our government that is even stealing from us.they steal from the blind,the sick,the poor,the lame and even the mad people because when you are diverting into your pocket what is supposed to be used in taking care of all this people you are stealing from them and some idiots here are buzy talking rubbish like mugu s that they are who does not know their right. in abroad government hospitals and some others too that are working with the government goes to a patients house to carry him to the hospital with ambulance for free even before and after treatment. let us wake up and stop pursuing  shadows. who among you here can tell me one tangible thing that him and his entire house hold have ever got from those bunch of criminals that call themselves our leader and u we were buzy here soliciting for more funds for them to chop and die from our religious houses. niajapalist let us wake up and stop being a bunch of fools. so many of u have traveled far and wide u see how things work every other places. it is only in nigerian that accident victims,armed robbery attack victims,women in labor die because they do not have money to deposit in the hospitals before they could be treated even in an emergency situations.  when i traveled abroad newly i had an argument with a friend who told me that as i was still a new immigrant without a residence that if i fell sick that the government will bring an ambulance to come and carry me to the hospital with out paying a dime even after i might have treated and i decided to see for my self by just deciding to go and take a bed rest in the hospital so i asked him to call the ambulance for me that i am sick,he called an ambulance immediately and i was treated and given a bed rest for good one week with all the all the diets,fruits and foods that i was given. i did not pay a dime for it´` imagine a black man and a foreigner like me then. most of this churches are even more relevant and helpful to the common man than the government itself. so many churches are paying for so may people s school fees,hospital bills,house rents,taking care of the less privllages,the ophans ,the aged and the widows. how many of all this have your government ever did for this people?.do you know that other countries pay their aged citizens and physically challenged persons every month as well sponsoring their holiday trips even abroad because they are human beings too that deserves some rest and fun like the normal people.
i dont understand what some people have against churches and pastors in this forum as if that is the problems that is facing or destroying nigeria as a nation. we should be thinking about how to make our leaders accountable for their stewardship or throw them out like the egyptians did to mubarak and his cohort. we nigerians are nothing but bunch of cowards always ranting at what and who we were not supposed to rant at. the billions of dollars they get from our oil,airport,sea port,PHCN and in the revenue upon revenue they generate every day have not been accounted for or used judiciously. it took the egyptians only but 15 days to up turn the 30 years government of mubarak but we are here talking like fools and chasing shadows......wake up and stop fighting the churches because they are not our problems but the bunch of vampires that are occupying our government offices calling them selves our leaders when they were in actual case our killers. kidney are are transplanted free of charges abroad only if you would wait for the government because some times kidneys were not always available but as soon as they got they will call you on phone to come and have a whole kidney transplant for free. let us ask our self why we do not have an ordinary good health care service delivery,water,good roads,electricity,good educational systems and security with all the of millions of barrels of oil that nigeria are selling every day at the rate of 100$ and some times above that per a barrell time millions every single day. how many of you have ever been given a soft loan of money,a house,a car with less than 5% a month to pay back in 10 years by your wicked government. that is why millions of nigerians including our graduate,sports men and good brains are wondering all over the world including in war zone and dangerous countries like afghanistan,pakistan,pallestine,iraq and some poorer countries all in search of a greener pastures  because there is no infrastructural and financial encouragement of any type here from our government. once you have a set back in your business in nigeria you will remain poor except by the divine grace of GOD. that is why are all prayer warriors in nigeria because we pray before we be able to get every thing, we pray to get water,food,medical care,electricity,security from the the security agency that we are all paying their salaries collectively,even to get to our working  places on time without entering one chance or hold up on traffic we pray.if baba GOD is a man all his house would have been filled up including his farmland,back yard and even toilets with the prayer request of nigerian alone.we are treated like animals outside nigeria and even some times inside nigeria. let us wake up and challenge those who have brought us into this mess and not the church or any other religious body.
Bros u done rit book so ooooh na hw we go sale am na him i dey fine so oooooh, n i also agry wit ur 1st line.
Grin  Grin  Grin
Posted: at 17-02-2011 02:30 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pholake at 17-02-2011 02:39 PM (13 years ago)
Why not?  Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 17-02-2011 02:39 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 17-02-2011 03:01 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: xgel on  4-02-2011 01:18 AM
Should pastors in Nigeria pay tax?

so all those illegal , tricky accumulated wealth is tax free ?
Posted: at 17-02-2011 03:01 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- harold634 at 17-02-2011 03:06 PM (13 years ago)
some people will just open their mouth and begin to talk rubbish. there is no where churches pay taxes just like every other charitable organization and churches are classified as one. those who are talking about europe and other civilized world paying taxes should know that every individual that constitute the church pays their taxes which was also the one that jesus himself paid. then tell me who again is the church if not the individual members that make up the church. i hate people who claim to know what they dont know.´if we are talking about church paying for the social service they are getting from the government like water,electricity, gas and the annual taxes that is being payed for buildings including residential buildings that one is quite understandable but not paying taxes just because people pays their thith and offerings. most of our members that lives abroad can be able to tell what the government of other countries in the world are doing for their citizen with taxes they were paying but here in nigeria it is our government that is even stealing from us.they steal from the blind,the sick,the poor,the lame and even the mad people because when you are diverting into your pocket what is supposed to be used in taking care of all this people you are stealing from them and some idiots here are buzy talking rubbish like mugu s that they are who does not know their right. in abroad government hospitals and some others too that are working with the government goes to a patients house to carry him to the hospital with ambulance for free even before and after treatment. let us wake up and stop pursuing  shadows. who among you here can tell me one tangible thing that him and his entire house hold have ever got from those bunch of criminals that call themselves our leader and u we were buzy here soliciting for more funds for them to chop and die from our religious houses. niajapalist let us wake up and stop being a bunch of fools. so many of u have traveled far and wide u see how things work every other places. it is only in nigerian that accident victims,armed robbery attack victims,women in labor die because they do not have money to deposit in the hospitals before they could be treated even in an emergency situations.  when i traveled abroad newly i had an argument with a friend who told me that as i was still a new immigrant without a residence that if i fell sick that the government will bring an ambulance to come and carry me to the hospital with out paying a dime even after i might have treated and i decided to see for my self by just deciding to go and take a bed rest in the hospital so i asked him to call the ambulance for me that i am sick,he called an ambulance immediately and i was treated and given a bed rest for good one week with all the all the diets,fruits and foods that i was given. i did not pay a dime for it´` imagine a black man and a foreigner like me then. most of this churches are even more relevant and helpful to the common man than the government itself. so many churches are paying for so may people s school fees,hospital bills,house rents,taking care of the less privllages,the ophans ,the aged and the widows. how many of all this have your government ever did for this people?.do you know that other countries pay their aged citizens and physically challenged persons every month as well sponsoring their holiday trips even abroad because they are human beings too that deserves some rest and fun like the normal people.
i dont understand what some people have against churches and pastors in this forum as if that is the problems that is facing or destroying nigeria as a nation. we should be thinking about how to make our leaders accountable for their stewardship or throw them out like the egyptians did to mubarak and his cohort. we nigerians are nothing but bunch of cowards always ranting at what and who we were not supposed to rant at. the billions of dollars they get from our oil,airport,sea port,PHCN and in the revenue upon revenue they generate every day have not been accounted for or used judiciously. it took the egyptians only but 15 days to up turn the 30 years government of mubarak but we are here talking like fools and chasing shadows......wake up and stop fighting the churches because they are not our problems but the bunch of vampires that are occupying our government offices calling them selves our leaders when they were in actual case our killers. kidney are are transplanted free of charges abroad only if you would wait for the government because some times kidneys were not always available but as soon as they got they will call you on phone to come and have a whole kidney transplant for free. let us ask our self why we do not have an ordinary good health care service delivery,water,good roads,electricity,good educational systems and security with all the of millions of barrels of oil that nigeria are selling every day at the rate of 100$ and some times above that per a barrell time millions every single day. how many of you have ever been given a soft loan of money,a house,a car with less than 5% a month to pay back in 10 years by your wicked government. that is why millions of nigerians including our graduate,sports men and good brains are wondering all over the world including in war zone and dangerous countries like afghanistan,pakistan,pallestine,iraq and some poorer countries all in search of a greener pastures  because there is no infrastructural and financial encouragement of any type here from our government. once you have a set back in your business in nigeria you will remain poor except by the divine grace of GOD. that is why are all prayer warriors in nigeria because we pray before we be able to get every thing, we pray to get water,food,medical care,electricity,security from the the security agency that we are all paying their salaries collectively,even to get to our working  places on time without entering one chance or hold up on traffic we pray.if baba GOD is a man all his house would have been filled up including his farmland,back yard and even toilets with the prayer request of nigerian alone.we are treated like animals outside nigeria and even some times inside nigeria. let us wake up and challenge those who have brought us into this mess and not the church or any other religious body.

Nice write up. so many people using this naijapals are not exposed, for this reasons, they are narrow minded with their thought. they are OYES MEMBER'S.
Posted: at 17-02-2011 03:06 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- goingwithyou at 17-02-2011 04:15 PM (13 years ago)
I dot care ...
Posted: at 17-02-2011 04:15 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maffrodisiac at 17-02-2011 04:40 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: mubaji on  4-02-2011 10:21 PM
what's that special in pastors that will exempt them from other tax-payers?

Well questionee, they are special cos they are men of God. They represent God on earth.
Posted: at 17-02-2011 04:40 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- mubaji at 17-02-2011 04:46 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: maffrodisiac on 17-02-2011 04:40 PM

Well questionee, they are special cos they are men of God. They represent God on earth.
well answerer, the question is a rhetoric one -i don't expect anybody's answer. the fact is that they don't differ from other men who pay tax; some of them are even worse than others who pay tax.
Posted: at 17-02-2011 04:46 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maffrodisiac at 17-02-2011 04:57 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: mubaji on 17-02-2011 04:46 PM
Quote from: maffrodisiac on 17-02-2011 04:40 PM

well answerer, the question is a rhetoric one -i don't expect anybody's answer. the fact is that they don't differ from other men who pay tax; some of them are even worse than others who pay tax.
Ok o. I rest my case
Posted: at 17-02-2011 04:57 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- enoeno at 17-02-2011 04:59 PM (13 years ago)

yes mallam, nothing is so special in pastors and also to afas should all pay taxs chikena.
Posted: at 17-02-2011 04:59 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Inemx at 17-02-2011 05:19 PM (13 years ago)

WITH DUE RESPECT SIR. RE-READ THE TOPIC. I THINK THERE IS A DIFFERENT BETWEEN A PASTOR AND A CHUCRH...A PASTOR IS A MEMBER OF THE CHUCH JUST LIKE EVERY OTHER PERSON WHO CONSTITUTES A CHURCH. BEING A PASTOR DOES NOT IN ANY WAY DENIES ONE HIS OR HER CIVIC RESPONSIBILTIES. IN AS MUCH AS A PASTOR MOVES HIS CAR ON THE GOVT ROAD, ENJOYS ELECTICITY FROM GOVT, AND EVERY OTHER BENEFITS., AND IF HE PAYS HIS TITHES AND OFFERINGS TO GOD FOR SPIRITUAL BLESSING , HE SHUD ALSO PAY HIS TAX TO GOVT FOR HIS SOCIAL WELBEING. NO ONE IS ABOVE THE LAW ,... FOR LAW IS NO RESPECTER OF PERSON .IF HE DOES NOT RESPECT THE LAW THE THAT GOVERNS THE SOCIETY IN WHICH HIS CHURCH PLANTED, HOW WILL HE ABLE TO IMPACT HIS FOLLOWERS REGARDING  COMPLETE OBIDIENCE. HE SHUD LEAD BY EXAMPLE
Posted: at 17-02-2011 05:19 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jayeolamao at 17-02-2011 06:52 PM (13 years ago)
THIS PEOPLE ARE MEN OF GOD HENCE THERE SHOULD BE IMMUNITY FOR THEM UNLESS OUR GOVERMENT ARE SEEKING FOR GOD ANGER.THANKS
Posted: at 17-02-2011 06:52 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- nnennababe at 17-02-2011 07:01 PM (13 years ago)
YES OOOOOOOOOOOOO
Posted: at 17-02-2011 07:01 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- livingday at 17-02-2011 07:09 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: abbeyy74 on 17-02-2011 06:46 AM
Quote from: livingday on 17-02-2011 02:55 AM
Quote from: abbeyy74 on 16-02-2011 06:58 PM
Quote from: ezriano on 16-02-2011 06:43 PM
What of mosque?Huh??
yes ke both should pay becos after all they are also collecting tithe-idamewa from church members and owo adura-prayer money from mosque or muslims @ occasion,and since most of the churches or mosques refuse 2 help the society voluntarily unles government repares the road leading to the area of their churches or mosques they wont do it,so they should also pay as taxes then, becos afterall even in europe some of the churches do pay taxes as well so why not in nigeria now.

Don't say what you don't know!. Churches, just like charitable organisations, don't pay tax in Europe! In the Nigerian context, I think they should pay tax given the lucrative  business it has become, especially those that attract a huge following and thier pastors living like kings.
hallooooooooooo my dear,which side of europe are u?becos i leave in Austria very close 2 Germany and am very sure of what am saying,becos as a confirm Catolic church member U MUST PAY and the church committe @ the pfarrs -in english father office pay the rest 4 the church separetlly,so my dear dont be rude by saying some one dont know what he or she is saying when u have not done ur reserch very well.

Its you who is telling fibs here. A church is a non-profit making organisation just like other trusts and humanitarian organisations, e.g, Red Cross, Oxfam, public hospitals etc.  They are exempt from corporate tax. Austria is part of EU and tax stucture within the union is being harmoinised. I live in London and studied taxation as part of my profession. So, stop saying what you don't know.
Posted: at 17-02-2011 07:09 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ksurrina at 17-02-2011 07:19 PM (13 years ago)
Pastors pay individual income taxes. It is the churches that doesn't pay taxes because the income of the persons who contribute to it already pay such. Hugs and blessings

Posted: at 17-02-2011 07:19 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vincas at 17-02-2011 08:17 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Chiluvsky on 16-02-2011 06:28 PM
Of course they should. It is even written in the Bible dat we should give to Ceaser wat belongs to him, even Jesus paid tax.

God bless u my sister.
Posted: at 17-02-2011 08:17 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- chik001 at 17-02-2011 08:20 PM (13 years ago)

Paying Taxes:

Luke 20:20 - 26

20. Keeping a close watch on him, they sent spies, who pretended to be honest. They hoped to catch Jesus in something he said so that they might hand him over to the power and authority of the governor.

21. So the spies questioned him: “Teacher, we know that you speak and teach what is right, and that you do not show partiality but teach the way of God in accordance with the truth.

22. Is it right for us to pay taxes to Caesar or not?”

23. He saw through their duplicity and said to them, 24“Show me a denarius. Whose portrait and inscription are on it?”

25. “Caesar’s,” they replied.

He said to them, “Then give to Caesar what is Caesar’s, and to God what is God’s.”

26. They were unable to trap him in what he had said there in public. And astonished by his answer, they became silent.   Cool
Posted: at 17-02-2011 08:20 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vincas at 17-02-2011 08:20 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: jayeolamao on 17-02-2011 06:52 PM
THIS PEOPLE ARE MEN OF GOD HENCE THERE SHOULD BE IMMUNITY FOR THEM UNLESS OUR GOVERMENT ARE SEEKING FOR GOD ANGER.THANKS

U be zumbi
Posted: at 17-02-2011 08:20 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- DELAT at 17-02-2011 08:59 PM (13 years ago)
Yes,these dude must pay tax.They turn church to shop,where lot of money being made.
Posted: at 17-02-2011 08:59 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- nestoba at 17-02-2011 09:12 PM (13 years ago)
To pay tax is part of ethical and legal obligation of all citizens. As long as you have any form of income you should pay tax to the government and by that you can challenge the government on responsible use of tax payers money.
Now the issue of Pastor or Imam should they pay tax! Yes as long as they share allowances or bonus of the collection, any income should reflect in the tax office if you want to build a transparent society.
Posted: at 17-02-2011 09:12 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- macto at 17-02-2011 10:06 PM (13 years ago)
From the kind of wealth they are accumulating, They should.
Posted: at 17-02-2011 10:06 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
1 2 [3] 4 5 6

1. Heartbroken Father Mourns His 14yr Old Daughter Who Was Reportedly Poisoned in School

2. Tinubu’s Son On Chagoury’s Board Is A Conflict Of Interest Says Atiku

3. Crystal Palace v Manchester Utd: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

4. VIDEO: Church Service Comes To A Halt As Man Pulls Gun And Attempts To Shoot Pastor

5. Former Kano State Governor, Shekarau’s Residence Razed By Inferno

6. Bayern Munich Considers Replacing Tuchel With Man Utd Rejected Coach, Ten Hag

7. VIDEO: Nollywood Actress & Ex-Beauty Queen, Ronke Tiamiyu Welcomes First Child

8. VIDEO: Singer, Yemi Alade Berates House Demolition By Lagos Govt. Across The State

9. Actor, Murphy Afolabi’s Daughter Celebrates His Posthumous Birthday With Touching Note

10. Lagos Govt Shut Down 367 Churches, Mosques, Hotels, Others

11. "We Are Not Involved In Prince Harry, Meghan Visit To Nigeria" - British High Commissioner

12. NDLEA Intercepts 4,752kg Of Cannabis In Gas Tanker In Abuja

13. 'If You Have Erection, Size & Fertility Issues, Discuss It With Her Before Engaging Her' -Man

14. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

15. Two Police Officers, Three Vigilante Members Killed By Unknown Gunmen In Enugu

16. Ibadan Court Remands Tenant, Dickson Peter In Prison For Setting Landlord’s House On Fire

17. How Terrorists’ Explosion Devices Kill Seven Civilians In Borno

18. 'My Father Justice Oputa Was Socrates Of Nigerian Supreme Court'– Charly Boy Says, Pays Tribute

19. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

20. VIDEO; "Grammy Don Cast, Make We Manage Headies" – BBnaija’s Whitemoney

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

3. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

4. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

5. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

6. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

7. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

8. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria

9. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

10. Why I Am Hardly Seen in Public These Days - Veteran Actress, Stella Damasus Opens up (VID)