Don’t kill people over my ambition

Date: 08-03-2011 12:39 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 8-03-2011 12:39 PM (13 years ago)

PRESIDENT Goodluck Jonathan on Monday said his ambition and that of Vice President Namadi Sambo did not take priority over the death of Nigerians during the stampede at the Peoples Democratic Party‘s presidential rally at the Port Harcourt stadium.

Jonathan, who spoke during the presidential campaign rally at the Uyo Township Ttadium, said any politician that advocated violence and destruction during elections did not mean well for the country.

The president emphasised high-economic development as a process of transforming the country. He explained that the Federal Government was working on policies and programmes that would facilitate jobs for the unemployed youths in the country.

Jonathan said, “If we have crisis in this country, the turbulence will get to you. So anybody, who is preaching violence and destruction does not want the good of this country. I have said it on several occasions that neither my ambition nor anybody’s ambition is worth the blood of Nigerians.

“Neither my ambition nor that of my deputy, Namadi Sambo, worth the your blood. So, say no to violence. You must vote and protect your vote. By the INEC regulations, you have to stay at the polling units and protect your votes.

“Make sure nobody have the opportunity to rig elections. We are emphasising one man one vote during the poll. Stay at the polling station until votes are counted. It is only when your agents get the results that you are free to leave the polling units.

“Nobody is praying for violence, when violence comes, it will consume a lot of us.

Jonathan also reiterated the commitment of his government towards giving the country uninterrupted power supply in the next four years.

He said, “We must think of what to do to create jobs for the youths and not how to kill them. We will make sure that in the next four years, Nigerians will have power instead of darkness. We will all be guilty if after four years Nigeria is still having this kind of epileptic power supply.”

“If we cannot stabilise power, we cannot talk about small and medium scale industries; these are the industries that provide jobs for the people.”

The President reasoned that what drove most of the Asian Tiger economies were the small and medium scale enterprises, adding that the Federal Government would centre its development plan on this strategy in order to serve the interest of the people.

Jonathan added that the government would allocate adequate fund to the agriculture sector as engine of growth and development.

On the petroleum sector, he said the need to refine the products had been the major problem of the country, saying that in the next four years, the government would go beyond refining.

Posted: at 8-03-2011 12:39 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- farsam400 at 9-03-2011 12:43 AM (13 years ago)
Well spoken Mr President. God be with you to provide
services to your subjects.
Those who take up destructive weapons will die with it
Those who want to disrupt God's plans for Nigeria
are the enemies of Nigeria and will reap the consequences
Posted: at 9-03-2011 12:43 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- tyomon at 9-03-2011 01:29 AM (13 years ago)
WELL DONE MR PRESIDO,I HAVE NEVER DOUBT YOU ,
Posted: at 9-03-2011 01:29 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- truthisbitter at 13-03-2011 07:30 AM (13 years ago)
NA SO UNA DEY TALK.WHEN UNA ENTER THERE BY ANY MEANS UNA GO TURN DEAF ERAS TO US
Posted: at 13-03-2011 07:30 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Diamond4u at 14-03-2011 11:50 AM (13 years ago)
GOODLUCK FOR NIGERIA
Posted: at 14-03-2011 11:50 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- harold634 at 14-03-2011 03:24 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: farsam400 on  9-03-2011 12:43 AM
Well spoken Mr President. God be with you to provide
services to your subjects.
Those who take up destructive weapons will die with it
Those who want to disrupt God's plans for Nigeria
are the enemies of Nigeria and will reap the consequences

AMEN
Posted: at 14-03-2011 03:24 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 29-03-2011 09:28 PM (13 years ago)
Na so so talk talk but no action.....

Posted: at 29-03-2011 09:28 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Larrykingomoj at 2-04-2011 08:12 PM (13 years ago)
Given the opportunity he will deliver
Posted: at 2-04-2011 08:12 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femilux at 4-04-2011 12:30 AM (13 years ago)
THANK U SIR U TOO MUCH Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 4-04-2011 12:30 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- okwas at 4-04-2011 04:15 AM (13 years ago)
MAY GOD HELP YOU MR PRESIDENT
Posted: at 4-04-2011 04:15 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming