No one has ever insulted me like Daniel – Obasanjo

Date: 25-04-2011 3:59 am (14 years ago) | Author: Peter Izu
- at 25-04-2011 03:59 AM (14 years ago)
Former President, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, on Sunday said that no one had ever insulted him like Governor Gbenga Daniel of Ogun State. Obasanjo said his experience with the governor taught him to limit his interventions in the governance of the state and would guide his relationship with any future governor of the state.
The former President spoke at the Journalists’ Estate, Arepo, Ogun State during a campaign tour he undertook on Sunday to boost the electoral chances of the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Chief Tunji Olurin.
Obasanjo, who took questions from the members of the community and encouraged them to hold nothing back, was told by a member of the crowd that the last eight years of the party had yielded little in terms of development in most areas of the state. The questioner then asked him to give cogent reasons why they should vote for his party.
In his reply, the former President said that the two terms of Daniel had not been good enough.
He said, “I did not install Daniel. When I was President I tried as much as possible to limit my interference in the affairs of the States. I believed that I couldn’t carry elephant on my head and pick up crickets with my feet.
“When Daniel came to me and asked to go for a second term, I asked him what he had done to merit it. I told him to go and find a solution to the problems to which he promised me he would do in his second term. But his second term is worse than his first.”
He also added that former Governor of Ogun State, Chief Olusegun Osoba treated him better than Daniel did. He said the land on which he built his hilltop house and the one on which he built his Presidential Library were provided by Osoba without his seeking for it.
“I enjoyed more respect from Osoba who was not even a PDP governor than when a PDP governor is there. If a governor in my own state, in my own land, could treat me like that, I think I have learnt my lessons,” he said.
While assuring the people that the dispensation of the PDP would be different if the party won in the coming governorship election, Obasanjo advised registered citizens to vote, saying that registered voters were important parts of the electoral process.

Posted: at 25-04-2011 03:59 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osasu83 at 27-04-2011 03:20 PM (14 years ago)
becos Daniel did not give u billions from d state money  and land  now he is a bad  Obasanjo u be idiot
Posted: at 27-04-2011 03:20 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- frayobkk at 27-04-2011 04:42 PM (14 years ago)
tell am that man no fit tire

Posted: at 27-04-2011 04:42 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ibraheemjimoh at 17-05-2011 06:14 AM (13 years ago)
You have being paying back in your coins Kudos to Daniel the implementer.
Posted: at 17-05-2011 06:14 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- soljurn16 at 17-05-2011 11:45 AM (13 years ago)
Its a father and son allegiance.,letem sort it out!
Posted: at 17-05-2011 11:45 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 19-05-2011 05:28 PM (13 years ago)
but what about the former EKITI STATE gove, who publicly abused OBJ , at a function in one village in OSUN, he called him , OBJ a bastard
Posted: at 19-05-2011 05:28 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- SNYPER at 19-05-2011 07:37 PM (13 years ago)
“I enjoyed more respect from Osoba who was not even a PDP governor than when a PDP governor is there. If a governor in my own state, in my own land, could treat me like that, I think I have learnt my lessons,” he said.
While assuring the people that the dispensation of the PDP would be different if the party won in the coming governorship election, Obasanjo advised registered citizens to vote, saying that registered voters were important parts of the electoral process.

[/quote]
2007 ELECTIONS "DO OR DIE AFFAIR".....I DEY LAUGH OOOOO Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 19-05-2011 07:37 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- KINGJHOE at 21-05-2011 03:45 PM (13 years ago)
KILL HIM ABI?
Posted: at 21-05-2011 03:45 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 21-05-2011 03:49 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 21-05-2011 03:49 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- Ibrutex at 25-05-2011 02:41 PM (13 years ago)
Grin  Grin  Grin  Grin  Grin

Posted: at 25-05-2011 02:41 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 25-05-2011 09:11 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 25-05-2011 09:11 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master