Things To Talk About B4 Getting Married

Date: 06-06-2011 10:41 am (12 years ago) | Author: uduak Sophia Monday
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9
- at 6-06-2011 10:41 AM (12 years ago)
it's so exciting! There's the proposal, the ring and, of course, all the planning for the big day                                                       getting married isn't really about the wedding day -- it's about the quality of the marriage that follows. So how do you get started on the right foot?
Here are But a few Most important issues couples need to discuss b4 getting hitched.. and are Listed below

1. Decision-making model
Marriage is about compromise, meaning the art of negotiation is an essential skill. "Your decision-making model is vital because it indicates how egalitarian your relationship is,""Make sure your partner agrees with you about how an ideal relationship should work. Sharing important decisions and deciding together who should decide what takes strong listening, negotiating and problem-solving skills. You may not be perfect at it, but you need to know what you're working toward."

2. Chore and task-sharing
Do you plan to take care of the laundry, while your man takes responsibility for outdoor tasks like mowing the lawn? Don't just assume you know how these responsibilities will be divvied up. Talk about them. "Roles in relationships have been changing for the past few decades, and gender roles differ from one family to another,"Talking about it before marriage can give you a foundation on which to build later discussions if and when you find you aren't happy with the status quo."

3. Children
Do you both want children? If so, how many? And once you've got your little brood, how do you intend to raise them? While you might assume that children are an obvious part of a marriage, your partner may feel differently. "Most couples talk about how many children they'd like to have and when,"How you think children should be reared can be discussed over time as you see various families in action."

4. Religion and values
It's likely that you're marrying a person who mirrors your views on life and subscribes to the same moral code as you. But, religion and values are important to discuss because people often take these issues much more seriously after marriage than before, and extremely seriously once they have children. "You and your partner may both feel differently after you have children but at least you will have a foundation on which to build your later discussions, "You and your partner can't hold each other to what you said before if it no longer fits. But you can continue the discussion. Be flexible."

But A few Are Listed here..
Pals Ur Opinions are Needed

No Insults Pls>>>

Posted: at 6-06-2011 10:41 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Emmandazie at 6-06-2011 10:42 AM (12 years ago)
Ahien! Now you talk sense. make I drink tea come comment.
Posted: at 6-06-2011 10:42 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sophiebaby at 6-06-2011 10:45 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Emmandazie on  6-06-2011 10:42 AM
Ahien! Now you talk sense. make I drink tea come comment.

Okies! Waiting

Posted: at 6-06-2011 10:45 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dirtykid at 6-06-2011 11:16 AM (12 years ago)
All of the above is very important to discuss before getting married, get to know who you want to settle down with, what and what the person want for his/her life. Some people doesn't want to have kids but they want to get married just to have symbol that they're married etc. So is very important to know all this before making a bold step towards the alter.

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:16 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- RealOnyeigbo at 6-06-2011 11:22 AM (12 years ago)
Sophie knows how far. These are vital issues that a lot ignore, but it must rear its ugly head one day. Though not complete here, but step by step, Sophie will complete it. Seconded!
Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:22 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sophiebaby at 6-06-2011 11:42 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: RealOnyeigbo on  6-06-2011 11:22 AM
Sophie knows how far. These are vital issues that a lot ignore, but it must rear its ugly head one day. Though not complete here, but step by step, Sophie will complete it. Seconded!

U can help complete it na

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:42 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 6-06-2011 11:44 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: dirtykid on  6-06-2011 11:16 AM
All of the above is very important to discuss before getting married, get to know who you want to settle down with, what and what the person want for his/her life. Some people doesn't want to have kids but they want to get married just to have symbol that they're married etc. So is very important to know all this before making a bold step towards the alter.

and i tried convincing someone about this and he disagreed...

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:44 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dirtykid at 6-06-2011 11:49 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  6-06-2011 11:44 AM

That person seems not to understand whats going on in our mundia. He better wakeup !!

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:49 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 6-06-2011 11:53 AM (12 years ago)
Sex
Sex shouldn't be a topic that you can't discuss freely and frankly with your spouse. Be open, honest and always ready to communicate on this subject. "Watch for a respectful, sharing and flexible attitude about sex,"Make sure the two of you can talk about sex comfortably, because sex that's never talked about can easily become unsatisfying and unsuited to one or both of you."

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:53 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 6-06-2011 11:55 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: dirtykid on  6-06-2011 11:49 AM

That person seems not to understand whats going on in our mundia. He better wakeup !!

so many ppl just think getting married is just all about the kids and prosperity..

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:55 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- yukicares4u at 6-06-2011 12:00 PM (12 years ago)
Financial n budgeting issues. 8)very important
Posted: at 6-06-2011 12:00 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sophiebaby at 6-06-2011 12:20 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: yukicares4u on  6-06-2011 12:00 PM

Yeah ! Money troubles plague many couples!! and it's important to discuss this aspect of your relationship before it spins out of control. Agree on budgets and debt-reduction schedules that suit both of their needs.

Posted: at 6-06-2011 12:20 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dirtykid at 6-06-2011 12:21 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: yukicares4u on  6-06-2011 12:00 PM

Are you a finance minister  Grin Grin

Posted: at 6-06-2011 12:21 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- dirtykid at 6-06-2011 12:22 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  6-06-2011 11:55 AM
Quote from: dirtykid on  6-06-2011 11:49 AM

so many ppl just think getting married is just all about the kids and prosperity..

They're not serious, those that think about that.

Posted: at 6-06-2011 12:22 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- waco at 6-06-2011 12:23 PM (12 years ago)
agreed!

Posted: at 6-06-2011 12:23 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 6-06-2011 12:26 PM (12 years ago)
 Cheesy

Posted: at 6-06-2011 12:26 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- waco at 6-06-2011 12:27 PM (12 years ago)
passing

Posted: at 6-06-2011 12:27 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 6-06-2011 12:32 PM (12 years ago)
sweetie why u dey pass naaaa

Posted: at 6-06-2011 12:32 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Chikemags2 at 6-06-2011 09:41 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  6-06-2011 11:53 AM
Sex
Sex shouldn't be a topic that you can't discuss freely and frankly with your spouse. Be open, honest and always ready to communicate on this subject. "Watch for a respectful, sharing and flexible attitude about sex,"Make sure the two of you can talk about sex comfortably, because sex that's never talked about can easily become unsatisfying and unsuited to one or both of you."
Yes!! this one is exactly the first cos its part of our everyday life and every other one can come later when this is done. Let me quickly finish my pizza and come back for more comments.
Posted: at 6-06-2011 09:41 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kebella at 6-06-2011 09:52 PM (12 years ago)
passing

Posted: at 6-06-2011 09:52 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9