A Malaysian national and her Nigerian boyfriend were arrested for allegedly faking her own kidnap to get a ransom of US$500,000 (N76,124,988) from her father on Saturday.
Selangor state Criminal Investigation Department chief, SAC Mohd Adnan Abdullah told local media on Tuesday that the 23-year-old woman and her 20-year-old Nigerian boyfriend were picked up at the lobby of a hotel in Penang on the same day. The woman’s father took a call from a man claiming that her daughter and her boyfriend were abducted and demanded a ransom for their release at about 3pm, Mohd Adnan told reporters.
He said the woman’s father, who was then in Kuching, lodged a police report shortly after.
“The couple, who studied at a local private university, planned to use the ransom money for their daily expenses and education,” he told reporters.
He said no money changed hands when both suspects were arrested and they were remanded at the Kajang police station until July 30 to facilitate investigations under Section 3 of the Kidnapping Act 1961.
I specialize in investigative reportage across several subject matter and sectors but mainly focus on metro events and investigation. Do leave your thoughts and opinion on my reports to let me know what you think about them. Thank you
Posted: at 27-07-2011 11:32 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
Alphamale at 27-07-2011 11:51 AM (13 years ago) (m)
Another dull 9ja dude.
Try to be more sophisticated in your next attempt, the Police aren't so dull.
Posted: at 27-07-2011 11:51 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
interpo77 at 27-07-2011 12:14 PM (13 years ago) (m)
the naija mugu thought that there is naija where kidnappers would get their ransome request with no waist of time, malaysian police has device equipments that can trace out any call from any corner of the nation, so u better think of another thing that is if u regain ur liberty from the present chaos, intl kidnapping
Posted: at 27-07-2011 12:14 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
luqcyking at 27-07-2011 01:41 PM (13 years ago) (m)
A Malaysian national and her Nigerian boyfriend were arrested for allegedly faking her own kidnap to get a ransom of US$500,000 (N76,124,988) from her father on Saturday.
Selangor state Criminal Investigation Department chief, SAC Mohd Adnan Abdullah told local media on Tuesday that the 23-year-old woman and her 20-year-old Nigerian boyfriend were picked up at the lobby of a hotel in Penang on the same day.
Posted: at 27-07-2011 01:41 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming