Naijapals Cookings

Date: 30-11-2011 11:26 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Yeap
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6
- at 30-11-2011 11:26 PM (12 years ago)
Alright everybody we've talked about almost everything on NP. Now its time to eat, cook, and drink  Grin Grin. Especially you Sohpie and the rest of us. Its time to bring our 9ja dishes and other part of the world's dishes into the house. Bring your recipes with warnings, and instructions  Grin

Steaming any types of meat: 1. Wash your meats (assorted) with cold water and lemon/lime.  2. Put it in strainer for 30 min and clean the entire surface as to avoid bacteria from growing. 3. season it with your choice of spice (not too much oh...and always use Maggi Cube or Chicken flavor Maggi)  and wait for another 15-30 min. 4. put it inside your pot/saucepan on a low medium heat(do not add water yet! You will see that the meat will give out its original water. There; you can gradually add water after 30min). WARNINGS!!!: Make sure your meats are cook thoroughly....there is a deadly bacteria inside raw meats called Staphylococcus aureus(S. aureus. It cause pneumonia and many more!)  Wink Oya lets do it!

Posted: at 30-11-2011 11:26 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Dguy at 1-12-2011 12:21 AM (12 years ago)
You kidding me, how to cook meat?

interesting!

Posted: at 1-12-2011 12:21 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mediaexcell at 1-12-2011 12:33 AM (12 years ago)
lazy bone! ppl re cooking egusi soup and pounded yam... shes steaming meat..
Posted: at 1-12-2011 12:33 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Beauti4 at 1-12-2011 12:51 AM (12 years ago)
Ogbono Soup

Ingredients:
~Salt
~Okra-some people add chopped okra for extra drawings of the soup (I am not among o...)
~Peppers, Chile (your choice) Minced
~Palm Oil or Vegetable oil (I like Olive oil) You can use 3 Red bell peppers(Tatashe)-minced if you prefer veggie oil for coloration.
~Ground Ogbono 1-1/2 cup (Depending on the size of soup you want)
~1 Large Onion-red, green, white, blue your choice Grin Please always chopped your onions in big shape, it bring out sweet aroma! (1-2inch)
~Dried grey fish-or fresh shrimp. (when using fresh shrimps in any of your cooking, it should always be the last ingredient. cook it for only 5 min...So that it will feel soft/tender when eating, you will always feel the liquid in your mouth!)
~Meats(assorted----Stock fish--Ekporoko, dried fish--cat fish or smoked-wash it with lime/lemon in hot water), Beef, goat, Cow skin--Kpomo, bush-meat  Grin chicken--plz remove the back/fat except if its African hen Grin)
~Greens--Spinach, turnip greens, Mustard green-for your voice if you sing  Wink ugwu, Igbo, bitter/water-leaves (I don't bitterleaves in my Ogbono) put a slight amount of your choice of greens!
~Fresh tomatoes (optional)

Preparation:
The Worldly Way  Grin:

~The meats has been steamed! Put aside
1. Place a pot/saucepan on a medium heat-dried it. Pour 1/2cup of Palm oil or veggie oil into the pot/saucepan. heat it up for 2-3 min
2. Stir in the ogbono for 2-3min. set aside
3. Place your cooking pot on a medium heat, pour 1/2 cup of palm oil/veggie oil into the pot. Heat it up 2-3 min. Add onions, minced tomatoes, peppers, 4 min. (Stir gradually)
4. Add the stock from the meats, dried fish.Cover pot and cook for 30min-1hr.
5. Take your cooking spoon to take out a spoonful of the hot soup into your fried ogbono, smash it with the back of the spoon until smooth/tender. Pour it   into the soup. Stir gently so the the fish will not break. Cook for 20 min.
6. Add the rest of the meats, cook for 15-20 min.
7. Add grey fish (I'm sure by this time you may not Maggi but taste first). Cook for 10 min.
8. Add the okra(optional, cook for 1min), your choice of green, fresh shrimp(instruction above). Cook for only 3-5 min oh...Your greens should not be cooked completely. Dinner Ready....

The Traditional way: Cook it naturally except frying ogbono.

Posted: at 1-12-2011 12:51 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Beauti4 at 1-12-2011 12:55 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: mediaexcell on  1-12-2011 12:33 AM
lazy bone! ppl re cooking egusi soup and pounded yam... shes steaming meat..

If I catch u ehn...abeg come eat joor! Did you want it pounded yam, oatmeal fufu, or rice fufu.
Posted: at 1-12-2011 12:55 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Youngstoriez at 1-12-2011 01:01 AM (12 years ago)
I sabi cook everything...i no need to learn again na!!
Posted: at 1-12-2011 01:01 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Beauti4 at 1-12-2011 01:18 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Youngstoriez on  1-12-2011 01:01 AM
I sabi cook everything...i no need to learn again na!!

Oya I want Yam Porridge with Malti Vita wine.
Posted: at 1-12-2011 01:18 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- laydeelaracraft at 1-12-2011 07:46 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Beauti4 on  1-12-2011 12:55 AM
If I catch u ehn...abeg come eat joor! Did you want it pounded yam, oatmeal fufu, or rice fufu.

Thot fufu na fufu???na which one b oatmeal n rice fufu?
Posted: at 1-12-2011 07:46 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- geowalex at 1-12-2011 08:40 AM (12 years ago)
how about how to cook salad
Posted: at 1-12-2011 08:40 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- sophiebaby at 1-12-2011 09:28 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Beauti4 on 30-11-2011 11:26 PM
Alright everybody we've talked about almost everything on NP. Now its time to eat, cook, and drink  Grin Grin. Especially you Sohpie and the rest of us. Its time to bring our 9ja dishes and other part of the world's dishes into the house. Bring your recipes with warnings, and instructions  Grin

Steaming any types of meat: 1. Wash your meats (assorted) with cold water and lemon/lime.  2. Put it in strainer for 30 min and clean the entire surface as to avoid bacteria from growing. 3. season it with your choice of spice (not too much oh...and always use Maggi Cube or Chicken flavor Maggi)  and wait for another 15-30 min. 4. put it inside your pot/saucepan on a low medium heat(do not add water yet! You will see that the meat will give out its original water. There; you can gradually add water after 30min). WARNINGS!!!: Make sure your meats are cook thoroughly....there is a deadly bacteria inside raw meats called Staphylococcus aureus(S. aureus. It cause pneumonia and many more!)  Wink Oya lets do it!

OMG..must evrybody call sophies name in  all dia post?Huh???

ok just wait i dey come make i go market..

I have some thing to prepare for Dguy...let me serve him my native dish..to see if he go fall for my trap..
AFIA EFERE!!!...
Brb!

Posted: at 1-12-2011 09:28 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ILOVEIT at 1-12-2011 10:46 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: geowalex on  1-12-2011 08:40 AM
how about how to cook salad

na cook u dey cook salad  Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 1-12-2011 10:46 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- ILOVEIT at 1-12-2011 10:53 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Beauti4 on  1-12-2011 12:51 AM
Ogbono Soup

Ingredients:
~Salt
~Okra-some people add chopped okra for extra drawings of the soup (I am not among o...)
~Palm Oil or Vegetable oil (I like Olive oil) You can use 3 Red bell peppers(Tatashe)-minced if you prefer veggie oil for coloration.
~1 Large Onion-red, green, white, blue your choice Grin Please always chopped your onions in big shape, it bring out sweet aroma! (1-2inch)
~Dried grey fish-or fresh shrimp. (when using fresh shrimps in any of your cooking, it should always be the last ingredient. cook it for only 5 min...So that it will feel soft/tender when eating, you will always feel the liquid in your mouth!)
~Meats(assorted----Stock fish--Ekporoko, dried fish--cat fish or smoked-wash it with lime/lemon in hot water), Beef, goat, Cow skin--Kpomo, bush-meat  Grin chicken--plz remove the back/fat except if its African hen Grin)
~Greens--Spinach, turnip greens, Mustard green-for your voice if you sing  Wink ugwu, Igbo, bitter/water-leaves (I don't bitterleaves in my Ogbono) put a slight amount of your choice of greens!

Preparation:
The Worldly Way  Grin:

1. Place a pot/saucepan on a medium heat-dried it. Pour 1/2cup of Palm oil or veggie oil into the pot/saucepan. heat it up for 2-3 min
3. Place your cooking pot on a medium heat, pour 1/2 cup of palm oil/veggie oil into the pot. Heat it up 2-3 min. Add onions, minced tomatoes, peppers, 4 min. (Stir gradually)
5. Take your cooking spoon to take out a spoonful of the hot soup into your fried ogbono, smash it with the back of the spoon until smooth/tender. Pour it   into the soup. Stir gently so the the fish will not break. Cook for 20 min.
7. Add grey fish (I'm sure by this time you may not Maggi but taste first). Cook for 10 min.
8. Add the okra(optional, cook for 1min), your choice of green, fresh shrimp(instruction above). Cook for only 3-5 min oh...Your greens should not be cooked completely. Dinner Ready....

hmm na waa ooh!..make i pass b4 una carry soup stain my cloth

Posted: at 1-12-2011 10:53 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 1-12-2011 11:10 AM (12 years ago)
make i go buy fire wood..i just return from market..

Posted: at 1-12-2011 11:10 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ILOVEIT at 1-12-2011 11:22 AM (12 years ago)
ok..i dey wait to see your dish(es)

Posted: at 1-12-2011 11:22 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- vixie at 1-12-2011 11:29 AM (12 years ago)
nice and funny
Posted: at 1-12-2011 11:29 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- sophiebaby at 1-12-2011 11:41 AM (12 years ago)
where dis firewood woman go naaaaaaaaaaaa

Posted: at 1-12-2011 11:41 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- vixie at 1-12-2011 11:47 AM (12 years ago)
 Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 1-12-2011 11:47 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- rayOFsunshine at 1-12-2011 12:30 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  1-12-2011 11:41 AM
where dis firewood woman go naaaaaaaaaaaa

Use Stove or Gas jor, do u want hunger to kill somebody pikin?
outdated babe Grin
Posted: at 1-12-2011 12:30 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sophiebaby at 1-12-2011 12:35 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: rayOFsunshine on  1-12-2011 12:30 PM
Use Stove or Gas jor, do u want hunger to kill somebody pikin?
outdated babe Grin

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin ;Dna firewood food they swit pass..ask ur mama....this meal na special meal for Dguy..i want am to be delicious..

Brb ASAP

Posted: at 1-12-2011 12:35 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Adikpe at 1-12-2011 12:47 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Beauti4 on  1-12-2011 12:51 AM
Ogbono Soup

Ingredients:
~Salt

Preparation:
The Worldly Way  Grin:

Na only Ogbono soup you sabi cook? What of Egusi soup?
Posted: at 1-12-2011 12:47 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6