9 Nigerian University Banned From Practicing Medicine In The United Kingdom

Date: 22-12-2011 10:33 am (12 years ago) | Author: Christopher Isagi
- at 22-12-2011 10:33 AM (12 years ago)
GMC says the schools no longer meet accepted standards of practice in the UK

Medical graduates from nine universities in Nigeria will no longer be able to obtain licenses to practice in the United Kingdom, following a decision by the UK’s General Medical Council (GMC) to ban the higher institutions.

The GMC, a body of independent regulators which registers medical doctors to practise in the UK, took the decision to bar graduates from the nine universities from writing PLAB.

PLAB is the UK exam that enables non-UK Medical graduates to undertake post-graduate medical training in the country.

The affected graduates are those who graduated after December 10, 2010 from Ambrose Ali University, Ebonyi State University, Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH), Nnamdi Azikiwe University, University of Jos, University of Nigeria and the University of Port Harcourt.
see full story: http://www./9-nigerian-university-banned-from-practicing-medicine-in-the-united-kingdom/

Posted: at 22-12-2011 10:33 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- cchampme at 22-12-2011 10:51 AM (12 years ago)
http://www./9-nigerian-university-banned-from-practicing-medicine-in-the-united-kingdom/
Posted: at 22-12-2011 10:51 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- deboalabi262 at 22-12-2011 01:54 PM (12 years ago)
Noted....Thank God, I am no longer a Medical Student.  I had my PLAB since 2004.....

Posted: at 22-12-2011 01:54 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Sir_Finest at 22-12-2011 01:59 PM (12 years ago)
Oyinbo man don way wake up longer time, any-shiit that comes out of that country is fake to them and they are right, any certificate from nigeria is not recogniseable. Sey certificate u fit buy for "mushin-market"
Posted: at 22-12-2011 01:59 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- AriyaToday at 24-12-2011 10:21 AM (12 years ago)
Hmn, I wonder how many dreams would have been crushed with this decision by the UK's General Medical Council ( GMC ).  I know that LAUTECH'S Medicine Certificate has been having recognition issues for some now. One of my cousins had to leave the University for a Medicine Course in South Africa because of the problem. The standard of our education in Nigeria has contributed to this in many ways. Maybe the UK Government is also trying to limit the number of Nigerian Students coming into British Health and NHS System. That is why they have come up with this new plan. Nigerians are very intelligent and they often do well in their profession in any country they find themselves in. I have the understanding that there are many British Medical Graduates who are finding it hard to get jobs in the last 5 years and plans have been made to create work for them. Maybe our Doctors should forget going to the UK and head to the Scandinavian Countries or Canada to practice their trade Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley What do you think? Hmn.

www.twitter.com/ariyatoday
Posted: at 24-12-2011 10:21 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Unikly at 11-02-2012 07:53 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: AriyaToday on 24-12-2011 10:21 AM
Hmn, I wonder how many dreams would have been crushed with this decision by the UK's General Medical Council ( GMC ).  I know that LAUTECH'S Medicine Certificate has been having recognition issues for some now. One of my cousins had to leave the University for a Medicine Course in South Africa because of the problem. The standard of our education in Nigeria has contributed to this in many ways. Maybe the UK Government is also trying to limit the number of Nigerian Students coming into British Health and NHS System. That is why they have come up with this new plan. Nigerians are very intelligent and they often do well in their profession in any country they find themselves in. I have the understanding that there are many British Medical Graduates who are finding it hard to get jobs in the last 5 years and plans have been made to create work for them. Maybe our Doctors should forget going to the UK and head to the Scandinavian Countries or Canada to practice their trade Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley What do you think? Hmn.

www.twitter.com/ariyatoday
GOOD ADVICE.
Posted: at 11-02-2012 07:53 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Baba Ijesha: Court Of Appeal To Review Rape Conviction Of Nollywood Star, Olanrewaju James

2. JUST IN: Former Aviation Minister, Hadi Sirika Arrested by EFCC Over The Nigeria Air Fraud

3. You Bit The Fingers That Fed You - Actress Hilda Dokubo Shades Gospel Singer Mercy Chinwo

4. Ex Kogi Gov,Yahaya Bello Demanded EFCC To Interrogate Him In His Village – EFCC Boss, Olukoyede

5. Eniola Badmus Sparks Mixed Reactions as She Shows Off The Interior of Her House (VID)

6. ‘There’d Have Been Casualties’ – EFCC Boss Reveals Why Yahaya Bello's Arrest Failed

7. UNN Suspends Sex-For-Grade Lecturer In Viral Video

8. Nollywood Actress, Faithia Williams Mourns Death Of Her Father

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office