President Jonathan Declares State Of Emergency In Parts Of Nigeria (Page 6)

Date: 31-12-2011 5:16 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Millenium
1 ... 3 4 5 [6] 7 8
- jahrock2010 at 1-01-2012 04:56 PM (12 years ago)
we need Steady power, Mr president so that you can handle the issue of security,and try to re shovel those  unintelligent police who claim to know some thing they do not, and put fist class upper degree holder and train them as those who we lean from,(american) train their C,I,A intelligent officers, so that we can monitor those who plant bombs through security cams on the street as other civilized country do, now  when will Nigerian leaders do what is in our Constitution and amend it to the benefit of common man ? they will see if......................
Posted: at 1-01-2012 04:56 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Tuttiluv2 at 1-01-2012 05:02 PM (12 years ago)
I think, president Jonathan shud also declare a three days fasting and praying for dis nation 2 b peaceful.
Posted: at 1-01-2012 05:02 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- poloscally at 1-01-2012 05:06 PM (12 years ago)
This is a positive move in the right direction, however, I would like more stern actions from the government such as temporally or permanently banning all gathering in the region declared state of emergency and ensure that none governmental and none-religious association dissolved. I would also love to see the government taking the war to the so called religious extremist because, Nigerians are convinced beyond doubt that this people can easily be fished out of hiding if it would be revisiting political ties  with neighboring countries to prevent this extremist using there a havens.

Long live Nigeria.
Posted: at 1-01-2012 05:06 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mountaingabriel at 1-01-2012 05:18 PM (12 years ago)
Long over-due
Posted: at 1-01-2012 05:18 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- cadanre at 1-01-2012 05:30 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: FinlandGuy on 31-12-2011 06:00 PM
State of Emergency to where? Maybe to Aso rock,because i know wan see any hasusa man from those mentioned places in the east,because they will never come back alive,so they better remain there or you can give them part of aso rock to stay.

WHERE U DEY IN DE EAST? LET ME HEAR!!!!!!!!!

Posted: at 1-01-2012 05:30 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- MegaOneplusone at 1-01-2012 06:20 PM (12 years ago)
how many people are ready to fight?? meet me under oshodi this night make we plan ahead Cool Cool
Posted: at 1-01-2012 06:20 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eberesmile at 1-01-2012 06:45 PM (12 years ago)
na now una eyes go open?
Posted: at 1-01-2012 06:45 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- MegaOneplusone at 1-01-2012 07:15 PM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 1-01-2012 07:15 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ILOVEIT at 1-01-2012 07:33 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: MilleniumMan on 31-12-2011 05:16 PM
Guys, this is long overdue, the Nigerian presidency has just issued a proclamation declaring a state of emergency in certain parts on Nigerian as follows:

Fellow Nigerians, it has become necessary to address you on recent events in some parts of the country that have threatened our collective security and shaken the foundations of our corporate existence as a nation.

2.    You are all aware of the security challenges which the activities of the Boko Haram sect have foisted on the country. What began as sectarian crises in the North Eastern parts of the country has gradually evolved into terrorist activities in different parts of the country with attendant negative consequences on our national security.

3.      Government in an effort to find a lasting solution to the security threats occasioned by the activities of the Boko Haram sect, constituted a Presidential Committee under the Chairmanship of Ambassador Usman Gaji Galtimari, to ascertain the immediate and remote causes of the crises. While efforts are being made to implement the recommendations of the Committee, the crises have assumed a terrorist dimension with vital institutions of government including the United Nations Building and places of worship becoming targets of terrorist attacks.

4.   While the search for lasting solutions is ongoing, it has become imperative to take some decisive measures necessary to restore normalcy in the country especially within the affected communities. Consequently, I have in the exercise of the powers conferred on me by the provisions of section 305(1) of the Constitution, declared a state of emergency in the following parts of the federation, namely:

(i)  Borno State

a)  Maidugiri Metropolitan LGA

b)  Gamboru Ngala LGA

c)   Banki Bama LGA

d)  Biu LGA

e)   Jere LGA

(ii)  Yobe State

a)  Damaturu LGA

b)  Geidam LGA

c)   Potiskum LGA

d)  Buniyadi-Gujba LGA

e)   Gasua-Bade LGA

(iii) Plateau State

a)  Jos North LGA

b)  Jos South LGA

c)   Barkin-Ladi LGA

d)  Riyom LGA

(iv) Niger State

a)  Suleja LGA

The details of this proclamation will be transmitted to the National Assembly as soon as they reconvene from their current recess, for their necessary action.

5.    The Chief of Defence Staff and the Inspector-General of Police have been directed to put appropriate measures in place to ensure the protection of lives and properties of residents in the affected parts of the country. I therefore urge the political leadership in the affected states and Local Government Areas to give maximum cooperation to the law enforcement agencies deployed to their respective communities to ensure that the situation is brought under control within the shortest possible time.

6.   The Chief of Defence Staff, in collaboration with other Service Chiefs, has also been directed to set up a special force unit within the Armed Forces, with dedicated counter terrorism responsibilities.

7.   As part of the overall strategy to overcome the current security challenges, I have directed the closure of the land borders contiguous to the affected Local Government Areas so as to control incidences of cross boarder terrorist activities as terrorists have taken advantage of the present situation to strike at targets in Nigeria and retreat beyond the reach of our law enforcement personnel.

8.  Let me assure our neighbours, especially within the ECOWAS sub-region, of Nigeria’s commitment to its international obligations as provided by the ECOWAS Protocol on Free Movement of Persons. The temporary closure of our borders in the affected areas is only an interim measure designed to address the current security challenges and will be reviewed as soon as normalcy is restored.

9.   I commend the efforts of our political leaders at various levels as well as our traditional and religious leaders for their support for the various conflict resolution mechanisms and peace building measures that have been initiated by this administration. We call on the citizenry to continue to provide useful information to our law enforcement agencies to enable us arrest the situation.

10. Terrorism is a war against all of us. I call on all Nigerians to join hands with government to fight these terrorists.

11. I wish all Nigerians a very happy New Year.

12.   Long Live the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

finally he's awake  Roll Eyes

Posted: at 1-01-2012 07:33 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- yomissedy at 1-01-2012 07:37 PM (12 years ago)
Much is highly expected from the president to deal with the so called Boko Haram, the heartless people........mmmmnnn I trust Baba Iyabo, no body their toy with the vipers tail.  
Posted: at 1-01-2012 07:37 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- patblessing at 1-01-2012 07:47 PM (12 years ago)
Thank you Mr Precedent and make it very hash put democracy aside this is life we are talking about and God blessed and long live Republic of Nigeria
Posted: at 1-01-2012 07:47 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- toibeli at 1-01-2012 08:16 PM (12 years ago)
A little bit late in coming, but how effective will this be Huh?
Posted: at 1-01-2012 08:16 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Obitexa at 1-01-2012 08:22 PM (12 years ago)
Thumbs up Presido..he gave boko haram a chance for peace but they abused it, doing gra-gra, dey make mouth, dey bomb, dey kill..now GEJ don start, let`s back him to rubbish dese Aboki, chicken-brain, brainwhitewahed boko haram idiots!
Posted: at 1-01-2012 08:22 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 1-01-2012 08:42 PM (12 years ago)
At least. 55 people or more was said to have lost their lives yesterday in a renewed communal war in Ezillo in Ishielu local govt area of Ebonyi state,
Among the dead was the Divisional crime officer , D C O in charge of the police station in Ezillo, the war which started in the early hour of Saturday forced the gov of the state , MARTIN ELECHI to cancell all his new year programs,
those killed included children between the ages of 3 to 5 and old men and women

this actually happened hours before the so called EMERGENCY clamped on the some states of the federation, having a dull leader is much more worst than having no leader at all , GOD bless Nigeria anyway

Posted: at 1-01-2012 08:42 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- keresb at 2-01-2012 05:22 AM (12 years ago)
God step GEJ. Pls the next thing should be continual enforcement, monitoring and auditing of the situation to ascertain compliance to set objective. Be in charge and we shall always be behind u. Long Live My people
Posted: at 2-01-2012 05:22 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- malvin2525 at 2-01-2012 06:23 AM (12 years ago)
 Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided
Posted: at 2-01-2012 06:23 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHUKAGLY at 2-01-2012 07:48 AM (12 years ago)
Hope this will help reduce the unslaught of d bokos

Posted: at 2-01-2012 07:48 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 2-01-2012 09:39 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on  1-01-2012 08:42 PM
At least. 55 people or more was said to have lost their lives yesterday in a renewed communal war in Ezillo in Ishielu local govt area of Ebonyi state,
Among the dead was the Divisional crime officer , D C O in charge of the police station in Ezillo, the war which started in the early hour of Saturday forced the gov of the state , MARTIN ELECHI to cancell all his new year programs,
those killed included children between the ages of 3 to 5 and old men and women

this actually happened hours before the so called EMERGENCY clamped on the some states of the federation, having a dull leader is much more worst than having no leader at all , GOD bless Nigeria anyway

Posted: at 2-01-2012 09:39 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- McAdam at 2-01-2012 10:47 AM (12 years ago)
Foreign enemies of Nigeria can take advantage of porous border
Posted: at 2-01-2012 10:47 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- crazy_luv at 2-01-2012 12:28 PM (12 years ago)
good news
Posted: at 2-01-2012 12:28 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
1 ... 3 4 5 [6] 7 8