No One Should Be Jailed For Using Or in Possession of Marijuana - US President, Joe Biden

Date: 18-05-2024 7:44 am (2 weeks ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 18-05-2024 07:44 AM (2 weeks ago)

President Joe Biden of the United States has said no one should be jailed for using or possessing marijuana.

Biden made the remark while backing the Department of Justice, DOJ, to reclassify marijuana from a Schedule I to a Schedule III drug under federal law.

The reclassification of marijuana will put it in the same category as prescription drugs including ketamine, anabolic steroids and testosterone and no longer classified substances like heroin and LSD.

But, posting on his X page on Friday, Biden wrote: “Too many lives have been upended because of our failed approach to marijuana.

“So today, the @TheJusticeDept is taking the next step to reclassify marijuana from a Schedule I to a Schedule III drug under federal law.

“Right now, marijuana has a higher-level classification than fentanyl and methamphetamine – the two drugs driving America’s overdose epidemic.

“That just doesn’t add up.

“At my request, and guided by science and evidence, HHS and DOJ have studied the drug’s medical use and abuse and dependence potential and are recommending rescheduling – concluding reclassification would remove barriers to critical research.

“No one should be in jail just for using or possessing marijuana.

“Today’s announcement builds on the work we’ve already done to pardon a record number of federal offences for simple possession of marijuana.

“I’m committed to writing those historic wrongs. You have my word.”

Posted: at 18-05-2024 07:44 AM (2 weeks ago) | Addicted Hero
- blowout at 18-05-2024 08:07 AM (2 weeks ago)
Na because that ya agbaya pikin dey smoke am na. Even you sef, I dey carry corner eye look you.
Posted: at 18-05-2024 08:07 AM (2 weeks ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 18-05-2024 11:21 AM (2 weeks ago)

Posted: at 18-05-2024 11:21 AM (2 weeks ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 18-05-2024 01:41 PM (2 weeks ago)
His is doing it because of his druggy son!! but idiotic low brain Nigerians will think America is home of freedom  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 18-05-2024 01:41 PM (2 weeks ago) | Grande Master

1. APC Chieftain, Joe Igbokwe Berates Aisha Yesufu For Not Acknowleging New Anthem, She Fires Back

2. VIDEO: Abba Kyari Given a Warm Welcome by Family & Friends After His Release From Kuje Prison

3. Women Returning From Burial Escape Death After Container-laden Trailer Rams into Their Buses

4. 54yrs Old Woman Shares Testimony as She Gives Birth to Her 1st Child After 13yrs of Marriage

5. Nigerians Slam Actress Yewande Adekola as She Laments Bitterly Over The Price of Garri (Video)

6. Singer, Portable Gets a New Title, 'Godfather of Single Mothers Association'

7. Why I’ll Never Stand For The New National Anthem – Aisha Yesufu Finally Breaks Silence

8. Proposed Nationwide Strike Won't Affect Ongoing WAEC Examinations - Controller

9. You're a Liar & a Thief - BBNaija Star, Saga Calls Out Colleague, Khalid, Over Unpaid Debt

10. Nollywood Stakeholders Divided Over FG’s Ban On Smoking, Ritual Scenes

11. I Put Asake, Seyi Vibez On My Album Despite Being Rivals – Singer Ayra Starr Explains Why

12. Police Arrest Suspect Involved In Abduction & Death Of Pregnant Woman In Rivers State

13. Kano Emirate: Gov Yusuf Lauded By Lagos NNPP Over Sanusi’s Re-Enthronement

1. A 12 Year Old Russian Boy Is Alleged To Be The Founder Of Tapswap

2. Actress, Moyo Lawal Flaunts Her Banging Body In Bikini Wear Days After Being Dragged Online

3. States Banning Alcohol Shouldn’t Get VAT On Beer – Ex-Health Minister, Prof Adewole Declares

4. I'm Suffering & Poor - Cubana Chief Priest's Brother Calls Him Out For Not Helping Him

5. Netizens Dig Out Old Video Of Influencer Saida Boj Days After Her Controversial Interview

6. Father, Bala Abubakar Sells 6 Biological Children To Traffickers In Sokoto, Buyers Arrested

7. Suspect Andrew Amaechi Ochekwo in Friends’ Disappearance Killed; Linked to Organ Harvesting

8. Check Out The Full Stanza Of The New National Anthem "Nigeria We Hail Thee"

9. Recent Video Of Moyo Lawal Without Makeup Got People Concerned Online

10. Nigerian Man Who Went Abroad With Nothing Comes Back Rich After 9 Years