No One Should Be Jailed For Using Or in Possession of Marijuana - US President, Joe Biden

Date: 18-05-2024 7:44 am (4 weeks ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 18-05-2024 07:44 AM (4 weeks ago)

President Joe Biden of the United States has said no one should be jailed for using or possessing marijuana.

Biden made the remark while backing the Department of Justice, DOJ, to reclassify marijuana from a Schedule I to a Schedule III drug under federal law.

The reclassification of marijuana will put it in the same category as prescription drugs including ketamine, anabolic steroids and testosterone and no longer classified substances like heroin and LSD.

But, posting on his X page on Friday, Biden wrote: “Too many lives have been upended because of our failed approach to marijuana.

“So today, the @TheJusticeDept is taking the next step to reclassify marijuana from a Schedule I to a Schedule III drug under federal law.

“Right now, marijuana has a higher-level classification than fentanyl and methamphetamine – the two drugs driving America’s overdose epidemic.

“That just doesn’t add up.

“At my request, and guided by science and evidence, HHS and DOJ have studied the drug’s medical use and abuse and dependence potential and are recommending rescheduling – concluding reclassification would remove barriers to critical research.

“No one should be in jail just for using or possessing marijuana.

“Today’s announcement builds on the work we’ve already done to pardon a record number of federal offences for simple possession of marijuana.

“I’m committed to writing those historic wrongs. You have my word.”

Posted: at 18-05-2024 07:44 AM (4 weeks ago) | Addicted Hero
- blowout at 18-05-2024 08:07 AM (4 weeks ago)
Na because that ya agbaya pikin dey smoke am na. Even you sef, I dey carry corner eye look you.
Posted: at 18-05-2024 08:07 AM (4 weeks ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 18-05-2024 11:21 AM (4 weeks ago)

Posted: at 18-05-2024 11:21 AM (4 weeks ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 18-05-2024 01:41 PM (4 weeks ago)
His is doing it because of his druggy son!! but idiotic low brain Nigerians will think America is home of freedom  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 18-05-2024 01:41 PM (4 weeks ago) | Grande Master

1. Video Of Missing Ladies, Celine And Afiba Lying Unclad On Andrew’s Bed Surfaces

2. Pres. Biden Freezes While Standing On Stage At An Event Before Obama Comes To His Rescue, Pulls

3. MultiChoice Adjusts DStv And GOtv Subscription Prices Following Court Ruling

4. "We Will Not Pay You ₦250,000" - Federal Govt. Discloses Position On New National Minimum Wage

5. “Women Are The Reason Why Some Men Aren’t Responsible Fathers” – Daddy Freeze To Kate Henshaw

6. Warri Pikin Addresses Viral Photo Of Her Trending Backside After A Football Match

7. "Student Hacked Dad’s Account, Stole N25M To Play Bet9ja" — UNILORIN Counsellor Reveals

8. Enugu Rangers International FC Secure ₦150m Prize for 2023/24 NPFL Title Win

9. Nigerian Man’s Video Of Police Officers Eating Sallah Rice In His House Sparks Online Reactions

10. Peter Obi Condemns Kidnappings & Ransom Demands In Foreign Currency;Calls For Security Measures

11. Nigerian Music Star,Rema’s ‘Calm Down’ Makes History With 1 Billion On-Demand Streams In The US

12. VIDEO: Singer Ayra Starr To Chris Brown Sparks Outrage Online

13. Delta Monarch Confers Chieftaincy Title On 12Yr Old Boy Who Killed White Rabbit While Hunting

14. Watch Moment Funny Bone Was Shocked To See Rapper, Olamide At His Show

15. "Why Governors Rejected ₦62,000 Minimum Wage" - Budget Minister, Atiku Bagudu

16. Actress, Adesua Etomi Celebrates Husband Banky W On Father’s Day With Heartfelt Tribute (Video)

17. "Drug Barons Are Recruiting Customs Officers And Staff Of Bonded Terminals" – Customs Chief

18. Actress, Queeneth Hilbert Fights Dirty With Trolls Who Questioned Her Babydaddy’s Whereabout

19. Former Daily Times City Editor, Sampson Iheanyi Amaku Passes Away At 86

20. ‘Being Beautiful Is About Inner Peace, Purpose Not Just Appearance’ – DJ Cuppy Says

1. Former President, Olusegun Obasanjo Spotted Wearing Tinubu Cap At High-Profile Event (Video)

2. Another Veteran Nollywood Actress Stella Ikwuegbu is Dead

3. STEEZZZZ! Throwback Photo Of Little Davido With His Dad And 'Uncle' Aliko Dangote

4. TikTok Star Caught Trying To Purchase iPhone 13 Pro Max With Fake Alert, Publicly Disgraced

5. Man Sparks Speculation After Spotting New Photo Of Wizkid's Babymama With Protruding Stomach

6. Woman Who Returned To Nigeria Barely A Week Ago Dies Of Cholera Amidst Recent Outbreak In Lagos

7. "You’re Not From The Royal Family" - Oba Of Benin Tells LP Guber Candidate, Olumide Akpata

8. Emir Muhammad Sanusi II Defies Police Ban; Leads Traditional Durbar In Kano (Photos)

9. Charly Boy Criticizes President Tinubu’s Sons For Always Being at The Presidential Villa

10. Abuja Woman Devastated After Married Man She Snatched Returns To His Wife