is it right? GEJ Renames University of Lagos as Moshood Abiola University

Date: 29-05-2012 1:03 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Steph.
- at 29-05-2012 01:03 PM (11 years ago)
President Goodluck Jonathan Renames University of Lagos as Moshood Abiola University

The Democracy Day broadcast by President Goodluck Jonathan this morning has unveiled new changes in the country, part of which is the renaming of the University of Lagos after late Chief M.K.O Abiola.

President Jonathan announced that the name University of Lagos would be changed to Moshood Abiola University. In honour of Abiola, he said, “The Federal Government has decided that late Chief MKO Abiola should be honoured. In honour of Chief MKO Abiola, the University of Lagos is renamed the Moshood Abiola University.”

He said Nigeria’s democratic experience in the last 13 years had been a mixed bag, giving the assurance, however, that the nation would not disintegrate

However, the students have expressed their displeasure at the announcement and have troppoed out of their hostels, chanting protest songs and denouncing the change of the institution’s name.

The protesting students began gathering in groups on the campus immediately after the President’s announcement. They marched out of their hostels and gathered at the Yabatech junction from where they moved round the school chanting protests songs denouncing the name change of the school.

They were seen carrying placcards with inscriptions: Reverse or Resign, UNILAG cant be called MAU! etc. They also blocked access to the institution and disrupted traffic on University of Lagos Road and St. Finbarrs’ College Road.

Officials of the institution came out to beg the students to go back to campus saying, “We are with you.” But the students shouted “NO”.

With this widespread resistance from the students of the institution, it is evident that changing the name officially would be a tough battle for the Presidency.

How are we going to call it now ‘MAU’, ‘MU’…. It just doesn’t sound right.

What do you think about the name change?

Posted: at 29-05-2012 01:03 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- donspirado88 at 29-05-2012 01:20 PM (11 years ago)
And so what?.?.? Why do many Nigerians don't wanna go to school...hu? How does it affect your studies or knowledge if the University is given another name? What da phyuk is wrong with Nigerians. So disappointed Angry Angry Angry Please close this topic! It's useless and shouldn't be given any attention. To hell with the people that protest on nothing. Stupid Local Fools Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 29-05-2012 01:20 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Fireboomdem at 29-05-2012 01:21 PM (11 years ago)
This students are playing with Fire....Soldiers are on their way to deal with  Lips Sealed

But that name UNILAG is has internationally become an household name oh....Is that part of national development?

Why not create a new University and name it After Mushood Abiola after all you want to honor him.... Or better still build a new park in the school or new hostel or new blocks and call it after him....

I don't just know why Nigeria like to cause troubles between themselves and you call yourself an elderly man.

Even see likkle likke students are not happy....They are your children oh....

Leave lagos alone...Go to Imo state or Abakaliki and name it after Odumegwu Ojukwu

let there be peace in ACN administration....Please....face Buhari if you want big trouble....

Fashola...Please don't say anything....UNILAG is still the brand and I trust Lasgidi dem no go accept the offer....

Give us Light....Nepa is not good ...announce 24hours light for democracy day and stop causing Commotion

You are an elderly man ...abah!
Posted: at 29-05-2012 01:21 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Fireboomdem at 29-05-2012 01:24 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: donspirado88 on 29-05-2012 01:20 PM
And so what?.?.? Why do many Nigerians don't wanna go to school...hu? How does it affect your studies or knowledge if the University is given another name? What da fcuk is wrong with Nigerians. So disappointed Angry Angry Angry Please close this topic! It's useless and shouldn't be given any attention. To hell with the people that protest on nothing. Stupid Local Fools Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry

Do you want it that it should be better for you...abi you don dey mad ni....Na me sell am for you... u see me re?...see this stupid Ukrainian boy oh...Thunder go fire your head as you speak that nonesense

All the useless and meaningless racism post that you copy and paste...

Come to Lasgidi and you shall know that God is Agidigba!
  Grin
Posted: at 29-05-2012 01:24 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Fireboomdem at 29-05-2012 01:27 PM (11 years ago)
If you don't Know Unilag...You are not in this world....Gbabe!!
Posted: at 29-05-2012 01:27 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aso4life1 at 29-05-2012 01:29 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Fireboomdem on 29-05-2012 01:24 PM
Do you want it that it should be better for you...abi you don dey mad ni....Na me sell am for you... u see me re?...see this stupid Ukrainian boy oh...Thunder go fire your head as you speak that nonesense

All the useless and meaningless racism post that you copy and paste...

Come to Lasgidi and you shall know that God is Agidigba!
  Grin

Guy you dey vex with him?

Posted: at 29-05-2012 01:29 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- donspirado88 at 29-05-2012 01:29 PM (11 years ago)
Instead to use the opportunity and call on the Fed. Govt. to improve the facilities and necessary equipments for studies; they're busy wasting their phyuking demn time on protest over University name! What a failed youth! I can see why Nigeria will always remain like this even in 50yrs to come... No important issue to discuss or address. Only to waste and spend time on nothing. Protesters should go and phyuk themselves! What da hell.. Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 29-05-2012 01:29 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Fireboomdem at 29-05-2012 01:37 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: donspirado88 on 29-05-2012 01:29 PM
Instead to use the opportunity and call on the Fed. Govt. to improve the facilities and necessary equipments for studies; they're busy wasting their fcuking demn time on protest over University name! What a failed youth! I can see why Nigeria will always remain like this even in 50yrs to come... No important issue to discuss or address. Only to waste and spend time on nothing. Protesters should go and fcuk themselves! What da hell.. Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry

Chukudi! Chukudi! Chukudndi! or wetin ur name be

Pashanayamayaymayaaaaaaaaaa giii oh!!
Posted: at 29-05-2012 01:37 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- donspirado88 at 29-05-2012 01:51 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Fireboomdem on 29-05-2012 01:27 PM
If you don't Know Unilag...You are not in this world....Gbabe!!
I don't wanna exchange any words with u...seriously, You have to be more reasonable and sensible whenever you wanna comment on the public forum. You actually don't know what you want or need to improve your life and that of others. You think you can do something about the name being pronounced by the President hu? Why can't you use your forsaken goddam time well? Instead to protest on more important issues, you're there protesting over nothing! Absolutely nothing! If I may ask u, Can the name of the University change your illiteracy? Can it improve your knowledge/thinking acumen or way of study? If you can be reasonable enough to understand that the name doesnt change anything, you will definitely be quite and stop blabbing. Face your studies and if you're tired of study, you better go and phyuk yourself.  Angry
Posted: at 29-05-2012 01:51 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 29-05-2012 02:08 PM (11 years ago)
i shake head for my country Nigeria

Posted: at 29-05-2012 02:08 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- teemah08 at 29-05-2012 03:33 PM (11 years ago)
GEJ ful of suprises come oct 1 he go change BUK to BHU(boko haram university)
Posted: at 29-05-2012 03:33 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- aso4life1 at 29-05-2012 04:11 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: teemah08 on 29-05-2012 03:33 PM
Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked

Posted: at 29-05-2012 04:11 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- rayOFsunshine at 29-05-2012 04:17 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: teemah08 on 29-05-2012 03:33 PM

Posted: at 29-05-2012 04:17 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Fireboomdem at 30-05-2012 02:51 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: donspirado88 on 29-05-2012 01:51 PM
I don't wanna exchange any words with u...seriously, You have to be more reasonable and sensible whenever you wanna comment on the public forum. You actually don't know what you want or need to improve your life and that of others. You think you can do something about the name being pronounced by the President hu? Why can't you use your forsaken goddam time well? Instead to protest on more important issues, you're there protesting over nothing! Absolutely nothing! If I may ask u, Can the name of the University change your illiteracy? Can it improve your knowledge/thinking acumen or way of study? If you can be reasonable enough to understand that the name doesnt change anything, you will definitely be quite and stop blabbing. Face your studies and if you're tired of study, you better go and fcuk yourself.  Angry

U don dey vex ni....Abeg sorry... Grin
Posted: at 30-05-2012 02:51 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickman2 at 2-06-2012 05:08 PM (11 years ago)
ok...
Posted: at 2-06-2012 05:08 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dizhadah at 4-06-2012 05:11 PM (11 years ago)
i tink sometin new should be named after him and not UNILAG.
Posted: at 4-06-2012 05:11 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 29-11-2012 11:09 AM (11 years ago)
Who cares what the university is called. What we want is a university that can rival other universities across the world.
Posted: at 29-11-2012 11:09 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. VIDEO: AY Makun Shares Video Of Renovated Mansion Months After Fire Accident

2. Time To Tell The World - Primeboy Files Petition Against Mohbad's Widow, Wunmi Over Allegations

3. Gospel Artist, Chinyere Udoma Mourns Loss as Fire Destroys Lagos Music Studio (Video)

4. Veteran Actor, Zack Orji Heads To UK For Post-Surgery Evaluation (Photos)

5. Peter Obi Meets Labour Party's Edo State Governorship Candidate, Olumide Akpata (Photos)

6. American Rapper, 50 Cent Faces Rap3 Accusations By Ex-girlfriend, Daphne Joy

7. 'It Was All A Stunt' -Eniola Ajao Pleads Again, Begs Nigerians To Watch Her N200m Movie

8. Movie Star, Funke Akindele & Her Twin Kids In Dubai On Short Vacation

9. “You No Go Pay”: Drama As Old Video Of Basketmouth Begging Wizkid For Free Promo Surfaces Onlin

10. "I’ve Not Touched My N120M" - Ilebaye Odiniya Debunks Financial Struggles Rumors On Snapchat

11. After Spending Two Years In Prison, Court Acquits 23-year-old Accused Of R*ping Girlfriend

12. Saudi Arabia Set To Make Debut In Miss Universe Pageant; To Be Represented By Rumy Alqahtani

13. Former BBNaija Contestant, Deji Morafa Attains Pharmaceutical License In The U.S.

14. 'You’re The Prettiest Woman In The World' - BBNaija's Angel Celebrates Mom On Her Birthday

15. Oxlade Raises Concerns About Treatment In Nigerian Music Industry

16. Armed Robber Rap3s 20-yr-old Jigawa Housewife In Hubby's Presence After Stealing Bags Of Pepper

17. Pregnant Woman, Mmesoma Odili Loses Baby During Detention Over Land Dispute In Anambra

18. Binance Faces $35.4 Million Money Laundering Charges: International Manhunt For Executives

19. Police Hand Over Wanted Delta Monarch Ogenerukeywe To Military

20. Explosion Rocks Dawaki In Nigeria's Capital Territory: Incident Leaves Residents Alarmed

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

6. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

7. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

8. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)

9. VID: 44yr Old Senegalese President-Elect Melts Hearts As He Flaunts His 2wives

10. Davido's Daughter, Imade Is Now An Epitome Of Beauty, Netizens React To New Posts About Her