Dangote Says Graduate Should Apply For Driver

Date: 04-09-2012 6:50 pm (11 years ago) | Author: franel
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6
- at 4-09-2012 06:50 PM (11 years ago)
«§» 4 September 2012

The Dangote  Group recently announced about two thousand vacancies for truck drivers in the organization for its newly established Super Fleet. The organization said it did not need experienced truck drivers as successful applicants will be duly trained by the organization.

However, what has sparked a lot of controversy is the fact that the organization wanted only graduates for this special position. Some Nigerians believe this is too demeaning for Nigerian graduates. An excerpt of the group’s advert is presented below:

The Academy has just initiated a project called, “The Drivers Academy” which aims at recruiting and training 2,000 Nigerian graduates to become professional heavy vehicle drivers for the newly established Super Fleet of the Group. This initiative will assist to uplift the operating standards in road transport industry, promote entrepreneurship and open up career opportunities.

The ideal Candidate should:
• Have a B.Sc., HND, OND or NCE certificate (in any discipline)
• Not be less than 25 years of age
• Be physically fit
• Be responsible and mature
• Not necessarily have prior driving experience

All forms of condemning statements have been made concerning this programme, but most of them have no solid arguments against it. Meanwhile, another school of thought believe it is a welcome development, considering what a lot of road users currently suffer in the hands of the current crop of truck drivers on Nigerian roads. Others also argued that some Nigerians who have even better qualifications and travel abroad in search of “greener pastures” do worse jobs!

What do you think?

Posted: at 4-09-2012 06:50 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 4-09-2012 07:35 PM (11 years ago)
It is not his fault. We all know how he made his money via the corruption in Nigeria now he is at the top and wants the best and the brightest to be his drivers. Religious people talk about judgement day I wonder when it is going to come if it will come at all to judge these people. What qualifications does he have? These so called rich Nigerians did not make clean money no one ever did after January 15, 1966 and I can say that over and over again until kingdom come.
Posted: at 4-09-2012 07:35 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 4-09-2012 07:53 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: papadip on  4-09-2012 07:35 PM
It is not his fault. We all know how he made his money via the corruption in Nigeria now he is at the top and wants the best and the brightest to be his drivers. Religious people talk about judgement day I wonder when it is going to come if it will come at all to judge these people. What qualifications does he have? These so called rich Nigerians did not make clean money no one ever did after January 15, 1966 and I can say that over and over again until kingdom come.

It is not your fault as well.

Posted: at 4-09-2012 07:53 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 4-09-2012 07:56 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: franel on  4-09-2012 06:50 PM
«§» 4 September 2012

The Dangote  Group recently announced about two thousand vacancies for truck drivers in the organization for its newly established Super Fleet. The organization said it did not need experienced truck drivers as successful applicants will be duly trained by the organization.

What do you think? - Justify this info

By the way where is the source? I thought we should be able to verify this info. Nigeria is huge and I am beginning to have doubt about this story even then that’s how Dangoate made his money.
Posted: at 4-09-2012 07:56 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kebella at 4-09-2012 07:56 PM (11 years ago)
aboki no be ur fault ooo Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 4-09-2012 07:56 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- cadanre at 4-09-2012 08:00 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: kebella on  4-09-2012 07:56 PM
aboki no be ur fault ooo Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Keb I know you have already applied. You will be sent to my town to supply sugar with your truck. I will be waiting for you with your truck of sugar or cement.

Posted: at 4-09-2012 08:00 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 4-09-2012 08:04 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on  4-09-2012 07:53 PM
It is not your fault as well.
Why is it not my fault? Please explain or are you saying I am not supposed to say anything?
Posted: at 4-09-2012 08:04 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dlimelite at 4-09-2012 10:06 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-09-2012 10:06 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ela214 at 4-09-2012 10:48 PM (11 years ago)
u no go blame the aboki ,na naija jagajaga
Posted: at 4-09-2012 10:48 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Adego1 at 4-09-2012 10:50 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on  4-09-2012 08:00 PM
Keb I know you have already applied. You will be sent to my town to supply sugar with your truck. I will be waiting for you with your truck of sugar or cement.
Grin Grin Grin Keb no dey drive truck na Benz punani she dey drive
Posted: at 4-09-2012 10:50 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- athena at 4-09-2012 11:19 PM (11 years ago)
i dont blame him
Posted: at 4-09-2012 11:19 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- above231 at 4-09-2012 11:54 PM (11 years ago)
There is absolutely notting wrong with it, I think what we should be talking about,is the pay and working conditions. Driving is a profession. If you are focused  you can start building your career from there, you must not work there forever.
Posted: at 4-09-2012 11:54 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Sharpboyus at 5-09-2012 02:49 AM (11 years ago)
To me, I don't think it's a bad idea. At least they can earn a living from there and besides must truck driver I know earn more thank 100k a month.
Posted: at 5-09-2012 02:49 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- orjiwolo at 5-09-2012 03:30 AM (11 years ago)
hahahaha una even get luck say them no insist say prospective candidates should have a 2:1 degree classification or MSc
Posted: at 5-09-2012 03:30 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 5-09-2012 04:40 AM (11 years ago)
So after acquiring wealth through our corrupt government, he want graduates to work for him...I see,,,Dangote you try.

Posted: at 5-09-2012 04:40 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- azimibraun at 5-09-2012 05:19 AM (11 years ago)
Sm ppl will still tell u dey ae qualified to be called human beings and say dis is a  good. Dis is wat u get wen u hv wicked hell bound state governors in naija and an equally very devilish central goverment. For the benefit of doubt, nt knwing wt Dangoe group actually hv in mind for wnting to do this, I wll ask graduates to apply and dts if Dangotes graduate kids and okonjo iweala's graduate kids and GEJ kids cousin and naphew wll apply also as graduate drivers.. Wt a wicked Nation.
Posted: at 5-09-2012 05:19 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 5-09-2012 05:55 AM (11 years ago)
May his children becum drivers very soon. Stupid slave trader. He wants to conpare nigeria wit other country wen it his likes dat are making d graduates travel out nigeria to do any job cus people economy is gud.
Posted: at 5-09-2012 05:55 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 5-09-2012 06:32 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 5-09-2012 06:32 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- denmal at 5-09-2012 06:35 AM (11 years ago)
yawa
Posted: at 5-09-2012 06:35 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kelz_lapd at 5-09-2012 06:53 AM (11 years ago)
I don't seems to unserstand why people are making nonsense about this? Did you ever know how much Dangote pays his workers? Pls try to investigate and compare it with the stupid money our graduate earn at the banks after much maltreatment,target and stress. Did you know that a car driver at Dangote earn better than a casier at the banking industry? Pls this man is trying to make our graduate doing something when the FG has not been able to help atall. If any of you have been Out of this country then you will see what out MSC degree holders are doing foe a living. Its better you apply before pride will eat you up.
Posted: at 5-09-2012 06:53 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6