Is Obansanjo's regime the best so far in Nigeria? (Page 2)

Date: 03-05-2008 12:04 pm (15 years ago) | Author: hardeyniran holusoji peterson
- holdrich at 18-12-2008 01:45 AM (15 years ago)
The economy of this country began to collapse when he was the military head of state in 1976 and he continued his evil from 1999 to 2007.
All that he ever did in office was for his personal benefits, privatizing everything and buying them off from behind with Nigerian money together with his corrupt friends.
He never goes to a country like UK, USA, France even South Africa or Ghana to seek for political advice, incited he seeks advice from countries like Zimbabwe, Uganda, Zaire and what have u.
His regime is a replica of his looks, as ugly as anything you can think of and no one will ever wish such government as wicked and ruthless as OBJ's for this country.
Posted: at 18-12-2008 01:45 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- flammingchild at 23-12-2008 02:08 PM (15 years ago)
I can't believe that people compare the regime of a dictator to that of our reputable president, do not forget that Obasanjo regime for eight years was mark with a lot of corrupt practices which Yar'dua has expose some so far like the sales of our refinery.
Posted: at 23-12-2008 02:08 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Aarelomo at 11-01-2009 12:57 PM (15 years ago)
OBJ can not even compare Abacha talkless of other PRESIDENT. Abacha is preferable than OBJ cos Abacha regime we are suspended from common wealth. and he did everything with inportation or exportation. Abacha will have free us from this MESS we are into to by killing those bad leaders. Like J.J Rawlins did here in Ghana, But they plot corp and kill him.

It's sad cos he will have kill those bastard like OBJ and others.

The moble he brought to Naija is another problem we are facing cos we paid much compare to other Africans and world.

He did nothing in economic please dont lets us to be confuse. cos we don't have light so what is good in the economic...? If we have light things will come down so what is good in the economic?
Posted: at 11-01-2009 12:57 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- bendezulu at 17-01-2009 12:35 PM (15 years ago)
Lets not draw a long list to compare, but OBJ is far better than Yar'dua, OBJ's policies are still sustaining dis nation withtin a short while it will be very obvious that chicken hearts are not met to rule Nigeria for now, OBJ sacrificed Political friends for the betterment of Nigeria, Pals, its not easy doing dat, u can call it sentimental EFCC but the truthi s that he opened our eyes to knw how corrupt they are. Naira is falling so fast dat it mit not be able to achieve as it were in the next ten years. Yar'dua is not fit to rule Nigeria, OBJ is the Man!
Posted: at 17-01-2009 12:35 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- elizatops at 18-01-2009 07:45 PM (15 years ago)
Obasanjo was one of the worst things dat could evahappen to Nigeria in every aspect except from few little things dat where gud about him but na d bad onesplent pass
Posted: at 18-01-2009 07:45 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- daramson at 25-02-2009 06:47 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: gbeny007 on  5-11-2008 05:46 AM
@Daramson you don't even have a substantial yardstick for a good governance how then can you weigh the past leaders perfectly.I must assure you that you are not a student of history that's why you said obasanjo has achieved much compare to other leaders.Let me start by telling you that he is the first nigeria president to spend almost 3 trillion naira on annual budget,most of the past leaders we have are military,he has been a military president in 1976,he did nothing on telecommunication but rather issue licenses and collect monies which nigerians does not know the whereabout.If the past leaders were to rule in obasanjo's shoe they would have performed more better than him.But who built the 3rd mainland bridge which is the most renown achievement of the west africans.
and now u sed he did nothing on telecommunication, do u know the reason why we have this problem of petroleum prise today?
its bcoz of our failing refinery in the country which resulted in the country now importing the products from other contries.
now will u remeber tht president olusegun obasanjo on is  first regime as the millitary president constructed all the existing refinery in the country and after which non was constructed.
u said he issue licences to collect money which nigerians know nothing about, but i want u to remember tht he is the one and only president to leave tht amount of money on reserve when he left office
Posted: at 25-02-2009 06:47 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- timothy200 at 7-03-2009 03:25 PM (15 years ago)
Lieutenant General Olusegun Obasanjo, a Yoruba, succeeded Murtala Muhammad. As chief of staff of Supreme Headquarters, Obasanjo was Murtala Muhammad's deputy and had the support of the military. He had commanded the federal division that took Owerri, effectively bringing an end to the civil war. Keeping the chain of command established by Murtala Muhammad in place, Obasanjo pledged to continue the program for the restoration of civilian government in 1979 and to carry forward the reform program to improve the quality of public service.

The draft constitution was published in October 1976, anticipating the seating of a constituent assembly in 1977. Debates during sessions of the drafting committee were frequently ideological in nature, but divisive proposals, such as the attempt to define Nigeria as a "socialist" state, were decisively rejected. Committee members discarded Murtala Muhammad's recommendations for a nonparty system, but they insisted that parties applying for registration had to have national objectives and executive boards whose members represented at least twothirds of the states. The model for the constitution, which was adopted in 1979, was based on the Constitution of the United States, with provision for a president, Senate, and House of Representatives. The country was now ready for local elections, to be followed by national elections, that would return Nigeria to civilian rule.

The military regimes of Murtala Muhammad and Obasanjo benefited from a tremendous influx of oil revenue that increased 350 percent between 1973 and 1974, when oil prices skyrocketed, to 1979, when the military stepped down. Increased revenues permitted massive spending that unfortunately, was poorly planned and concentrated in urban areas. The oil boom was marred by a minor recession in 1978-79, but revenues rebounded until mid1981 . The increase in revenues made possible a rapid rise in income, especially for the urban middle class. There was a corresponding inflation, particularly in the price of food, that promoted both industrialization and the expansion of agricultural production. As a result of the shift to food crops, the traditional export earners--peanuts, cotton, cocoa, and palm products--declined in significance and then ceased to be important at all. Nigeria's exports became dominated by oil.

Industrialization, which had grown slowly after World War II through the civil war, boomed in the 1970s, despite many infrastructure constraints. Growth was particularly pronounced in the production and assembly of consumer goods, including vehicle assembly and the manufacture of soap and detergents, soft drinks, pharmaceuticals, beer, paint, and building materials. Furthermore, there was extensive investment in infrastructure from 1975 to 1980, and the number of parastatals--jointly government- and privately owned companies--proliferated. The Nigerian Enterprises Promotion decrees of 1972 and 1977 further encouraged the growth of an indigenous middle class.

Plans were undertaken for the movement of the federal capital from Lagos to a more central location in the interior at Abuja. Such a step was seen as a means of encouraging the spread of industrial development inland and of relieving the congestion that threatened to choke Lagos. Abuja also was chosen because it was not identified with any particular ethnic group.

Heavy investment was planned in steel production. With Soviet assistance, a steel mill was developed at Ajaokuta in Kwara State, not far from Abuja. The most significant negative sign was the decline of industry associated with agriculture, but largescale irrigation projects were launched in the states of Borno, Kano, Sokoto, and Bauchi under World Bank (see Glossary) auspices.

Education also expanded rapidly. At the start of the civil war, there were only five universities, but by 1975 the number had increased to thirteen, with seven more established over the next several years. In 1975 there were 53,000 university students. There were similar advances in primary and secondary school education, particularly in those northern states that had lagged behind.
Posted: at 7-03-2009 03:25 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- rbest at 7-03-2009 03:38 PM (15 years ago)
God forbid. the worst so eva
Posted: at 7-03-2009 03:38 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- johndoe at 22-04-2009 05:28 PM (15 years ago)
I  think  obj  is  the  best  govt  nig  have   every  got
Posted: at 22-04-2009 05:28 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- ladoma at 24-04-2009 01:17 PM (15 years ago)
OBJ still the best leader so far for Naija.
Posted: at 24-04-2009 01:17 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- tmaxdon at 2-07-2009 06:19 PM (14 years ago)
I will keep saying it that Obj´s regime is one of the worst goverments we have had in Nigeria. we should compare Obj´s regime with that of Abdul-Salam that ruled for just a short period of time cos Obj did nothing.Furthermore,he was thought all the economy reform policies he used during his term and those policies didn´t work cos of the currupt practices in his administration.
Posted: at 2-07-2009 06:19 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- 1ola at 10-07-2009 05:56 PM (14 years ago)
u people dont know what you r saying, Obasanjo did not spoil Nigeria, Nigeria was spoiled before he came in, the elite are so currupted to hell, he is better than most of the former governments, the only problem is that he has no diplomacy., he may be part of the problem, because he was an Army officer and the Military were the one who spoiled this country, as they dont know how to govern, but in camparison, Babangida was the worst government followed by Abacha, it was Babangida who started corruption on a large scale in this country and Abacha then take it further to another scale.
Posted: at 10-07-2009 05:56 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- McBona at 12-07-2009 12:39 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 11-09-2008 01:15 AM
HELL NOPE!
It's the worst thus far.

Was too bad.  Egregiously hectic & immensely appauling
Posted: at 12-07-2009 12:39 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daramson at 15-07-2009 11:50 PM (14 years ago)
the best so far
Posted: at 15-07-2009 11:50 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- McBona at 15-07-2009 11:59 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: daramson on 15-07-2009 11:50 PM
the best so far

Not clear enough to be understood
Posted: at 15-07-2009 11:59 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac