I regret running for Nigeria –Asunmnu

Date: 16-08-2013 7:23 am (10 years ago) | Author: Direct
- at 16-08-2013 07:23 AM (10 years ago)
Sprinter, Gloria Asunmnu has said that she made a huge mistake switching allegiance to Nigeria, her country of origin from the USA, her country of birth when she did two years ago.

Asumnu is in the Team Nigeria camp in Moscow and competed in the 100m event at the ongoing 14th IAAF World Championships where she crashed out at the semi-final stage.
The Tulane University, USA graduate wrote on her Facebook wall on Thursday that she made a big mistake choosing to run for Nigeria even though she failed to make the USA team prior to that decision.
She wrote, ‘’Choosing to run for Nigeria was a decision I thought I made for the better but in turn I’m starting to think it was a big mistake,’’ she wrote on her wall.
The athlete, voted Tulane University’s 2007 Female Student-Athlete of the Year, claimed that her growth has been stunted since the switch.
‘’It’s not (the Athletic Federation of Nigeria) set up for you to be the best you can be,’’ she further wrote.
‘’I don’t believe that she said what has been credited to her but if she did, then it is unfortunate. Just 48 hours ago she held a meeting with the people that matters in sports here in Moscow where she discussed her problems with them and they promised to address all the grievances she and others aired,’’ Head of Media and Communications at the AFN Olukayode Thomas said.

Posted: at 16-08-2013 07:23 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- geraldduruike at 16-08-2013 07:41 AM (10 years ago)
then go and run for kenya or jamaica..
Posted: at 16-08-2013 07:41 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickman2 at 16-08-2013 08:10 AM (10 years ago)
we hear..after all nothing is coming out..
Posted: at 16-08-2013 08:10 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Toks-E at 16-08-2013 08:14 AM (10 years ago)
Switch allegiance

Posted: at 16-08-2013 08:14 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- merion at 16-08-2013 08:17 AM (10 years ago)
hmmmm
Posted: at 16-08-2013 08:17 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lanudja at 16-08-2013 08:20 AM (10 years ago)
She has a reason 4 saying dat...
Posted: at 16-08-2013 08:20 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- hallaqueen at 16-08-2013 08:23 AM (10 years ago)
do you think Justin Bieber is a gay???  Tongue
Oprah had talk to Justin Bieber and Justin admits that he is really gay Cool
but i don't trust that! for such a cute and handsome guy, why would he be a gay??
Cheesy more » http://bit.ly/13pqVtX
Posted: at 16-08-2013 08:23 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- lovecommander at 16-08-2013 08:32 AM (10 years ago)
YOU FAILED TO REPRESENT USA, AND IN DESPERATION TO APPEAR IN THE CHAMPIONSHIP YOU SWITCHED TO NIGERIA, A COUNTRY WHERE NO GOOD FELLOWS CAN COME AND CLAIM ANYTHING. YOU ARE A BIG FAILURE.
Posted: at 16-08-2013 08:32 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- rubben2010 at 16-08-2013 08:35 AM (10 years ago)
 Angry  >:(sometimes wrong choices are made especially when it comes to moving to that black country, better to have waited till when called to run for  USA, than running for that black country..........................alot of Nigerian athletes that have retired what did the nigerian govt do for them Huh? Huh? Angry Angry
Posted: at 16-08-2013 08:35 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- angesco at 16-08-2013 08:36 AM (10 years ago)
She is not the first to day this but let us hope she is the last. The Athletic Federation of Nigeria like other organisations in Nigeria have to learn to accept criticism and use it to do better the next time round. Maybe reporting it to a higher body is a step in the right direction as it will push the feferation to put the right people in place.

As a Nigerian, i am tired of hearing members of the federstion redeeming themselves after losing, with such statements as 'it's the taking part that matters!' And to make themselves feel even more better, they compare Nigeria to other African nations,like Ghana or Chad who did not even have a representative or athlete in a particular race.

Well done Asunmnu - you were born in a country where speaking out makes a difference. You most probably will be dropped but lets hope you make it better for the future rising Nigeria stars!!!!!
Posted: at 16-08-2013 08:36 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jacklawrance at 16-08-2013 08:38 AM (10 years ago)
the future of nigeria is in the hand of the youth tell tham start to speak one mind nigeria well get better
Posted: at 16-08-2013 08:38 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- angesco at 16-08-2013 08:38 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on 16-08-2013 08:36 AM
She is not the first to say this but let us hope she is the last. The Athletic Federation of Nigeria like other organisations in Nigeria have to learn to accept criticism and use it to do better the next time round. Maybe reporting it to a higher body is a step in the right direction as it will push the federation to put the right people in place.

As a Nigerian, i am tired of hearing members of the federstion redeeming themselves after losing, with such statements as 'it's the taking part that matters!' And to make themselves feel even more better, they compare Nigeria to other African nations,like Ghana or Chad who did not even have a representative or athlete in a particular race.

Well done Asunmnu - you were born in a country where speaking out makes a difference. You most probably will be dropped but lets hope you make it better for the future rising Nigeria stars!!!!!

Posted: at 16-08-2013 08:38 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Shegzan at 16-08-2013 08:52 AM (10 years ago)
Kk#

Posted: at 16-08-2013 08:52 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Outlander98 at 16-08-2013 08:55 AM (10 years ago)
Everyone is entitled to his or her opinions, afterall the attitude towards sports in this country is not encouraging.
Posted: at 16-08-2013 08:55 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- akinmanchy at 16-08-2013 09:26 AM (10 years ago)
Mydear you only chose Nigeria because you failed to make the USA team,look for a way to make name for yourself and stop ranting.

Posted: at 16-08-2013 09:26 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- maxzy277 at 16-08-2013 09:30 AM (10 years ago)
I believe if you are d one leading this statement will never comes out of your mouth, Wait For Your Time....
Posted: at 16-08-2013 09:30 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ak_4_real at 16-08-2013 09:43 AM (10 years ago)
babe I feel your pain. Nigeria kills talent that's y Gloria alozie and Kinsley obiekwelu switched to spain and Portugal..
Posted: at 16-08-2013 09:43 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- etibaba at 16-08-2013 10:06 AM (10 years ago)
She should keep quiet.

Posted: at 16-08-2013 10:06 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- juddycoil at 16-08-2013 10:13 AM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 16-08-2013 10:13 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Maxodus at 16-08-2013 10:26 AM (10 years ago)
Sprinter, no be only u, me self
Posted: at 16-08-2013 10:26 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming