'Why I Rejected The Centenary Awards' - Soyinka Opens Up 1 March, 2014 (Page 2)

Date: 01-03-2014 2:43 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Afolayon Masofunmomi
1 [2] 3 4
- Mobbysmartins at 1-03-2014 11:40 PM (10 years ago)
Hey Anchor man,shut up and anchor your ship.You started it.You started cultism in Nigerian Higher institutions.You think history will forget that you started it.Do you know the number of Nigerian students that have died from cultism???.You started it all.Please stop this your holier than thou attitude.Honour should be given to whom honour is due.Your scholar erudite is never in question,we respect you for that.But you know inside you that you started it all.With maximum respect I anchor for you.
Posted: at 1-03-2014 11:40 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morrisony2k at 2-03-2014 12:27 AM (10 years ago)
James Ibori is waiting to be given an award too, why is Mustafa not there?  even Sgt Rogger! godo godo should be given an award too. clifford Orji was excluded why? Bankole and the rest of them should be given an award. the former minister of aviation Odua was excluded why?  na wa for this list ooo
Posted: at 2-03-2014 12:27 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 2-03-2014 12:32 AM (10 years ago)
you can say that again Mr Soyinka
Posted: at 2-03-2014 12:32 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- donfanny at 2-03-2014 01:45 AM (10 years ago)
father of cultists,u knw hw many students lost der lives bcux of d origination of cult group, solve dat first bf i hear u

Posted: at 2-03-2014 01:45 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Asterimou at 2-03-2014 01:50 AM (10 years ago)
He is Right! don't share with them in their sins if u do not want to recieve part of her plagues
Posted: at 2-03-2014 01:50 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mejex at 2-03-2014 03:21 AM (10 years ago)
novelist turn politician this man is anti GEJ
Posted: at 2-03-2014 03:21 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- SHAGASHA at 2-03-2014 04:37 AM (10 years ago)
good action, good reason
Posted: at 2-03-2014 04:37 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- spekay at 2-03-2014 06:14 AM (10 years ago)
Thank you prof ,,, 
At least we still have a few men of conscience left

To the few ignorant comments on the nobel laureate starting cultism on Nigerian college campuses i am sure there was a previous interview on this where he clarified things if you can refer and get educated .   Pyrate confraternity was not intended to be in the same rank with you EIYE .   Black Axe  Daughters of Jezebel  n other bloodsucking vampires currently ransacking the campuses .

I for one would claim that award if offered in the midst of the BOKO HARAM lunancy rubbing innocent people of their lives who were counting on someone who pledged to an oath  to defend them as citizens of this country .   The whole presentation is nothing but a mockery of these lives in jeopardy

Posted: at 2-03-2014 06:14 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Raphaeltaiwo at 2-03-2014 06:18 AM (10 years ago)
Prof please note that in a nation's history there will always be records of good and bad leaders. Both leaders help shapen the development of nations. So prof, the govt is right to include Abacha's name just as we will always include your name in cultism issues.
Posted: at 2-03-2014 06:18 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- escapedprince at 2-03-2014 07:10 AM (10 years ago)
I'm genuinely surprised at some pals line of reason.  How could one find a parallel between cultism in our schools and the most brutal regime of our times and clime ??   State orchestrated murders, decimation of whole towns and villages and travesty of justice were the hallmark of Abacha's regime,  it's in a different platitude compared to the petty gangsters that are roaming our schools today .

It will be the epitome of injustice to compare a crude illiterate with a woeful limitation, a dangerous sociopath like Sani Abacha to a brilliant scholar, and a humanist like Wole Soyinka .  
Posted: at 2-03-2014 07:10 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ravenna at 2-03-2014 07:35 AM (10 years ago)
MR.JONATHAN,CENTENARY AWARD FOR THE BRITISH TO HAVE US AS SLAVES AND TAKE OUR WEALTH TO ENRICH THEM SELVES,MR PRESIDENT GROW UP.
Posted: at 2-03-2014 07:35 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- dickman2 at 2-03-2014 07:36 AM (10 years ago)
yes them reject u ..because talk too much..before u put them for trouble..
Posted: at 2-03-2014 07:36 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 2-03-2014 07:39 AM (10 years ago)
na lie ..them reject him...the man talk too much..make he dey america dey make noise..nothing good Nigerians dey get from him ..just talk
Posted: at 2-03-2014 07:39 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zednaijaman at 2-03-2014 07:55 AM (10 years ago)
I thought cultism then was a form of student unionism. well, I no dey for this matter oo
Posted: at 2-03-2014 07:55 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Engraku at 2-03-2014 08:21 AM (10 years ago)
where were you when all this things are happen prof?
Posted: at 2-03-2014 08:21 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- dondada4040 at 2-03-2014 08:49 AM (10 years ago)
I don't trust this unilateral activists in this country, when this APC boys run lagos state as a differ country in Nigeria; extorting money in the name of toll gate, deportation and imposing levies and excessive taxes on people that are struggling to survive in their businesses, closing of market on refusal of registration as APC members, you won't see them talk as activists, they will all be quiet, when it is an award that cannot in affect people's daily activities, their morals will become outstanding. I'm not in support of GEJ but if you won't stand for all, please don't for any.
Posted: at 2-03-2014 08:49 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dames at 2-03-2014 08:54 AM (10 years ago)
What better thing do we expect from a government dt gives presidential pardon to known notorious murderers and thieves and even make thieves ministers?
Posted: at 2-03-2014 08:54 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okeudonwa at 2-03-2014 09:05 AM (10 years ago)
the prof is right, abacha should not be in the list
Posted: at 2-03-2014 09:05 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- aproko at 2-03-2014 10:39 AM (10 years ago)
GOD BLESS YOU PROF.S
Posted: at 2-03-2014 10:39 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- gistmania1 at 2-03-2014 11:28 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: donfanny on  2-03-2014 01:45 AM
father of cultists,u knw hw many students lost der lives bcux of d origination of cult group, solve dat first bf i hear u

We lack historians in Nigeria, why? Mr. Man, can you make some research into the history of cultism into Nigerian Universities and the primary objectives and
then compare the result of your findings with the present cult practices in Nigeria and her Universities? An important assignment, pls!
Posted: at 2-03-2014 11:28 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
1 [2] 3 4