Is pregnancy a good reason to get married?

Date: 05-09-2009 10:05 am (14 years ago) | Author: PRINCE OBINECHE
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6
- at 5-09-2009 10:05 AM (14 years ago)
I have a friend who is marrying his girlfriend because she is pregnant. I for one don't think that marriage should be based soley on that. I'm not saying he shouldn't take responsibility for the child but he admits he doesn't love her. He can be a good father without marrying this girl; because I'm sure it will end in divorce which will be even harder on the child.

Just curious about other's opinions

Posted: at 5-09-2009 10:05 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Akpan01 at 5-09-2009 10:07 AM (14 years ago)
NOPE

Posted: at 5-09-2009 10:07 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- onchedu at 5-09-2009 10:10 AM (14 years ago)
If they didnt connect in some way they wouldnt have ended up in bed and she wouldnt be pregnant. If he liked her enuf to have sex with her and she liked him enuf to consent to it, they have at least some degree of "likeness" to build a marriage on if they so choose to. It's his choice isnt it?
Posted: at 5-09-2009 10:10 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- temi07 at 5-09-2009 10:11 AM (14 years ago)
Pregnancy has never and will never be a valid reason to marry someone. Not all of them tend to be a sentence to hell but u must admit, if u don't know a person enough, well other than boning each other ofcourse, then marry, its like doomed to fail.
Posted: at 5-09-2009 10:11 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- erikaakpan at 5-09-2009 10:13 AM (14 years ago)
Well in the old days thats how it went, but now it doesnt go that way.....the relationship doesnt last long if u marry just because she is pregnant. Most ppl that marry just because of the kids most likely divorce when there children are grown

Posted: at 5-09-2009 10:13 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onchedu at 5-09-2009 10:23 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: temi07 on  5-09-2009 10:11 AM
Pregnancy has never and will never be a valid reason to marry someone. Not all of them tend to be a sentence to hell but u must admit, if u don't know a person enough, well other than boning each other ofcourse, then marry, its like doomed to fail.

Not necessarily. Sometimes and in certain situations it is. t's not like a guy said hi to the gir and she became pregnant for him... some times they had been going steady and had planned marriage but just never got the motivation to do it and in their "carelessness" they got pregnant. That myt not be a reason but it is motivation for the reason to get married.

Truth be known, most people that get married cos of pregnancy have the worst sex if any; esp when the girl used the pregnancy to "hook" the guy.
Posted: at 5-09-2009 10:23 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- temi07 at 5-09-2009 10:24 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: erikaakpan on  5-09-2009 10:13 AM
Well in the old days thats how it went, but now it doesnt go that way.....the relationship doesnt last long if u marry just because she is pregnant. Most ppl that marry just because of the kids most likely divorce when there children are grown
Am thinking it worked in the old days because people were patient and strong enough to withstand whatever sort of emotional or physical crisis they were going through, nowadays, people bail on marriage for no apparent reason, no way i see this working out.
Posted: at 5-09-2009 10:24 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- temi07 at 5-09-2009 10:30 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: onchedu on  5-09-2009 10:23 AM
Quote from: temi07 on  5-09-2009 10:11 AM

Not necessarily. Sometimes and in certain situations it is. t's not like a guy said hi to the gir and she became pregnant for him... some times they had been going steady and had planned marriage but just never got the motivation to do it and in their "carelessness" they got pregnant. That myt not be a reason but it is motivation for the reason to get married.

Truth be known, most people that get married cos of pregnancy have the worst sex if any; esp when the girl used the pregnancy to "hook" the guy.
See in your scenerio, they were going to get married, eventually but what of those cases where she gets pregnant like after the third date or something? And yes i totally agree with you, the sex would be horrible because the guy would definitely feel like he has been played and tends to lash out at the cause which sometimes also includes the child involved.
Posted: at 5-09-2009 10:30 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onchedu at 5-09-2009 10:32 AM (14 years ago)
Who send her go quaff after three dates? Bottomline, girks take care of Ursleves and guys control Ur segxwal urge if U will live honourably..
Posted: at 5-09-2009 10:32 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- erikaakpan at 5-09-2009 10:37 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: temi07 on  5-09-2009 10:24 AM
Quote from: erikaakpan on  5-09-2009 10:13 AM
Am thinking it worked in the old days because people were patient and strong enough to withstand whatever sort of emotional or physical crisis they were going through, nowadays, people bail on marriage for no apparent reason, no way i see this working out.

yeah, u right...gone are those days. but where im from, when u got a girl pregnant that means u gotta marry her. some ppl see it as embarrassment to have a kid out of wedlock and try to get married before any can see that her belly is getting big. or mayb the guy thinks, well she is havin my baby so i might as well marry her. and in the end, it doesnt work out

Posted: at 5-09-2009 10:37 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- temi07 at 5-09-2009 10:39 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: onchedu on  5-09-2009 10:32 AM
Who send her go quaff after three dates? Bottomline, girks take care of Ursleves and guys control Ur segxwal urge if U will live honourably..
Exactly.
Posted: at 5-09-2009 10:39 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onchedu at 5-09-2009 10:41 AM (14 years ago)
Wink
Posted: at 5-09-2009 10:41 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- osituga at 5-09-2009 10:50 AM (14 years ago)
@ poster ... tell him not to make a big mistake o..

Posted: at 5-09-2009 10:50 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- emmyG at 5-09-2009 01:06 PM (14 years ago)
no give me belly if u no wan marry me oooooooo
Posted: at 5-09-2009 01:06 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mazi at 5-09-2009 01:13 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: onchedu on  5-09-2009 10:10 AM
If they didnt connect in some way they wouldnt have ended up in bed and she wouldnt be pregnant. If he liked her enuf to have sex with her and she liked him enuf to consent to it, they have at least some degree of "likeness" to build a marriage on if they so choose to. It's his choice isnt it?
there's nothing like marriage by sentiment!
Posted: at 5-09-2009 01:13 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- pepigambit at 5-09-2009 01:14 PM (14 years ago)
WEN U ENTER MAARRIEGA COS OF PREGNANCY ....WEN THE CLOUD CLEAR U GO HERE NWIN
Posted: at 5-09-2009 01:14 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Akpan01 at 5-09-2009 01:15 PM (14 years ago)
YES OO

Posted: at 5-09-2009 01:15 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- pepigambit at 5-09-2009 01:19 PM (14 years ago)
expereince?  hehe
Posted: at 5-09-2009 01:19 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Akpan01 at 5-09-2009 01:20 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: pepigambit on  5-09-2009 01:19 PM
expereince?  hehe
CRASE WORRY U..I MARRIED BEFORE I BORN KOLO MENTAL Grin

Posted: at 5-09-2009 01:20 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- around_d_corner at 5-09-2009 01:28 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: pepigambit on  5-09-2009 01:19 PM
expereince?  hehe
helloooooooo guy whatsup
Posted: at 5-09-2009 01:28 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6

1. Nigeria Loses Title As Africa’s Largest Economy; Slips To Fourth Place

2. Nigerian Woman Passes Away Shortly After Childbirth, Laid To Rest On Same Day (Video)

3. Nigerian Man Arrested For Allegedly Orchestrating Wife's Murder In Abuja

4. Nigerian Singer, Ruger Reveals Ownership Of Firearms

5. Yahaya Bello Disputes Allegations Of Misappropriating State Funds For Children's School Fees

6. Police Arrest Ritualist Gang, Including A Traditonal Ruler Behind Gruesome Murders In Lagos

7. Producer Stanley Nwoko Refers Inquirers To Late Actor Jnr Pope's Brother Over Obituary Queries

8. 55-yr-Old Man, Ahmadu Usman Arrested In Katsina For Culpable Homicide In Botched Delivery

9. Reality Star, Tacha Expresses Frustration With Nigerian Men, Eyes South African Suitors

10. Tragic Tanker Explosion Claims Five Lives, Engulfs Over 70 Vehicles In Rivers State

11. Joint Security Operation Claims Lives Of Three Notorious Bandit Leaders In Zamfara

1. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

2. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

3. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

4. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

5. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

6. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

7. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

8. See Tuition Fee Receipts Yahaya Bello Paid American School From 2025 Session Through 2031

9. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu

10. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam