Nigerian Government reacts to Sony's Playstation 3 Ad (Page 2)

Date: 05-09-2009 12:44 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Chidi
1 [2] 3 4 5
- derbi at 8-09-2009 11:49 AM (14 years ago)
what nonesense i think suny need to pay for that, freedom of speech is not freedom of insult, this just started i i am happy nigeria goverment reacted fast to it befor they take it to another level.
Posted: at 8-09-2009 11:49 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- derbi at 8-09-2009 12:08 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: ChidiSan on  5-09-2009 01:35 PM
But you know all na freedom of speech. I personally think the ad is pretty funny and shouldn't be taken too seriously. Sony weren't intending to be malicious or anything like that.

Back in the day, Nigeria was popular to most of the west for Jay Jay Okocha and the Super Eagles to name a few lol It's not Sony's fault that Nigeria is now mostly knows for stuvs like 419 scams.

I'm big on gaming and can't wait to get my hands on the new playstation 3 slim Smiley
i can see that games has affected ur brain that u cant see what that insult can cost ur nationality wich is ur identity how hold are u?, i think this is problem of joblessness..
Posted: at 8-09-2009 12:08 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- soilscience at 8-09-2009 12:22 PM (14 years ago)
nigerian govertment my balls...do they know that nigerians are been killed in libyan jails....all this is just nosie and lots odf noise,,,,sony can never be bbanned in nigeria...this  is a country where any thing happens...
Posted: at 8-09-2009 12:22 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Ann-marie at 8-09-2009 01:15 PM (14 years ago)
at BLACK_SAMURAI
we've also got chinese japanese n mamy others sufferin here in France but dat give noooooooooooooooo rite 4 anybody 2 useless our name ok.
nonsense!!!!
Posted: at 8-09-2009 01:15 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- DarkCoco at 8-09-2009 02:04 PM (14 years ago)
They are just telling da truth, abeg, if Nigerian wasnt corrupt they wouldnt have said anythin....no see what Sony is gon do...........NNNOOOTTTHHINNNGGG....they will keep making there billions of dollars with or without the advert, and Nigeria will keep being corrupt and loosing money, with everything thats going on  in da country

Posted: at 8-09-2009 02:04 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- waco at 8-09-2009 02:12 PM (14 years ago)
DARK COCO wassup up

Posted: at 8-09-2009 02:12 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- DarkCoco at 8-09-2009 02:31 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: waco on  8-09-2009 02:12 PM
DARK COCO wassup up

wudup, how u doing

Posted: at 8-09-2009 02:31 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ksurrina at 8-09-2009 02:38 PM (14 years ago)
It is sad that Sony a well-known company had done this. Nigerians have bad reputation and to enhance it in this commercial only make the matter worse. I have been taken to task whenever I spoke about my Nigerian boyfriend. Every friends I have here on the internet and in Jamaica are against it. The Government of Nigeria need to sue Sony because it will become a norm for everyone who is making a commercial. I agree that every countries have corruption but the Government of Nigeria is not looking after their citizens. Also the bad apples are making it even worse by constantly doing the things that are creating a disgrace. Jamaica was once at the stage where Nigeria is now where no one trusted us but it was overturn when the good ones tried and make positive impact on the world stage. Nigeria can rebound if Nigerians really want this to happen. Stop marrying foreigners and leaving them as soon as you gain citizenship. Stop scamming unsuspected persons etc. All of my Nigerians friends are nice persons and it will take you all to work together to bring back the integrity of your name.

Posted: at 8-09-2009 02:38 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- teeco at 8-09-2009 02:45 PM (14 years ago)
kpom

Posted: at 8-09-2009 02:45 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ChidiSan at 8-09-2009 03:19 PM (14 years ago)
. Video interview of Mike Wallace saying Nigeria is probably the most corrupt country in Africa and probably even the world. Louis Farrakhan does not hesitate coming to Nigeria's defense and finishes Mike Wallace right there and then in the interview...pretty awesome:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O2Y_njZ9Dg8" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O2Y_njZ9Dg8</a>

. Popular Nigerian artist Okpechi releases a song titled "I go chop your dolla" that in the guise of being funny actually glorifies the act of 419 and pretty much advocates scamming dumb westerners. The track is a hit in Naija and probably left a lasting impression on  young Nigerians:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1nKR3gYRY8" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1nKR3gYRY8</a>

. With emails being sent around the world about Nigerian princes needing help laundering money out of the country, Nigeria becomes synonymous on a global level with the infamous scam to the point that Hollywood is even thinking about making a movie about it:

http://www.naijafeed.com/naijafeed/2009/5/9/ben-stiller-making-nigerian-419-film.html

. SONY releases a funny ad for the PS3 slim that briefly references the scam, seeing that the Nigerian Letter has become a lasting meme in internet culture.

It's been quite interesting checking out all the reactions to this. Now lets see what the Naija govt and us Nigerians do to take responsibility for making a positive change in Nigeria besides throwing tantrums when a commercial states the obvious and making songs praising 419.

Wonder what's going to happen if Ben Stiller actually makes that 419 movie...don't think it will even be half as bad to how District-9 portrayed Nigerians in South Africa.

Posted: at 8-09-2009 03:19 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- iOsasu at 8-09-2009 03:38 PM (14 years ago)
I think that Nigeria should sue them. We cant let Sony talk sh*t about Nigeria. If they don't act then other countries will think that they can do the same thing too.
Posted: at 8-09-2009 03:38 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ktalent at 8-09-2009 05:21 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on  5-09-2009 12:57 PM
I wonder what happened to laws dat guides adverts!

abi o.

Posted: at 8-09-2009 05:21 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- teeco at 8-09-2009 05:25 PM (14 years ago)
Na real yawa be that ooo

Posted: at 8-09-2009 05:25 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- TripleA3 at 8-09-2009 05:31 PM (14 years ago)
Hey Naijas we nor suppose de insult ourself abt wetin sony de yarn.u see as nija govt de react to this thing.I like am.even if u are the most wierd criminal,u still have to justify urself.
Naija 2 much.
Triple A
Athens,Greece.

Posted: at 8-09-2009 05:31 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- teeco at 8-09-2009 05:32 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: TripleA3 on  8-09-2009 05:31 PM
Hey Naijas we nor suppose de insult ourself abt wetin sony de yarn.u see as nija govt de react to this thing.I like am.even if u are the most wierd criminal,u still have to justify urself.
Naija 2 much.
Triple A
Athens,Greece.

No be lie

Posted: at 8-09-2009 05:32 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Livinmajor at 8-09-2009 06:22 PM (14 years ago)
There's no smoke without fire!
Posted: at 8-09-2009 06:22 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- waco at 8-09-2009 06:24 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Livinmajor on  8-09-2009 06:22 PM

Meaning?

Posted: at 8-09-2009 06:24 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- DarkCoco at 8-09-2009 06:25 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: waco on  8-09-2009 06:24 PM
Quote from: Livinmajor on  8-09-2009 06:22 PM

Meaning?

Meaning, there is no smoke without fire....THATS IT Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 8-09-2009 06:25 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 1ola at 8-09-2009 07:09 PM (14 years ago)
hayjay75, there is no need to call each other uncomplimentary names.  The fact of the case is that, The Minister who is talking now, is she not part of the people who let this kind of advert to happens in the first place?
without SONY, go to the internet engine, either google, MSN or any of the engines and put SCAM, Nigerian name will come up more than any other country in the world, so what the Minister need to do is to look at the ways that we Nigerians behave, everybody, there is SCAMMING everywhere in Nigeria, on the road, in the office, Hospital, etc, and as I am writing this now the whole of Government are scamming us. Imarging the CBN governor printing 420billion naira with 100billion naira, when these banks are not yet distressed and they can still meet their obligations, this is a country that most Nigerian can not get 1000naira in a day. If these cash 420billion is shared among Nigerians (150million), you as a person will get more than 20million, that is how much the money is, and yet the government can not provide anything for us the citizens, is that not part of scamming, so leave SONY alone and let us find a way of changing our image for better, through our deeds and behaviours, fighting SONY will not change our image in the world, Nigeria is the centre of scamming in the world, the world knows this man, nobody can be deceived, so be real.
Posted: at 8-09-2009 07:09 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- DarkCoco at 8-09-2009 07:14 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: 1ola on  8-09-2009 07:09 PM
hayjay75, there is no need to call each other uncomplimentary names.  The fact of the case is that, The Minister who is talking now, is she not part of the people who let this kind of advert to happens in the first place?
without SONY, go to the internet engine, either google, MSN or any of the engines and put SCAM, Nigerian name will come up more than any other country in the world, so what the Minister need to do is to look at the ways that we Nigerians behave, everybody, there is SCAMMING everywhere in Nigeria, on the road, in the office, Hospital, etc, and as I am writing this now the whole of Government are scamming us. Imarging the CBN governor printing 420billion naira with 100billion naira, when these banks are not yet distressed and they can still meet their obligations, this is a country that most Nigerian can not get 1000naira in a day. If these cash 420billion is shared among Nigerians (150million), you as a person will get more than 20million, that is how much the money is, and yet the government can not provide anything for us the citizens, is that not part of scamming, so leave SONY alone and let us find a way of changing our image for better, through our deeds and behaviours, fighting SONY will not change our image in the world, Nigeria is the centre of scamming in the world, the world knows this man, nobody can be deceived, so be real.

U just said it well...Thank You

Posted: at 8-09-2009 07:14 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 [2] 3 4 5