Nigeria's Government is Asking Cinemas to Stop Showing a Science Fiction Film (Page 2)

Date: 19-09-2009 10:44 am (14 years ago) | Author: Teeco Designer
1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 7
- divineproject at 21-09-2009 10:16 AM (14 years ago)
Sony again!!!...............soon it shall be cloudy!!!

Posted: at 21-09-2009 10:16 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 21-09-2009 10:17 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: pancho on 21-09-2009 12:41 AM
Quote from: Emmanuel4christ on 21-09-2009 12:33 AM
hmmmmmm.....N.I.G.E.R.I.A!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7 poimt agenda Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 21-09-2009 10:17 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- black_samurai at 21-09-2009 12:08 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: fineboy on 20-09-2009 08:23 PM
i guess i have to watch this movie to really know what to say...am off to the cinemas

No need to go to cinemas. I ripped it into divx already if you gotta high speed adsl, i'll push it hrough to you

Posted: at 21-09-2009 12:08 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- GREGSON at 21-09-2009 12:20 PM (14 years ago)
Is district 9 our ASUU problem?, is district 9 our electricity, militancy, none payment of salary, bad roads, robery, killing etc.. they should get out of government if they dont have anything tangible to do.
Posted: at 21-09-2009 12:20 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- SAmyrocko at 21-09-2009 01:14 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: zie85er on 20-09-2009 08:50 PM
there no electricity 2 watch  d f***kin movie

why is d fed gov so worried?

Go bro, l got ya back!

Posted: at 21-09-2009 01:14 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- simele at 21-09-2009 01:35 PM (14 years ago)
thats what then can do while important things are there for then to do the ingnor their resposibility
Posted: at 21-09-2009 01:35 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- simele at 21-09-2009 01:39 PM (14 years ago)
thats what then can do while important things are there for then to do the ingnor their resposibility
Posted: at 21-09-2009 01:39 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nnamaniobiora at 21-09-2009 01:49 PM (14 years ago)
It is possible Olusegun Obasanjo. can do more than that he is an evil man,Olusegun Obasanjo.is a bad man Olusegun Obasanjo. is evil man,Olusegun Obasanjo. is government of evil,Olusegun Obasanjo. is a zenith of evil,he have made Nigeria so called zenith of evil phyuk Olusegun Obasanjo.phyuk Olusegun Obasanjo.
Posted: at 21-09-2009 01:49 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- divineproject at 21-09-2009 01:57 PM (14 years ago)
Guy you dey vex ooo.............wetin concern OBJ for this one now?

Posted: at 21-09-2009 01:57 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Dguy at 21-09-2009 03:20 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: black_samurai on 21-09-2009 12:08 PM
Quote from: fineboy on 20-09-2009 08:23 PM
i guess i have to watch this movie to really know what to say...am off to the cinemas

No need to go to cinemas. I ripped it into divx already if you gotta high speed adsl, i'll push it hrough to you

Mr Samrai you might need an eye patch to go with the sword -- cos thats some serious piracy going on there

Posted: at 21-09-2009 03:20 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Toks-E at 21-09-2009 03:29 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: teeco on 19-09-2009 10:44 AM
Nigeria's government is asking cinemas to stop showing a science fiction film, District Nine, that it says denigrates the country's image.

Information Minister Dora Akunyili told the BBC's Network Africa programme that she had asked the makers of the film, Sony, for an apology.

She says the film portrays Nigerians as cannibals, criminals and prostitutes.

An actor from the film said that it was not just Nigerians who were portrayed as villains.

The Malawian actor, Eugene Khumbanyiwa, plays a gang leader with the nickname of Obasanjo, also the surname of former Nigerian President Olusegun Obasanjo.

The film is about alien refugees who set up home in a South African shanty town called District Nine.

It is a loose allegory about apartheid and recent violence by South Africans against foreigners.

It's not like Nigerians do eat aliens

Actor Eugene Khumbanyiwa
Ms Akunyili said it clearly took aim at Nigerians.

"We feel very bad about this because the film clearly denigrated Nigeria's image by portraying us as if we are cannibals, we are criminals," she said.

"The name our former president was clearly spelt out as the head of the criminal gang and our ladies shown like prostitutes sleeping with extra-terrestrial beings."

Follow this link to watch some part of the video: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/8264180.stm

'It's a story'

The information minister said she had ordered the Nigerian film and video censors' board to ask all cinemas to stop showing the film and to confiscate it.

"I have also formally written to Sony Pictures Entertainment, the company that produced this film, demanding an unconditional apology for this unwarranted attack on Nigeria's image," she added.

She also said she had asked them to review the film with a view to remove "all offending portions that injured our image as a nation".

Ms Akunyili said said Nigeria was now hitting back with a policy of "rebranding", after allowing the international community to define the country based on the behaviour of "[a] few criminals".

She said that Nigeria's Nollywood film industry was also being pressed to help portray Nigeria in a better light.

But Mr Khumbanyiwa said Nigerians in the cast did not seem worried by the portrayal of their country.

He suggested that the film, which depicts people wanting to eat aliens to gain the superhuman powers, should not be taken too literally.

"It's a story, you know," he said. "It's not like Nigerians do eat aliens. Aliens don't even exist in the first place."

Source: BBC

we don watch am finish na..so wats the need of banning wat ppl hav already watchd?

Posted: at 21-09-2009 03:29 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- teeco at 21-09-2009 03:53 PM (14 years ago)
Abi

Posted: at 21-09-2009 03:53 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- serene_child at 21-09-2009 04:04 PM (14 years ago)
Its granted that we don't have a system that works in our country,its bad enough accepting the ineptitude of our leaders as a normal thing but do we really need some xenophobic HIV-ridden group of people (south fvcking africans) to rub it in?  I even heard that one of the characters name in the film is OBESANDJO akin to our ex-president OBASANJO(i mean of all the names in the entire universe?) and the OBESANJO eats aliens to get power or sumting while the Nigerian harlots wh*re out their orifices to aliens.(well atleast the aliens do not have AIDS) Its not funny at all,this is no way to pay back a country who saved  these southafricans from extinction. ASUU strike or not,we shouldn't let any individual or group of persons trample upon us and our already messed up image. The mere image of a Nigerian man devouring the scaly hand of an alien is sickening!!!  Angry Angry Angry

Posted: at 21-09-2009 04:04 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- teeco at 21-09-2009 04:10 PM (14 years ago)
You dey vex?

Posted: at 21-09-2009 04:10 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sunny77 at 21-09-2009 04:48 PM (14 years ago)
I recently posted a comment about this movie on this web site http://www.watch-movies-links.net/ concerning the movie District 9, the very first day i saw it. But it never take them long to remove the comment rather they dispay those comment that sing praises with them. The boy who made this movie said he never want his first movie to get involve with politics. Americans said the movie eckoed apartheid era in south Africa their by reminding them of their dirty past. That was the interpretation they gave the movie. Nigerians who are directly pointed at as alien eaters or  cannibals, criminals and prostitutes in the movie are not happy about such a non sense science fiction movie potraying them as such. Now if you can analyse the western thinking of the movie, south african concept of the movie and the involvement of the Nigeria name and character you findout how people really dont care what they take you for. Going back to the status quo Nigeria was a leading voice in the freedom of south africa during the apatheid era in south. Nigeria artist made music video then to speak out against inhuman treatment of the people of south. None of their video portray them as bad as this. I see a display of heatred from the white south africans. If this movies is realy a fiction an unknown names could be suitable for this movie rather than telling us in the face how bad you can go to assasinate our character, image and reputation in the name movie making!!! What if Nollywood come up with a concept portraying your "Mandela" as head of Wizards in south africa who use us human for sacrifice, eat and drink their blood and rape your daughters and wife and mother for power, you can agree with me that it is just only a movie! And it can go salling in your country right? Or you be asking same question as i did today, why Nigeria?Huh???
Posted: at 21-09-2009 04:48 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- black_samurai at 21-09-2009 04:56 PM (14 years ago)
I believe all these noise is just guilty conscience! We know ourselves, we've never had a good reputation in anything. So what do we expect? People calling us what we are not? No way!

If Ghanaians were used instead they won't say nothing cos they'll understand its just a movie.

Posted: at 21-09-2009 04:56 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- psammy12 at 21-09-2009 05:40 PM (14 years ago)
you guys at here again making examples of ibo and ritual pratices..what a shame to compare an internal issue with one that spells another doom for nigerian image abroad leading to more danger for ur brother and sisters in diaspora..the american iranian relationship got into its deepest shit,after holywood produce a movie called NOT WITHOUT MY DAUGHTER..where iranian nation was depicted as bunch of uncivilsed people who only beat thier wife and lock them in a prison life..most of what the outside world sees about a country is from the movies and television..they will keep doing this kind of shit to destroy an already battered image,america or holywood dont give a shit about anybody..they only respect you when u have some nuclear ambition..but for nigerians citizens to say it is nothing amount to a treason sentence fr that individual..when it was spelt out in the movie??sharu khan an indian actor was held at the airport for 2 hours,and hell was let loose in diplomatic relationship between both countries in less than 24 hours,it was presidency issue and apologies flying over the air..let it happen to aint obi or genevie,nothing will happen...
Posted: at 21-09-2009 05:40 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- divineproject at 21-09-2009 05:50 PM (14 years ago)
@black.........we arent Ghanaians, we are Nigerians...........whether it is just a movie or not, we dont like it and we have got a right to speak out..........even a proven criminal wont enjoy being called such..............

Posted: at 21-09-2009 05:50 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- psammy12 at 21-09-2009 06:01 PM (14 years ago)
i think we are making the same piont..we can no longer take this nonsense from holy wood..why dont they take they plight of people in the niger delta region and amke a movie about that..how thier multi nationals are destroying the lives of poor poor inhabitants,i think that will interest public outcries from the united states,but hell no holywood wont do that..they are taking advantage of nigerian and it must stop..writing to sony movies or talking to bbc wont do no good,
Posted: at 21-09-2009 06:01 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- serene_child at 21-09-2009 07:21 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: black_samurai on 21-09-2009 04:56 PM
I believe all these noise is just guilty conscience! We know ourselves, we've never had a good reputation in anything. So what do we expect? People calling us what we are not? No way!

If Ghanaians were used instead they won't say nothing cos they'll understand its just a movie.

I beg to differ! I read somewhere a while ago that the German Govt banned a certain hollywood movie from being screened and sold in the whole of germany,reason being that the film brutally potrayed germans as racists (are they not?). The US  govt complied fully with this sanction and didnt make a fuss abt it.
A country may be what they are but you don't have to put it on TV and blow it in everyone's faces. No country dilly dallies or with their images or let any other person do that for that matter.
Our passion and loyalty is enmeshed in our image and if our image is tainted our pride is hurt.

Nigeria should attempt to make a movie that potrays America as the actual terrorists in the world and highlight the conspiracy theories going on there,i'm quite sure i don't need to tell you the kind of bashing we will get from pundits and the likes if such happens.

Posted: at 21-09-2009 07:21 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 7

1. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

2. Gospel Artist Buchi Atuonwu Recounts How He Was On The Verge Of Being Killed By Firing Squad

3. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)

4. Anambra Police Arrest 16 Cultists, Hunt Down 21 Others

5. Reality Star, Bisola Aiyeola Super Excited As She Meets Hollywood Actor Idris Elba

6. Nigerian Lady Sparks Reactions As She Shows Off Her Lengthy Tongue That Stretches to Her Nose

7. Lagos State Government Seals 5 Churches, 19 Hotels, Others Over Environmental Pollution

8. Rising Singer, Chadreek Cries Out,Seeks Refund of N1.5m He Paid Portable to Appear in His Music

9. Actress Angela Okorie Slams Zubby Michael For Mourning Late Colleague Junior Pope

10. VIDEO: BBNaija Winner, Miracle Igbokwe Graduates With Distinction From US Aeronautical Varsity

1. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

2. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

3. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

4. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

5. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

6. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

7. See Tuition Fee Receipts Yahaya Bello Paid American School From 2025 Session Through 2031

8. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu

9. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam

10. Viral Asoebi Lady, Olivia Emmanuel Releases Over 20 Numbers of Men Sliding in Her DM