Nigeria's Government is Asking Cinemas to Stop Showing a Science Fiction Film (Page 5)

Date: 19-09-2009 10:44 am (14 years ago) | Author: Teeco Designer
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7
- compuchak at 24-09-2009 10:23 PM (14 years ago)
Is District 9 Nigeria's major problem? HELL NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 24-09-2009 10:23 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- onuorahuchenna at 24-09-2009 11:33 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: teeco on 24-09-2009 10:57 AM
Quote from: onuorahuchenna on 24-09-2009 10:39 AM
Quote from: teeco on 23-09-2009 12:55 PM
just passing

TEECO COME BACK HERE NA EVERY TIME YOU DEY PASS?YOU NO FIT COMMENT? NO PASS OOOOOO OR WE GO FIGHT FOR HERE NOW..

ok bros am sorry Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

you better be sorry, but stop passing before you go pass burder.
Posted: at 24-09-2009 11:33 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- serene_child at 25-09-2009 01:40 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: compuchak on 24-09-2009 10:23 PM
Is District 9 Nigeria's major problem? HELL NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What is our major problem,aliens?

Posted: at 25-09-2009 01:40 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- teeco at 25-09-2009 09:13 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: onuorahuchenna on 24-09-2009 11:33 PM
Quote from: teeco on 24-09-2009 10:57 AM
Quote from: onuorahuchenna on 24-09-2009 10:39 AM
Quote from: teeco on 23-09-2009 12:55 PM
just passing

TEECO COME BACK HERE NA EVERY TIME YOU DEY PASS?YOU NO FIT COMMENT? NO PASS OOOOOO OR WE GO FIGHT FOR HERE NOW..

ok bros am sorry Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

you better be sorry, but stop passing before you go pass burder.

No wahala Grin

Posted: at 25-09-2009 09:13 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- drdromous at 25-09-2009 11:03 AM (14 years ago)
I don't know what is wrong with some unreasonable Nigerians...do you think the film is right?...potraying our country as a bad country and even using the name of our former president as the gang leader...you people that are in support of it are selling out...you are all fake Nigerian....you aint real...be reasonable...Can sony produce a film that will portray USA or UK as a bad country or even use GEORGE BUSH or  BILL CLONTON name as the head of the gang leader...ya all need to sit and think....Thumbs up DORA .........stop the nonsense movie and let us all rebrand our blessed country NIGERIA
Posted: at 25-09-2009 11:03 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Kennee at 25-09-2009 12:00 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: duduvalentino on 19-09-2009 02:31 PM
I walked into the cinema to see African"s finest movie of the year ""DISTRICT 9"" but to my greatest surprise I watched my country being black painted. It was meant to be a sci-fi, but they had criminals and prostitute-like girls being verbally described as Nigerians and the leader of the criminal gang was referred to as Obasanjo. What a shock, just weeks ago I read a Sony PS ad referring to all of us as scammers, and today a movie describing us as the same produced by Sony Pictures Entertainment,.
I am angry, where is our foreign ministry, only the information ministry writes against and defend the good Nigerians in foreign matters, IS THE FOREIGN MINISTER DEAD?!!!, 20 Nigerians Are on death row in Libya, only an organisation could write to stop it, A Nigerian killed in China, a Nigerian killed in Austria, A Nigerian molested against in Germany, in Italy all over the world. No one says nothing. the embassies are sleeping and chatting offices, The same generation that destroyed us remain our ambassadors, they"ve got NO LOVE FOR THE NATION. The Germans responded to an ad referring to Adoph Hitler as a killer through HIV, The Indians responded sharply when a bollywood movie star was stopped from entering the US, But the minister of information begs when our name is being robbished, at least she tried but the foreign ministry as done nothing at least not to my hearing.
I for one loves Nigeria and Africa, but most of us do sometimes forget who we truly are, there were some Nigerians acting as criminals in the movie portraying us as criminals, is"nt that a sell out of our birth rites?
WAKE UP NIGERIANS, THOUGH WE STRUGGLE TO BE STABLE, DARKNESS DOES NOT LAST TOO LONG, MORNING SHALL ALWAYS PREVAIL AND THEN WE WILL LIVE TRYING TO BUY BACK OUR SOLD AWAY DESTINY. WAKE UP MY PEOPLE, STOP THE WORLD FROM USING OUR WEAKNESS AGAINT US.

Excellently Spoken

Posted: at 25-09-2009 12:00 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- teeco at 25-09-2009 01:16 PM (14 years ago)
reading comments

Posted: at 25-09-2009 01:16 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- teeco at 25-09-2009 04:01 PM (14 years ago)
what

Posted: at 25-09-2009 04:01 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sunny77 at 26-09-2009 09:22 AM (14 years ago)
I am really very gratefull with the output of many Nija pal users in criticizing "District 9". South africa and their movie industry will definatly find it hard to sale their shit in Nigeria. When next they make movies using our names, they think twice. Not only sount Africa even sony films who produce this movie will also find it difficult making deal in Nigeria. Untill they apologise. I will welcome any movie that criticise my government officials. A kind of true story. But not a movie that lied about us and potray my country image as false. That is why true story exist in movie making. And for those of us who do not care or do not really understand the containt of the movie there by giving their usuall blame on the government corruption as the cause, they really need to upgrade their understanding on FOREIGN POLICY. We are about to be toy with by south Africans, reason they had accomplised more than us. Thereby degrading our values and position in the world with their movie "District 9". So when it comes to international affairs like this one i do not hesitate to defend my country. Thus, am not happy with our leaders nor the way things are going in my country. Nevertheless, when we are framed in an out right lie, no matter what symbolic meaning it may had i dont just sit and watch. I had to exercise my freedom of speech. I know that my love for Nigeria had been stolen away from me since i was young from the real hard situation we face and how corrupt our leader have been. Beside " I WILL STILL RISE IN DEFENCE OF MY COUNTRY IN A CASE LIKE THIS NO MATTER WHAT AM BEING DEPRIVED OF BY OUR LEADERS." District 9 should remain in black list.
Posted: at 26-09-2009 09:22 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- teeco at 26-09-2009 12:44 PM (14 years ago)
yes

Posted: at 26-09-2009 12:44 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- next2me at 26-09-2009 02:54 PM (14 years ago)
@sunny77 Thank you jor my brother, you are a true son of your father.. As a matter of fact i dey shame for those nigerians wey dey talk out of point here.. A serious matter dey ground instead of us to stand in one voice and condem this degrading and disgusting act by sunny, rather some fools are seeing nothing wrong in it..
You may not be a dirrect victim but i tell you what in one way or the other the shame will fall on us all if we dont condem this ill act by the rest of the world. This is an intensional act by sunny and the southafricans to tanish the image of nigeria internationally... We no holly pass but still we no bad pass...
Posted: at 26-09-2009 02:54 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- teeco at 26-09-2009 03:37 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: next2me on 26-09-2009 02:54 PM
@sunny77 Thank you jor my brother, you are a true son of your father.. As a matter of fact i dey shame for those nigerians wey dey talk out of point here.. A serious matter dey ground instead of us to stand in one voice and condem this degrading and disgusting act by sunny, rather some fools are seeing nothing wrong in it..
You may not be a dirrect victim but i tell you what in one way or the other the shame will fall on us all if we dont condem this ill act by the rest of the world. This is an intensional act by sunny and the southafricans to tanish the image of nigeria internationally... We no holly pass but still we no bad pass...

No ''F'' word here bros

and Na we bad pass for africa

Posted: at 26-09-2009 03:37 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Digitabiz at 26-09-2009 10:16 PM (14 years ago)
let the truth be told about nigerians
Posted: at 26-09-2009 10:16 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- teejay007 at 27-09-2009 09:35 AM (14 years ago)
What are you guys talking about, It is this Govt that is misrepresenting us; it is not by you and i actions that got us labelled as far as am concern; those Dora seek to rebrand. can you imagine how much have gone down the drain on Power issue?These our fathers got us into image problems, a sitting senator once said that their are criminal in house, was a pronlem created by you and i NO. Notable Nigerians have been talking Gani (RIP) shouted die, Col. Umar, Soyinka, Abati among others are speaking,yet none is responding, if sony as small as they now tell those that misrepresent us that this is how they are and it got their attention then good for us, may be it will make them think right, Hillary Clinton simply said Efcc is not doing enough on corruption these people quickly responded. The issue of this image thing was created by these cannibals that fail to creat the right platforms for Nigerian to showcase what they've got. When Abacha was dealing with these criminal in office ordinary Nigerians as they use to put it were used to shout him down, later they calim he was the best man who can lead us. look these our fathers have not really impress us even you; that does not mean that i wont do my best as a person to represent myself and the country i find myself to represent Naija but i wont defend what is glaring as shameless representation of our leaders who unfortunately are our fathers.
Posted: at 27-09-2009 09:35 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- nwabeekee at 27-09-2009 02:14 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: 25_vivi on 20-09-2009 07:23 PM
the government has nothin 2 do

This is the kind of attitude that doesn't get Nigeria anywhere. They say the movie is based on the recent xenophobia, apartheid and attack on immigrants in South Africa. Nigerians suffered mostly in those attacks, yet we're depicted as those that copulate with aliens to gain power. All these people never have anything good to say about Nigeria and it irks me more to see that they won't even stay in their own countries. We need to put our foot down once and for all. Yes we have scammers but what country doesn't? All the identity thefts going on abroad is it Nigerians that perpetuates them all?
       This was supposed to be fictional and while i'm not an Obasanjo fan, using his name was a slap in the face. There're billions of Nigerian names to choose from but they choose an ex president of ours. These people make movies based on their system all the time but when have they ever used a president's name or even a nickname? This attitude needs to change from home here. I thank God for Project Nollywood at least that set out to write quality scripts. We've sold our birthright and it's time we fight for it again!
Posted: at 27-09-2009 02:14 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- sunny77 at 27-09-2009 03:18 PM (14 years ago)
I still find out that some people didnt get it about "DISTRICT 9" buhah to Nigeria. No matter how bad our leaders are or how bad the misrepresent us. That had not got to do with you as a citizen of this country exercising your obligation in defence of your mother land. If you continue pointing fingers counting census and lithany of sins and curruption of our leaders, you are also misrepresention yourself and your country. Should every Nigeria emulate your footstep tell me where it will lead us to other than blaming oneself till thy kingdom come. Since you, as a citizen of this country had understand it, that our leaders are currupt and in your better mind you are more holy and lived a better life. Show us this example in your thought about a better way to move foward. I too have heard so my about people talking the bad side of our leaders with giving a solution to it. Maybe most of this lesders are not Charimatic. And your little light which you share in this forum might help turn the country around. Rather than your blame which lead no where. It maybe that you too lack a charismatic vision that is why you dwell on blames all the time. Those whom you call leaders had limited time in power ranging from 4 to 8 years and they go out. Another set comes in. Have you ever think in your life and in your right mind, why things ever remains same like this, despite new people do come in to the government but it never tranform yet. When i me this i think of the root to this backwardness. So do not exclude your self because if you ever had the privilage of been elected. You can still be infected with same sickness those in power are sufferring. Which keeps us stand still. So my advice to you and every other Nigerian is to be a good Ambassador of his country no matter what. That brings us back to the status quo, RISE AND CONDEM ANY LIES OR  FALSE MISREPRESENTATION OF THIS COUNTRY ANYWHERE YOU FIND IT, BE IT IN 'DISTRICT 9' OR ELSE WHERE. Your action might be a lesson to those you criticise and they will sit and act well as our leaders. Do not sit upon other peoples mess and recreat your own mess thinking it is wise. Nor die in shame because you keep malice over our leaders and you fail to act. That means you will be a bad leader in your own way or simply ignorant. Another issue that will hold you to think in a right judgment is any moment you get out from the shores of Nigeria into a strange and distance land. Your host will teach you how to guide and protect mother land. Then you will value what you neglected down home. Finally, we will continue to condem what is in District 9 until south Africa and their producer Sony apologise.
Posted: at 27-09-2009 03:18 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- sunny77 at 27-09-2009 03:24 PM (14 years ago)
I still find out that some people didnt get it about "DISTRICT 9" buhah to Nigeria. No matter how bad our leaders are or how bad the misrepresent us. That had not got to do with you as a citizen of this country exercising your obligation in defence of your mother land. If you continue pointing fingers counting census and lithany of sins and curruption of our leaders, you are also misrepresention yourself and your country. Should every Nigeria emulate your footstep tell me where it will lead us to other than blaming oneself till thy kingdom come. Since you, as a citizen of this country had understand it, that our leaders are currupt and in your better mind you are more holy and lived a better life. Show us this example in your thought about a better way to move foward. I too have heard so my about people talking the bad side of our leaders with giving a solution to it. Maybe most of this lesders are not Charimatic. And your little light which you share in this forum might help turn the country around. Rather than your blame which lead no where. It maybe that you too lack a charismatic vision that is why you dwell on blames all the time. Those whom you call leaders had limited time in power ranging from 4 to 8 years and they go out. Another set comes in. Have you ever think in your life and in your right mind, why things ever remains same like this, despite new people do come in to the government but it never tranform yet. When i me this i think of the root to this backwardness. So do not exclude your self because if you ever had the privilage of been elected. You can still be infected with same sickness those in power are sufferring. Which keeps us stand still. So my advice to you and every other Nigerian is to be a good Ambassador of his country no matter what. That brings us back to the status quo, RISE AND CONDEM ANY LIES OR  FALSE MISREPRESENTATION OF THIS COUNTRY ANYWHERE YOU FIND IT, BE IT IN 'DISTRICT 9' OR ELSE WHERE. Your action might be a lesson to those you criticise and they will sit and act well as our leaders. Do not sit upon other peoples mess and recreat your own mess thinking it is wise. Nor die in shame because you keep malice over our leaders and you fail to act. That means you will be a bad leader in your own way or simply ignorant. Another issue that will hold you to think in a right judgment is any moment you get out from the shores of Nigeria into a strange and distance land. Your host will teach you how to guide and protect mother land. Then you will value what you neglected down home. Finally, we will continue to condem what is in District 9 until south Africa and their producer Sony apologise.
Posted: at 27-09-2009 03:24 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- nellygold at 27-09-2009 05:42 PM (14 years ago)
lets see what ill happen then
Posted: at 27-09-2009 05:42 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kouga at 27-09-2009 06:43 PM (14 years ago)
unem na umunnaaa, na only GOD na him go help nigeria
Posted: at 27-09-2009 06:43 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- nellygold at 27-09-2009 07:32 PM (14 years ago)
Posted: at 27-09-2009 07:32 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7