My Height is a Curse From God, World's Tallest Man At 8ft 4 Inches Dies Aged 44

Date: 26-08-2014 11:41 am (9 years ago) | Author: Balogun Ahmed
- at 26-08-2014 11:41 AM (9 years ago)

A man believed to be the tallest on the planet at 8ft 4 inches has died aged 44.

Leonid Stadnyk, who was said to be too shy to measured for the Guinness World record books, was 21 inches taller than lanky England footballer Peter Crouch.

The peasant farmer, from the Ukrainian village of Podoliantsy, died yesterday from a brain haemorrhage after health problems.

Of his size, Leonid had said: "To me, my height is a curse, a punishment from God, not something to celebrate. What sin I have committed, I do not know. All my life I have dreamed of being just like everyone else. "

He added: "I don't want or need the fame that this would bring so I have no desire to be in this Guinness book."

He was scared to commit to women "because I don't want to inflict my problems on a wife. I think it would not be fair on her", he said.

His astonishing rise to fame began at 12, when a benign brain tumour over-stimulated his body's production of a growth hormone.

At one point, his condition, called giganticism, left him growing at the rate of roughly a foot every three years.

He wore size 27 shoes (in UK sizes) for feet that measured almost 18 inches in length while his palms were more than a foot in diameter.
Ukrainian Olena Stadnyk
Leonid has his height measured by his mum

But unable to independently verify his measurements, Guinness instead officially listed Xi Shin at fractionally under 7ft 9 inches as the world's tallest man.

"We have contacted Stadnyk, but he seems like a very shy guy," said a Guinness World Records spokeswoman. "He doesn't want us around. So we have to stick to what we have."

Talking about life, he explained how his height prevented him following his desired career.

"I was trained as a vet and loved my work," he said.

"But gradually I found that I couldn't get the shoes I needed in winter to protect me from the frostbite. I just couldn't keep on with this work."

He took over the family smallholding.

"Stooping from my height to pull up the weeds is not easy, I can tell you. It puts a lot of strain on my back," he said.

"I know I'm the tallest man but at the same I often feel one of the most helpless. This life is for smaller people."

Once he went to Germany on a rare trip outside Ukraine.

"It was like another planet - I am glad I saw it but felt a bit like an alien there."

There was no bed big enough: he had to sleep on a billiard table.

His neighbours knew him as a kind a generous man, always ready to help.

One, Bronyslave, said he was "the most unselfish, diligent man of a pure soul."

sourcehttp://www.olokunbolablessing.com/2014/08/worlds-tallest-man-at-8ft-4-inches-dies.html

Posted: at 26-08-2014 11:41 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- chicco77 at 26-08-2014 01:29 PM (9 years ago)
OK
Posted: at 26-08-2014 01:29 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- codeplay at 26-08-2014 01:33 PM (9 years ago)
Height any naija woman will die for.... cos them like show off " meet my man"
Posted: at 26-08-2014 01:33 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wysetots at 26-08-2014 01:41 PM (9 years ago)
Na waa oo

The Tall are crying......The short are crying.

This life sef.
Posted: at 26-08-2014 01:41 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- schmit at 26-08-2014 02:01 PM (9 years ago)
R.I.P
Posted: at 26-08-2014 02:01 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 26-08-2014 02:04 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 26-08-2014 02:04 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- zeigbo at 26-08-2014 02:19 PM (9 years ago)
R.I.P

Posted: at 26-08-2014 02:19 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- cocoeni at 26-08-2014 02:30 PM (9 years ago)
such is life... RIP
Posted: at 26-08-2014 02:30 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- daveobahon at 26-08-2014 03:00 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 26-08-2014 03:00 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kissme69 at 26-08-2014 03:07 PM (9 years ago)
 Grin U are funny!!! Cheesy
Quote from: daveobahon on 26-08-2014 03:00 PM
Posted: at 26-08-2014 03:07 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- akinmanchy at 26-08-2014 03:08 PM (9 years ago)
So sad,RIP

Posted: at 26-08-2014 03:08 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- paulohking at 26-08-2014 03:36 PM (9 years ago)
chaiiiiii
Posted: at 26-08-2014 03:36 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- paulohking at 26-08-2014 03:37 PM (9 years ago)
chaiiiiii
Posted: at 26-08-2014 03:37 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- seveneleven at 26-08-2014 03:43 PM (9 years ago)
rip tallest
Posted: at 26-08-2014 03:43 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 26-08-2014 04:14 PM (9 years ago)
RIP
Posted: at 26-08-2014 04:14 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dareper at 26-08-2014 08:08 PM (9 years ago)
RIP
Posted: at 26-08-2014 08:08 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Onyemgba at 26-08-2014 11:06 PM (9 years ago)
Onyeogologo
Posted: at 26-08-2014 11:06 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- tudore777 at 27-08-2014 12:48 AM (9 years ago)
not a curse just take am the way e be.
Posted: at 27-08-2014 12:48 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- tudore777 at 27-08-2014 12:50 AM (9 years ago)
where is dareper i like that babe oo
Posted: at 27-08-2014 12:50 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- angesco at 27-08-2014 06:42 AM (9 years ago)
Keep him inside the house when the RUSSIAN figther jets are looking for targets - because his height is a real giveaway!
Posted: at 27-08-2014 06:42 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Odumeje Disappointed Us - Abroad Based Man Shares What ‘Indaboski’ Did at London Airport

2. SHOCKING Moment Two Employees Were Caught on CCTV Performing Rituals in The Office

3. Internet on Fire As Wizkid and Davido Fight Each Other With Words on X(Twitter)

4. Careful o, I'm Not The One to Be Played With - Tekno Replies Kizz Daniel Over 'Buga' Royalties

5. Upcoming Singer, Gnewzy, Kidnapped in Delta, His Abductors Demand $200k Ransom

6. Former UFC Heavyweight Champion, Francis Ngannou Mourns Death of His 18months Old Son

7. Forex: CBN Stops Opay,Palmpay, Kuda& Moniepoint From Onboarding New Customers

8. War Of Words Lingers On As Oritse Femi Sides With Wizkid After Calling Don Jazzy An Influencer

9. 16 Persons Land In Police Net Over Murder Of Female Police Inspector, Erekere In Rivers

10. Bayern Munich v Real Madrid: UEFA Champions League S/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers & Stats

11. Two Employees Suspended After Their Footage Of Performing Ritual In Office Is Exposed

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

5. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

6. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

7. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

8. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

9. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

10. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)