Quote from: Regenesis on 14-12-2009 01:59 AM I didn't read that article; too long Without question you have demonstrated great wisdom, maturity and a well balanced view on the issue of divorce. I can testify that sometimes great harm is done in the case of domestic violence. I know of a case in the Diaspora where this lady was being physically abused. This abuse actually started in Naija and continued after the family traveled overseas. But as you know they claimed to be born again and the lady kept her husband's domestic violence against her quiet. One day her neighbor called the police because of the cries coming from the house. when the police arrived she covered it up. She discussed wanting to divorce with the pastor of the African church which she attended, but he quoted Jesus (that's what they all do all the time). Well, we buried her last year; COD: internal bleeding due to blunt force to the body. It was reported that she fell, but the community knows that she had been mercilessly beaten by her husband, kept it quiet for days while she was bleeding internally. When she did go to the hospital, it was too late. It is incontestable that she would have been alive today had she divorced that monster of a husband. Thank you for your balanced view on this issue.![]()
Quote from: choms on 13-10-2009 03:22 PM Why should there be a divorce in the first place? i do not support that, whoever that is into it should ask God for forgiveness, becasue no matter how the situation it, no matter how the problem is between 2 people, they should take it to God, he is the only solution to it, he will direct their part and give them ways to tolerate each other, than divorce, the bible speak against it. the bible say how many times shall ur brother offend u and u forgive, 70x7 so u can see that it has not even reached to that level, u can still find it in your heart to forgive one another. We should learn how to Love one another That is so simplistic a view on a very, very complex issue. I don't know if you know anything about domestic violence...but if you must know African men are found of beating their girlfriends and guess what, they take it into their marriages. Too many women have suffered at the hands of men who treat them with naked wickedness. If you are in an abusive relationship and can't handle your boyfriend beatings so that you end the relationship; are you suggesting here that a woman should tolerate domestic violence because she is married. Taking it to the Lord in prayer did not restore the sight in the left eye of Mrs. NNNNNN of New York City. Another Mrs. MMM today uses a walker because her hip was damaged due to beatings and kicking received at the hands of her so called born again husband. Another case I know of is Mrs. HHHHH who was six months pregnant when she was beaten so badly that she not only lost the baby, her womb was damaged and and to be taken out. These are all born again ladies whose pastors encouraged them to stay in their abusive relationships. What's wrong with you women why can't you think outside of the box for once. Gosh!!
Quote from: pitav on 18-12-2009 10:35 AM Mt 5:32 But I say unto you, That whosoever shall put away his wife, saving for the cause of fornication, causeth her to commit adultery: and whosoever shall marry her that is divorced committeth adultery. JESUS SAID THIS. It looks like your Jesus has no regard for the woman. Whether it is the man who abuses her physically only he has the right to put his wife away... this is not the Jesus that I know and worship. It is so sad when people who lack a basic understanding of the sociological context as well as the "sitz id leben" (the life situation) of the text they quote often quote with some authority. I am very sure that you neither understand the meaning of what you just affirmed because if you did you would have taken into consideration the fact that both the man and woman enter marriage and the woman is an important factor in the relationship. You would have also taken into consideration our social construct... Women are the most abused in African societies. It is acceptable in our culture for men to physically abuse their girlfriends and wives. Even some pastors are guilty of domestic violence. To you the "JESUS SAID THIS" man, should a woman be allowed to remain in a marriage in which she is constantly subjected to domestic violence which is life threatening? Would you encourage your sister to stay with a man who kicks her like football?Would you quote this verse to your sister if she was hospitalized after suffering at the hands of her monster of a husband? Would you? You think using the Bible in a cut and paste way solves anything? Think again my dear friend, think again.
Quote from: sweetnoxy on 18-02-2010 10:55 PM The Bible is against divorce except on the grounds of infidelity. The Bible is also against a woman entering the house of worship when she is having her monthly menstruation. Do you stay home on those days when you are having your period?![]()
are u saying that eve divorced adam? Reply
Isn't it written in the Bible that if a wife commits adultery then it's ok for the man to seek another? Isn't that a divorce? As a Christian one should be following and preserving the principles set out in the Bible and not trying to change them to suit the popular belief of the present. Truth over tolerance. Reply
_^^ Reply
Quote from: MrDon on 15-10-2009 09:53 PM passing and signing divorce letters................ ![]() ![]() Godly WISDOM is to Fear God. His UNDERSTANDING is to resist the devil.
Mt 5:32 But I say unto you, That whosoever shall put away his wife, saving for the cause of fornication, causeth her to commit adultery: and whosoever shall marry her that is divorced committeth adultery. This was said by Jesus. Reply@Equipper: I read so much and about Physical Abuse that it sadden me. A man never hide his true self and these guys that beats their wives does it from beginning. Instead of the wife stop looking at the money and good life and seek assistance for her husband she goes there looking for divorce this is the reason she died with internal bleeding. Every man that does physical and verbal abuse on his wife/girlfriend goes through it as a child. This is the reason we are told to investigate one passed before getting marry. Now as a Christian I am trying to obey the bible which is the word of God. In Proverbs 31 vs 10 onwards it told us about the role of the wives and there are other roles in the bible that give us the teaching of a woman. We are the protector of the family even though the man is the head after Christ. Now if I truly love someone to marry and I know that he has a problem with beating am going to make sure he is truly recover before I go down the aisle with him. Because there is one date that he places his hand on me that established this nature, there is also his action too as well. I used to date this Nigeria via LDR. He showed that he is a beater, listening to him and how he talks, his action via the CAM I know this started from childhood. Since I love and care for him I tried my best on educating him how wrong physical and verbal abuse is. No one who has this nature is able to hide it. Divorce is not the end. We are one with our partner when we go inside of a relationship with him/her. As one we should make sure that he is healthy and well behave. A man who doesn't work has a team with his girlfriend is not fit to be a husband. Godly WISDOM is to Fear God. His UNDERSTANDING is to resist the devil.
BendelArmedRobb ReplyNAIJA una too much oo coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this