A Nigerian teenager has reportedly landed in the hospital after suffering a severe anxiety attack triggered by the outcome of his 2025 Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) result, drawing national concern over the rising mental health toll of academic pressure on students.
The incident came to light after the boy’s sister, identified by her TikTok handle @big_ellaa7, posted an emotional video showing her younger brother lying on a hospital bed, visibly shaken and receiving medical care.
According to her, the young candidate had been filled with hope and confidence after writing the exam, believing he had performed well. However, his optimism was crushed after checking his UTME result — a moment that led to an emotional breakdown and an eventual medical emergency.
“My brother after seeing his JAMB score. He had an anxiety attack. He was rushed to the hospital. He studied like his life depended on it,” she wrote in a heart-wrenching caption accompanying the video.
Although she did not reveal the exact score, she suggested it was deeply disappointing, enough to send him into a state of distress.
“2025 JAMB did him dirty. Get well soon, my love. I no fit ask person wey dey hospital wetin him score shaa… I just know it’s very bad for him to have that anxiety attack,” she added, raising concerns that some of the scores released this year might be flawed or unfairly marked.
Her post quickly went viral, igniting a flurry of reactions online. While some sympathised with the boy’s plight, others urged the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) to ensure transparency and fairness in its marking and result dissemination process.
Mental health advocates also weighed in, stressing the urgent need for psychological support systems for Nigerian students, many of whom face immense pressure from families, schools, and society at large.
As thousands of students await their fate in the 2025 UTME, this incident has once again highlighted the high-stakes environment many young Nigerians must navigate — where a single test result can mean the difference between hope and despair.
@big_ellaa7 my brother after checking his JAMB score #creatorsearchinsights #xyzabc #Jamb #Jamb2025 #jambmeme #studenttiktok #studenttiktoker #RelatableAF ♬ Spirit Lead Me - Piano Version - Clavier