A senator representing Bayelsa central senatorial district, Ben Murray Bruce, has said he will donate his wardrobe allowance to Osun state workers who are owed 7 months salaries. Mr. Bruce also said part of the now controversial wardrobe allowance “will be publicly given to the head of widows association in my community of Akasa”, Bayelsa state. Mr. Bruce stated this in a series of tweets on Wednesday evening.
“I, Ben Murray Bruce, will not sit down idly, while my fellow citizens die because salaries have not been paid. As a first step, I am immediately donating my wardrobe allowance to unpaid workers in Osun state and widows in my Constituency,” he wrote on his page.
He said as soon as his wardrobe allowance is paid, he will divide it into two, with half publicly given to the Nigerian Labour Congress Chairman in Osun state. He tweeted further: “We are starting in Osun, but we will not end there. I will do as much to help workers who’ve not been paid in other states. I call on all my friends and followers on Twitter and Facebook to donate NON PERISHABLE food items for these our brothers in need.”
Mr. Bruce, who is the chairman of Silverbird Group, urged the media to make use of the Freedom of Information bill to unravel outrageous money paid to public office holders.
For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals
I have been reporting on latest news from Nigeria for almost 10 years now. I report on every possible news area I come across, but always ensure my reports are compiled with dignity and fact to uphold my personal values and duty as a journalist
Posted: at 17-06-2015 08:54 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
bishopdon at 17-06-2015 10:00 PM (9 years ago) (m)
Keep it up my future President, i always say that Nigeria is a virgin land for learders to make history. God bless u and put u in a greater postion to affect ur genetation positively. i will be praying for u.
Posted: at 17-06-2015 10:00 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
Sir thank u for ur kind gesture but let dat goatie man pay his workers. He shld not have used d workers money to campaign for Buhari. Now he can pay salary. If it was a PDP gov now, mr Lair Mohammed will be all over d media. Use ur wardrobeallowance for ur pple biko joor duhala.
Posted: at 17-06-2015 10:09 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
my dear Ben your the nest man that deserve to be the president of Nigeria, MIND YOU GOD WILL LEAD YOU THERE SOON MAY GOD BE WITH YOU IN JESUS CHRIST NAME AMEN
Posted: at 18-06-2015 12:39 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
joseusi007 at 18-06-2015 03:56 PM (9 years ago) (m)
yeah right, After the stupid government has borrowed money to pay your 6.7billion naira allowance. Why don't the stupid government ensure workers in osun state are paid salaries . And cancel the stupid allowance .Why are they even paid allowance for anything in the first place .The thieves should know they are there to serve not just suck the country dry. Idoits
Posted: at 18-06-2015 03:56 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming