The Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, said yesterday that the Nigerian military had met the December deadline to defeat the Boko Haram terrorists.
President Muhammadu Buhari had, upon assuming office, issued a December 31 deadline to the military to defeat the Boko Haram terrorists. During his maiden meeting with editorial heads of media houses in Lagos, Lai Mohammed said: “Today, I can report that the war against Boko Haram is largely won.
“I can confidently say this because just recently, I led a group of 33 journalists from both the local and international media to the hot bed of the insurgency, that is, Maiduguri, Kondugua, Kaoure and Bama.
Today, I can report to you that the entire 70 plus kilometres stretch from Maiduguri to Bama and all the way to Banki which leads to Cameroun and the Central African Republic are in the hands of our gallant troops.”
He said the military presence could be felt ‘’every few metres along the road; at a point along that road we were just a kilometre to Sambisa forest. “They have so degraded the capacity of Boko Haram that the terrorists can no longer hold on to any territory just as they can no longer carry out any spectacular attack.”
Mohammed, however, said that though there were still cases of suicide bombings, it was pertinent to note that such was the nature if insurgency globally. “Unlike a war between two armies, an insurgency never ends with arms victory
“Even in countries like Colombia where insurgency was supposed to have ended decades ago, attacks like this still happen.” He said that the insurgents had adopted a new style of attacking soft targets like motor parks, schools, entertainment centres, religious centres, killing innocent people mostly women and children.
He, therefore, urged Nigerians to support the military in the fight against terrorism in the country, saying that the military had availed itself creditably.
I have been reporting on latest news from Nigeria for almost 10 years now. I report on every possible news area I come across, but always ensure my reports are compiled with dignity and fact to uphold my personal values and duty as a journalist
Posted: at 24-12-2015 06:33 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
Whaoo... This is really a great news if boko haram has no more rooms again in this country. Wait its true becz i dnt hear much about boko haram attack of recent.
Posted: at 24-12-2015 06:39 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
Look let me tell you president Goodluck Jonathan was a very intelligent fellow, he can't just get to that place and start ask the army to start shooting and killing people anyhow because he knows that it might affect many poor people around there, most of you think he was week on that issue but this is one thing that you guys have to know, he is not a military man like buhari, he his a peace maker that is why the whole world is respecting him after his office was over. Is not all about December deadline is for us to defeat them totally and no coming back because this Islamic group can always start up again even though they are few in number.
Posted: at 24-12-2015 07:11 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
freethinker at 24-12-2015 08:41 AM (9 years ago) (m)
DOES IT MEAN THAT THIS LIAR MOHAMMED HAS NO KINSMEN WHO CAN ADVISE HIM TO SHOUT UP? WHEN I LOOK AT THIS MAN, I SEE LIE EVERY WHERE. HE IS A BIG DISGRACE TO ENTIRE YORUBA KINDGOM
Posted: at 24-12-2015 08:41 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
zezprincess at 24-12-2015 10:42 AM (9 years ago) (f)
Lies!lies!!,biggest lie of the century,Why this man too de lie lie just like his surname be? Na only him dey for naija or abi he think say na small pikin them de govern? How he go just wake up start bla bla nonsense,anyway that's aboki for you.just becareful so that this boko haram will not visit ur family before this season runs out.
Posted: at 24-12-2015 10:42 AM (9 years ago) | Hero