Justice at Last! Bricklayer Who was Shot by a Policeman in 2013 Gets N50M for Compensation

Date: 18-03-2016 11:08 am (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 18-03-2016 11:08 AM (8 years ago)

In December 2013, A police sergeant shot at Mr. Joseph Martins at a beer parlour and football viewing center in Utako, Abuja during a football match between Nigeria and Mexico match.  The police sergeant shot at Mr. Martins in anger for challenging him to pay for two bottles of Gulder that he had consumed.
After the incident, Joseph Martins was dumped at Wuse General Hospital and the bullet was in his thigh for 25 days before it was finally removed at Air Force Hospital close to Abuja Airport. In a judgement delivered on Thursday, the court awarded the sum of Fifty Million Naira against the Nigerian Police in favour of Mr. Martins for violating his fundamental human rights and damages to seek further medical attention so that the man who is currently in a wheelchair can return to his normal life.
The Court also ordered the Inspector General of Police to produce and charge Sergeant Olumide Ariyo to the High Court of FCT for Attempted Murder of Mr. Joseph Martins instead of Assault that he was earlier charged with in a Magistrate Court.  The court berated the triger happy policeman as a disgrace to the force for infamous conduct of visiting a beer parlour for a drink with his service gun.
According to Mr. Tolu Babaleye, a lawyer who took up the case after he had alerted the society through a social media post, said he approached the court after failed petitions to various government agencies.
“I took the matter to court after writing petitions to various offices of government in protest and nothing was done. We served the Police and the police filed counter affidavits and written Reply and the matter was heard in July 2014 after which it was adjourned for judgment.
“At last, the judgment came up today after a long, tidious and almost hopeless wait.. I am grateful to the judge for doing judicial activism on this matter.”
Mr. Babaleye who represented Martins also appreciated his lawyers. He informed that the case was handled pro-bono
“I also appreciate all the Lawyers in Chambers of Tolu Babaleye & Co for working as a team with passion on this case that was handled pro bono.
“I wish to re-affirm my believe in Nigeria and the judiciary as the baston of hope for the downthroden and the oppressed.

The lawyer concluded; “If Joseph Martins who is a bricklayer can get justice, then there is hope and hope beacons!”

Posted: at 18-03-2016 11:08 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 18-03-2016 11:48 AM (8 years ago)
only in naija
Posted: at 18-03-2016 11:48 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- emma4love3 at 18-03-2016 11:48 AM (8 years ago)
mmmm mehen them try for the case at
least justices is served.....thank God for your
life...
Posted: at 18-03-2016 11:48 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- SweetDaddy1 at 18-03-2016 11:57 AM (8 years ago)
I thank God for the Bricklayer and also thank the Judge for doing justice to this case.
Posted: at 18-03-2016 11:57 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 18-03-2016 12:00 PM (8 years ago)
That was a good judgement
Posted: at 18-03-2016 12:00 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ficull at 18-03-2016 12:04 PM (8 years ago)
nice judgement... now police, pay up sharp sharp.
Posted: at 18-03-2016 12:04 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 18-03-2016 12:25 PM (8 years ago)
I DOUBT IF OKOKO BUHARI AND NIGERIAN POLICE WILL PAY THE MONEY
Posted: at 18-03-2016 12:25 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 18-03-2016 01:31 PM (8 years ago)
Thank GOD we still gave some few honest judge in dis country. They shld make sure they pay him and make sure they treat him accordingly. Meanwhile d happy trigger police shld be put in d cell of harden criminals cus he is one. And why is it dat it's only police who drink why on duty wit their arms. Don't they go for training or course always to re orientate them?Huh?
Posted: at 18-03-2016 01:31 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Haso112 at 18-03-2016 01:39 PM (8 years ago)
Iyan ogun odun.....!!!
Posted: at 18-03-2016 01:39 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 18-03-2016 01:57 PM (8 years ago)
Thank God, I pray he walk again
Posted: at 18-03-2016 01:57 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- victorstic1 at 18-03-2016 02:07 PM (8 years ago)
IS ONE THING TO SAY PAY AND IS ANOTHER THING FOR THE OTHER PARTY TO PAY , IS THE SAME NIGERIA THAT JUDGE ASKED NDLEA TO PAY BABA SUWE 25 MILLION NAIRA TILL TODAY THE  MAN RECEIVED NOTHING SO DONT LET US BE CARRIED AWAY WITH THE JUDGEMENT IT IS THE END RESULT THAT MATTERS
Posted: at 18-03-2016 02:07 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eazyatumeyi at 18-03-2016 03:00 PM (8 years ago)
Congrats for am o, justice don come atlast.
Posted: at 18-03-2016 03:00 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Fran6ixfox at 18-03-2016 03:30 PM (8 years ago)
thank God for him
Posted: at 18-03-2016 03:30 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 18-03-2016 04:11 PM (8 years ago)
NEXT TIME be careful,be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLL...............
Posted: at 18-03-2016 04:11 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- slimmygal at 18-03-2016 07:04 PM (8 years ago)
they should pay d money first b4 i comment, thank God for ur life.
Posted: at 18-03-2016 07:04 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 19-03-2016 08:21 AM (8 years ago)
NobsmallTin,,, I just dey observe
Posted: at 19-03-2016 08:21 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emma4love3 at 19-03-2016 11:52 AM (8 years ago)
mmmm the guy lawyer sbort no be small
na them good pass for court oh...them jump
on top of table self....
Posted: at 19-03-2016 11:52 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 19-03-2016 02:41 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: sanusi modele on 18-03-2016 07:04 PM
they should pay d money first b4 i comment, thank God for ur life.

Wetin concern you with the money
Posted: at 19-03-2016 02:41 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 19-03-2016 02:42 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Emma Uchenna on 19-03-2016 11:52 AM
mmmm the guy lawyer sbort no be small
na them good pass for court oh...them jump
on top of table self....

Good for him
Posted: at 19-03-2016 02:42 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- samdove28 at 20-03-2016 12:18 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Emma Uchenna on 18-03-2016 11:48 AM
mmmm mehen them try for the case at
least justices is served.....thank God for your
life...
that was coooool,,, I really thank God for him toooo
Posted: at 20-03-2016 12:18 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac